Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1955-56 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:WNBA 2014 Stats

1955-56 Boston Celtics Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 39-33, Finished 2nd in NBA Eastern Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Red Auerbach (39-33)

PTS/G: 106.0 (1st of 8) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 105.3 (8th of 8)
SRS: 0.72 (2nd of 8) ▪ Pace: 114.5 (1st of 8)
Off Rtg: 92.2 (3rd of 8) ▪ Def Rtg: 91.7 (6th of 8)
Expected W-L: 38-34 (3rd of 8)

Arena: Boston Garden ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1956 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Division Semifinals (1-2) versus Syracuse Nationals  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sat, Nov 5, 1955 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 98 87 1 0 W 1
2 Fri, Nov 11, 1955 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W 119 75 2 0 W 2
3 Sat, Nov 12, 1955 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 95 96 2 1 L 1
4 Thu, Nov 17, 1955 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors L 92 106 2 2 L 2
5 Sat, Nov 19, 1955 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 104 102 3 2 W 1
6 Wed, Nov 23, 1955 Box Score New York Knicks L OT 111 115 3 3 L 1
7 Thu, Nov 24, 1955 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 103 111 3 4 L 2
8 Sat, Nov 26, 1955 Box Score @ Rochester Royals W 104 103 4 4 W 1
9 Tue, Nov 29, 1955 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals W 105 97 5 4 W 2 at New York, NY
10 Fri, Dec 2, 1955 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 94 81 6 4 W 3
11 Sun, Dec 4, 1955 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons L 90 111 6 5 L 1
12 Tue, Dec 6, 1955 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks W 122 99 7 5 W 1
13 Fri, Dec 9, 1955 Box Score N Rochester Royals L 108 109 7 6 L 1 at Philadelphia, PA
14 Sat, Dec 10, 1955 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W 118 102 8 6 W 1
15 Sun, Dec 11, 1955 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 89 101 8 7 L 1
16 Tue, Dec 13, 1955 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L 108 109 8 8 L 2 at New York, NY
17 Wed, Dec 14, 1955 Box Score New York Knicks W 102 100 9 8 W 1
18 Sat, Dec 17, 1955 Box Score Syracuse Nationals L 104 110 9 9 L 1
19 Sun, Dec 18, 1955 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 95 92 10 9 W 1
20 Tue, Dec 20, 1955 Box Score N Minneapolis Lakers W 111 104 11 9 W 2 at New York, NY
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sun, Dec 25, 1955 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers W 115 112 12 9 W 3
22 Tue, Dec 27, 1955 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks W 105 102 13 9 W 4
23 Fri, Dec 30, 1955 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals W 110 103 14 9 W 5 at Bangor, ME
24 Sat, Dec 31, 1955 Box Score @ Rochester Royals W 112 100 15 9 W 6
25 Sun, Jan 1, 1956 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 121 113 16 9 W 7
26 Tue, Jan 3, 1956 Box Score N New York Knicks L 97 107 16 10 L 1 at Philadelphia, PA
27 Wed, Jan 4, 1956 Box Score N New York Knicks L 86 103 16 11 L 2 at Syracuse, NY
28 Thu, Jan 5, 1956 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 92 87 17 11 W 1
29 Sat, Jan 7, 1956 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals W OT 105 99 18 11 W 2
30 Sun, Jan 8, 1956 Box Score Rochester Royals L 109 111 18 12 L 1
31 Tue, Jan 10, 1956 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons L 89 105 18 13 L 2
32 Wed, Jan 11, 1956 Box Score N Minneapolis Lakers L 110 114 18 14 L 3 at Saint Paul, MN
33 Fri, Jan 13, 1956 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 119 104 19 14 W 1
34 Sat, Jan 14, 1956 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 104 103 20 14 W 2
35 Sun, Jan 15, 1956 Box Score New York Knicks L OT 104 109 20 15 L 1
36 Tue, Jan 17, 1956 Box Score N Fort Wayne Pistons W 91 85 21 15 W 1 at Charlotte, NC
37 Wed, Jan 18, 1956 Box Score N Fort Wayne Pistons W 95 90 22 15 W 2 at Miami, FL
38 Fri, Jan 20, 1956 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 133 112 23 15 W 3
39 Sat, Jan 21, 1956 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals W 100 96 24 15 W 4 at Philadelphia, PA
40 Sun, Jan 22, 1956 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors L 115 129 24 16 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Mon, Jan 23, 1956 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L 104 120 24 17 L 2 at New Haven, CT
42 Wed, Jan 25, 1956 Box Score N Fort Wayne Pistons L 100 101 24 18 L 3 at Philadelphia, PA
43 Fri, Jan 27, 1956 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons L 97 106 24 19 L 4
44 Sat, Jan 28, 1956 Box Score @ Rochester Royals W 126 119 25 19 W 1
45 Sun, Jan 29, 1956 Box Score Rochester Royals W 112 103 26 19 W 2
46 Tue, Jan 31, 1956 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 91 114 26 20 L 1
47 Wed, Feb 1, 1956 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 106 107 26 21 L 2
48 Thu, Feb 2, 1956 Box Score N Minneapolis Lakers W 102 101 27 21 W 1 at St. Louis, MO
49 Sat, Feb 4, 1956 Box Score @ Rochester Royals L 69 83 27 22 L 1
50 Sun, Feb 5, 1956 Box Score New York Knicks W 114 104 28 22 W 1
51 Tue, Feb 7, 1956 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 102 113 28 23 L 1
52 Wed, Feb 8, 1956 Box Score N St. Louis Hawks L 110 111 28 24 L 2 at Rochester, NY
53 Thu, Feb 9, 1956 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals W 98 97 29 24 W 1
54 Fri, Feb 10, 1956 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 124 100 30 24 W 2
55 Sun, Feb 12, 1956 Box Score New York Knicks W 116 108 31 24 W 3
56 Sat, Feb 18, 1956 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L 101 115 31 25 L 1 at New Haven, CT
57 Sun, Feb 19, 1956 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 120 118 32 25 W 1
58 Tue, Feb 21, 1956 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 97 101 32 26 L 1
59 Wed, Feb 22, 1956 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers W 93 90 33 26 W 1
60 Fri, Feb 24, 1956 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors L 129 135 33 27 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sun, Feb 26, 1956 Box Score Rochester Royals W 111 100 34 27 W 1
62 Tue, Feb 28, 1956 Box Score N Rochester Royals L 97 113 34 28 L 1 at New York, NY
63 Wed, Feb 29, 1956 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 106 99 35 28 W 1
64 Thu, Mar 1, 1956 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 100 111 35 29 L 1
65 Fri, Mar 2, 1956 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W 119 113 36 29 W 1
66 Sun, Mar 4, 1956 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 128 114 37 29 W 2
67 Tue, Mar 6, 1956 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 99 119 37 30 L 1
68 Wed, Mar 7, 1956 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 111 98 38 30 W 1
69 Thu, Mar 8, 1956 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors L 120 142 38 31 L 1
70 Sat, Mar 10, 1956 Box Score N Fort Wayne Pistons L 103 106 38 32 L 2 at New York, NY
71 Sun, Mar 11, 1956 Box Score St. Louis Hawks L 121 127 38 33 L 3
72 Wed, Mar 14, 1956 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 122 103 39 33 W 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sat, Mar 17, 1956 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 110 93 1 0 W 1
2 Mon, Mar 19, 1956 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 98 101 1 1 L 1
3 Wed, Mar 21, 1956 Box Score Syracuse Nationals L 97 102 1 2 L 2