Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1997-98 Schedule and Results

1997-98 Atlanta Hawks Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 50-32, Finished 4th in NBA Central Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Lenny Wilkens (50-32)

PTS/G: 95.9 (15th of 29) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 92.3 (8th of 29)
SRS: 3.85 (8th of 29) ▪ Pace: 87.7 (28th of 29)
Off Rtg: 108.2 (6th of 29) ▪ Def Rtg: 104.3 (13th of 29)
Expected W-L: 51-31 (9th of 29)

Arena: Georgia Dome ▪ Attendance: 610,615 (24th of 29)

NBA 1998 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Conference First Round (1-3) versus Charlotte Hornets  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 31, 1997 Box Score @ Orlando Magic W 105 99 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Nov 1, 1997 Box Score Toronto Raptors W 90 85 2 0 W 2 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
3 Tue, Nov 4, 1997 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 82 71 3 0 W 3
4 Wed, Nov 5, 1997 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 93 88 4 0 W 4
5 Fri, Nov 7, 1997 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 80 78 5 0 W 5
6 Sat, Nov 8, 1997 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W OT 99 97 6 0 W 6
7 Tue, Nov 11, 1997 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 89 87 7 0 W 7
8 Wed, Nov 12, 1997 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 89 86 8 0 W 8
9 Fri, Nov 14, 1997 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 104 103 9 0 W 9
10 Sun, Nov 16, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 89 83 10 0 W 10 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
11 Tue, Nov 18, 1997 Box Score Washington Wizards W OT 98 89 11 0 W 11
12 Thu, Nov 20, 1997 Box Score New York Knicks L 79 100 11 1 L 1
13 Sat, Nov 22, 1997 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 85 87 11 2 L 2
14 Wed, Nov 26, 1997 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors W 2OT 109 104 12 2 W 1
15 Sat, Nov 29, 1997 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 98 80 13 2 W 2
16 Sun, Nov 30, 1997 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 108 96 14 2 W 3
17 Tue, Dec 2, 1997 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 112 79 15 2 W 4
18 Thu, Dec 4, 1997 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 87 94 15 3 L 1
19 Tue, Dec 9, 1997 Box Score Miami Heat L 81 97 15 4 L 2 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
20 Thu, Dec 11, 1997 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 78 94 15 5 L 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Dec 12, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 83 74 16 5 W 1
22 Sun, Dec 14, 1997 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 93 89 17 5 W 2
23 Mon, Dec 15, 1997 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 99 90 18 5 W 3
24 Wed, Dec 17, 1997 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 94 83 19 5 W 4
25 Fri, Dec 19, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 96 98 19 6 L 1
26 Sat, Dec 20, 1997 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 92 99 19 7 L 2
27 Mon, Dec 22, 1997 Box Score Utah Jazz L 99 101 19 8 L 3
28 Fri, Dec 26, 1997 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L OT 94 99 19 9 L 4
29 Sat, Dec 27, 1997 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 90 97 19 10 L 5
30 Fri, Jan 2, 1998 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 106 116 19 11 L 6
31 Sat, Jan 3, 1998 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 82 97 19 12 L 7
32 Wed, Jan 7, 1998 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 106 86 20 12 W 1
33 Fri, Jan 9, 1998 Box Score Washington Wizards W 82 77 21 12 W 2 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
34 Sun, Jan 11, 1998 Box Score @ Washington Wizards W OT 107 102 22 12 W 3
35 Tue, Jan 13, 1998 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 91 89 23 12 W 4
36 Wed, Jan 14, 1998 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 108 82 24 12 W 5 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
37 Fri, Jan 16, 1998 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 102 89 25 12 W 6 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
38 Sat, Jan 17, 1998 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 81 97 25 13 L 1
39 Tue, Jan 20, 1998 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 103 93 26 13 W 1
40 Wed, Jan 21, 1998 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 76 90 26 14 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Fri, Jan 23, 1998 Box Score Boston Celtics L 85 89 26 15 L 2
42 Sat, Jan 24, 1998 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 77 92 26 16 L 3
43 Mon, Jan 26, 1998 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 91 96 26 17 L 4
44 Tue, Jan 27, 1998 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves L 96 113 26 18 L 5
45 Thu, Jan 29, 1998 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W OT 109 99 27 18 W 1 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
46 Sat, Jan 31, 1998 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets W 103 83 28 18 W 2
47 Mon, Feb 2, 1998 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 83 90 28 19 L 1
48 Tue, Feb 3, 1998 Box Score @ Orlando Magic L 90 91 28 20 L 2
49 Thu, Feb 5, 1998 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 108 94 29 20 W 1
50 Tue, Feb 10, 1998 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 108 100 30 20 W 2
51 Fri, Feb 13, 1998 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 110 112 30 21 L 1
52 Sat, Feb 14, 1998 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 92 96 30 22 L 2
53 Mon, Feb 16, 1998 Box Score Orlando Magic L 81 85 30 23 L 3
54 Wed, Feb 18, 1998 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 114 104 31 23 W 1 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
55 Fri, Feb 20, 1998 Box Score Vancouver Grizzlies W 115 92 32 23 W 2 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
56 Wed, Feb 25, 1998 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 112 88 33 23 W 3
57 Fri, Feb 27, 1998 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 88 90 33 24 L 1
58 Sun, Mar 1, 1998 Box Score @ Vancouver Grizzlies W 101 76 34 24 W 1
59 Fri, Mar 6, 1998 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 115 94 35 24 W 2 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
60 Sun, Mar 8, 1998 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 101 96 36 24 W 3 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Wed, Mar 11, 1998 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 110 105 37 24 W 4
62 Fri, Mar 13, 1998 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 86 107 37 25 L 1
63 Sun, Mar 15, 1998 Box Score Boston Celtics W 93 77 38 25 W 1 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
64 Tue, Mar 17, 1998 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors W 117 105 39 25 W 2
65 Thu, Mar 19, 1998 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 84 81 40 25 W 3 at Atlanta, GA (Alexander Memorial Coliseum at McDonald's Center)
66 Fri, Mar 20, 1998 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 108 109 40 26 L 1
67 Sun, Mar 22, 1998 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 98 105 40 27 L 2
68 Tue, Mar 24, 1998 Box Score Orlando Magic W 85 73 41 27 W 1
69 Fri, Mar 27, 1998 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 74 89 41 28 L 1
70 Sun, Mar 29, 1998 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 118 95 42 28 W 1
71 Tue, Mar 31, 1998 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 90 105 42 29 L 1
72 Wed, Apr 1, 1998 Box Score Toronto Raptors W 105 91 43 29 W 1
73 Fri, Apr 3, 1998 Box Score Houston Rockets W 107 87 44 29 W 2
74 Sun, Apr 5, 1998 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves L 96 97 44 30 L 1
75 Tue, Apr 7, 1998 Box Score New York Knicks W 92 79 45 30 W 1
76 Thu, Apr 9, 1998 Box Score Indiana Pacers L OT 102 105 45 31 L 1
77 Fri, Apr 10, 1998 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets W 99 87 46 31 W 1
78 Sun, Apr 12, 1998 Box Score @ Washington Wizards W 91 81 47 31 W 2
79 Tue, Apr 14, 1998 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 95 94 48 31 W 3
80 Wed, Apr 15, 1998 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 70 82 48 32 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 17, 1998 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 121 104 49 32 W 1
82 Sun, Apr 19, 1998 Box Score Miami Heat W 101 89 50 32 W 2

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Apr 23, 1998 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 87 97 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Apr 25, 1998 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 85 92 0 2 L 2
3 Tue, Apr 28, 1998 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 96 64 1 2 W 1
4 Fri, May 1, 1998 Box Score Charlotte Hornets L 82 91 1 3 L 1