Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1968-69 Schedule and Results

1968-69 Boston Celtics Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 48-34, Finished 4th in NBA Eastern Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Bill Russell (48-34)

PTS/G: 111.0 (10th of 14) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 105.4 (2nd of 14)
SRS: 5.35 (2nd of 14) ▪ Pace: 117.5 (5th of 14)
Off Rtg: 93.8 (10th of 14) ▪ Def Rtg: 89.1 (1st of 14)
Expected W-L: 55-27 (2nd of 14)

Arena: Boston Garden ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1969 Playoffs:
Won NBA Finals (3-4) versus Los Angeles Lakers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Division Finals (2-4) versus New York Knicks  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Division Semifinals (1-4) versus Philadelphia 76ers  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 18, 1968 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 106 88 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Oct 19, 1968 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 106 96 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, Oct 23, 1968 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 108 101 3 0 W 3
4 Sat, Oct 26, 1968 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 102 89 4 0 W 4
5 Tue, Oct 29, 1968 Box Score N Chicago Bulls L 97 103 4 1 L 1 at New York, NY
6 Wed, Oct 30, 1968 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 117 119 4 2 L 2
7 Fri, Nov 1, 1968 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 118 99 5 2 W 1
8 Sun, Nov 3, 1968 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 123 103 6 2 W 2
9 Fri, Nov 8, 1968 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 112 114 6 3 L 1
10 Sat, Nov 9, 1968 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 98 97 7 3 W 1
11 Mon, Nov 11, 1968 Box Score San Diego Rockets W 134 113 8 3 W 2
12 Fri, Nov 15, 1968 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 116 105 9 3 W 3
13 Sat, Nov 16, 1968 Box Score @ San Diego Rockets W 120 112 10 3 W 4
14 Sun, Nov 17, 1968 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 130 98 11 3 W 5
15 Tue, Nov 19, 1968 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 106 116 11 4 L 1
16 Wed, Nov 20, 1968 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 139 92 12 4 W 1
17 Fri, Nov 22, 1968 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 133 106 13 4 W 2
18 Sat, Nov 23, 1968 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 100 111 13 5 L 1
19 Wed, Nov 27, 1968 Box Score New York Knicks W 131 117 14 5 W 1
20 Fri, Nov 29, 1968 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 92 93 14 6 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sat, Nov 30, 1968 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W OT 117 113 15 6 W 1
22 Tue, Dec 3, 1968 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 137 115 16 6 W 2
23 Wed, Dec 4, 1968 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 101 99 17 6 W 3
24 Fri, Dec 6, 1968 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 132 118 18 6 W 4
25 Sat, Dec 7, 1968 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals W OT 117 114 19 6 W 5
26 Tue, Dec 10, 1968 Box Score Baltimore Bullets L 101 115 19 7 L 1
27 Wed, Dec 11, 1968 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 108 106 20 7 W 1
28 Fri, Dec 13, 1968 Box Score San Francisco Warriors L 98 108 20 8 L 1
29 Sat, Dec 14, 1968 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 101 110 20 9 L 2
30 Wed, Dec 18, 1968 Box Score New York Knicks L 98 104 20 10 L 3
31 Sat, Dec 21, 1968 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 102 94 21 10 W 1
32 Thu, Dec 26, 1968 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 139 106 22 10 W 2
33 Sat, Dec 28, 1968 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 97 110 22 11 L 1
34 Tue, Dec 31, 1968 Box Score Cincinnati Royals L 112 114 22 12 L 2
35 Wed, Jan 1, 1969 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 93 87 23 12 W 1
36 Thu, Jan 2, 1969 Box Score @ San Diego Rockets W 107 95 24 12 W 2
37 Fri, Jan 3, 1969 Box Score @ San Francisco Warriors L 102 104 24 13 L 1
38 Sun, Jan 5, 1969 Box Score @ San Francisco Warriors W 134 86 25 13 W 1
39 Mon, Jan 6, 1969 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 121 97 26 13 W 2
40 Wed, Jan 8, 1969 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 113 104 27 13 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Fri, Jan 10, 1969 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 88 82 28 13 W 4
42 Sat, Jan 11, 1969 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 111 101 29 13 W 5
43 Sun, Jan 12, 1969 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 110 114 29 14 L 1
44 Fri, Jan 17, 1969 Box Score San Francisco Warriors W 102 99 30 14 W 1
45 Sat, Jan 18, 1969 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 111 97 31 14 W 2
46 Mon, Jan 20, 1969 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 109 122 31 15 L 1
47 Wed, Jan 22, 1969 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 94 95 31 16 L 2
48 Fri, Jan 24, 1969 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 111 120 31 17 L 3
49 Sun, Jan 26, 1969 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 124 86 32 17 W 1
50 Tue, Jan 28, 1969 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 108 96 33 17 W 2
51 Wed, Jan 29, 1969 Box Score N Seattle SuperSonics L OT 122 124 33 18 L 1 at Philadelphia, PA
52 Fri, Jan 31, 1969 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 116 101 34 18 W 1
53 Sat, Feb 1, 1969 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 82 109 34 19 L 1
54 Sun, Feb 2, 1969 Box Score New York Knicks L 94 95 34 20 L 2
55 Tue, Feb 4, 1969 Box Score N San Diego Rockets L 126 135 34 21 L 3 at Houston, TX
56 Wed, Feb 5, 1969 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 112 124 34 22 L 4
57 Fri, Feb 7, 1969 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 107 109 34 23 L 5
58 Sun, Feb 9, 1969 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W OT 122 117 35 23 W 1
59 Wed, Feb 12, 1969 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 113 106 36 23 W 2
60 Fri, Feb 14, 1969 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L OT 101 104 36 24 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sun, Feb 16, 1969 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 102 127 36 25 L 2
62 Tue, Feb 18, 1969 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 116 110 37 25 W 1
63 Fri, Feb 21, 1969 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 124 102 38 25 W 2
64 Sat, Feb 22, 1969 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 124 100 39 25 W 3
65 Sun, Feb 23, 1969 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 116 118 39 26 L 1
66 Tue, Feb 25, 1969 Box Score N Phoenix Suns W 112 99 40 26 W 1 at New York, NY
67 Wed, Feb 26, 1969 Box Score New York Knicks L 88 92 40 27 L 1
68 Fri, Feb 28, 1969 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 122 120 41 27 W 1
69 Sat, Mar 1, 1969 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 96 115 41 28 L 1
70 Sun, Mar 2, 1969 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 99 92 42 28 W 1
71 Tue, Mar 4, 1969 Box Score @ San Francisco Warriors L 95 99 42 29 L 1
72 Thu, Mar 6, 1969 Box Score @ San Diego Rockets L 97 110 42 30 L 2
73 Fri, Mar 7, 1969 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L OT 99 105 42 31 L 3
74 Sun, Mar 9, 1969 Box Score San Francisco Warriors W 138 89 43 31 W 1
75 Wed, Mar 12, 1969 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 126 117 44 31 W 2
76 Thu, Mar 13, 1969 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 110 120 44 32 L 1
77 Sat, Mar 15, 1969 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 98 99 44 33 L 2
78 Sun, Mar 16, 1969 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 73 108 44 34 L 3
79 Wed, Mar 19, 1969 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 104 92 45 34 W 1
80 Fri, Mar 21, 1969 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals W 145 119 46 34 W 2 at Cleveland, OH
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Sun, Mar 23, 1969 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 126 98 47 34 W 3
82 Mon, Mar 24, 1969 Box Score N San Diego Rockets W 111 107 48 34 W 4 at Philadelphia, PA

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Wed, Mar 26, 1969 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 114 100 1 0 W 1
2 Fri, Mar 28, 1969 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 134 103 2 0 W 2
3 Sun, Mar 30, 1969 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 125 118 3 0 W 3
4 Tue, Apr 1, 1969 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 116 119 3 1 L 1
5 Fri, Apr 4, 1969 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 93 90 4 1 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
6 Sun, Apr 6, 1969 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 108 100 5 1 W 2
7 Wed, Apr 9, 1969 Box Score New York Knicks W 112 97 6 1 W 3
8 Thu, Apr 10, 1969 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 91 101 6 2 L 1
9 Sun, Apr 13, 1969 Box Score New York Knicks W 97 96 7 2 W 1
10 Mon, Apr 14, 1969 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 104 112 7 3 L 1
11 Fri, Apr 18, 1969 Box Score New York Knicks W 106 105 8 3 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
12 Wed, Apr 23, 1969 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 118 120 8 4 L 1
13 Fri, Apr 25, 1969 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 112 118 8 5 L 2
14 Sun, Apr 27, 1969 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 111 105 9 5 W 1
15 Tue, Apr 29, 1969 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 89 88 10 5 W 2
16 Thu, May 1, 1969 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 104 117 10 6 L 1
17 Sat, May 3, 1969 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 99 90 11 6 W 1
18 Mon, May 5, 1969 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 108 106 12 6 W 2