Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Boston Celtics > 1970-71 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:NCAA Tournament Features

1970-71 Boston Celtics Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 44-38, Finished 3rd in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Tom Heinsohn (44-38)

PTS/G: 117.2 (2nd of 17) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 115.1 (13th of 17)
SRS: 2.30 (6th of 17) ▪ Pace: 120.2 (2nd of 17)
Off Rtg: 97.0 (10th of 17) ▪ Def Rtg: 95.3 (3rd of 17)
Expected W-L: 46-36 (5th of 17)

Arena: Boston Garden ▪ Attendance: NA

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Oct 13, 1970 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 107 114 0 1 L 1
2 Thu, Oct 15, 1970 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 100 119 0 2 L 2
3 Sat, Oct 17, 1970 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 114 126 0 3 L 3
4 Sun, Oct 18, 1970 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 133 115 1 3 W 1
5 Wed, Oct 21, 1970 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 118 121 1 4 L 1
6 Fri, Oct 23, 1970 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 131 126 2 4 W 1
7 Sat, Oct 24, 1970 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 113 109 3 4 W 2
8 Wed, Oct 28, 1970 Box Score New York Knicks L 89 126 3 5 L 1
9 Fri, Oct 30, 1970 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 127 112 4 5 W 1
10 Sat, Oct 31, 1970 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 133 102 5 5 W 2
11 Wed, Nov 4, 1970 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 115 113 6 5 W 3
12 Fri, Nov 6, 1970 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 116 94 7 5 W 4
13 Sat, Nov 7, 1970 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals W 140 122 8 5 W 5
14 Wed, Nov 11, 1970 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 113 123 8 6 L 1
15 Fri, Nov 13, 1970 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 114 116 8 7 L 2
16 Sat, Nov 14, 1970 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 101 122 8 8 L 3
17 Wed, Nov 18, 1970 Box Score San Francisco Warriors L 89 90 8 9 L 4
18 Fri, Nov 20, 1970 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 116 112 9 9 W 1
19 Sat, Nov 21, 1970 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 107 110 9 10 L 1
20 Wed, Nov 25, 1970 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 122 115 10 10 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Nov 27, 1970 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 153 107 11 10 W 2
22 Sat, Nov 28, 1970 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 121 98 12 10 W 3
23 Mon, Nov 30, 1970 Box Score N Buffalo Braves W 109 106 13 10 W 4 at Philadelphia, PA
24 Tue, Dec 1, 1970 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves W OT 117 116 14 10 W 5
25 Wed, Dec 2, 1970 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 114 111 15 10 W 6
26 Fri, Dec 4, 1970 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 118 107 16 10 W 7
27 Sat, Dec 5, 1970 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 101 97 17 10 W 8
28 Tue, Dec 8, 1970 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves W 122 102 18 10 W 9
29 Wed, Dec 9, 1970 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 136 121 19 10 W 10
30 Fri, Dec 11, 1970 Box Score Detroit Pistons L OT 118 121 19 11 L 1
31 Thu, Dec 17, 1970 Box Score Buffalo Braves W 102 93 20 11 W 1
32 Fri, Dec 18, 1970 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 114 124 20 12 L 1
33 Sat, Dec 19, 1970 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 128 134 20 13 L 2
34 Tue, Dec 22, 1970 Box Score @ San Francisco Warriors W 138 108 21 13 W 1
35 Fri, Dec 25, 1970 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 113 123 21 14 L 1
36 Sat, Dec 26, 1970 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 117 124 21 15 L 2
37 Sun, Dec 27, 1970 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 123 135 21 16 L 3
38 Tue, Dec 29, 1970 Box Score @ San Diego Rockets W 110 108 22 16 W 1
39 Thu, Dec 31, 1970 Box Score San Francisco Warriors L 106 144 22 17 L 1
40 Sat, Jan 2, 1971 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 125 120 23 17 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sun, Jan 3, 1971 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 140 128 24 17 W 2
42 Tue, Jan 5, 1971 Box Score N Portland Trail Blazers L 120 124 24 18 L 1 at Philadelphia, PA
43 Wed, Jan 6, 1971 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 137 112 25 18 W 1
44 Fri, Jan 8, 1971 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 122 114 26 18 W 2
45 Sun, Jan 10, 1971 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 107 115 26 19 L 1
46 Fri, Jan 15, 1971 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 134 123 27 19 W 1
47 Sat, Jan 16, 1971 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 118 121 27 20 L 1
48 Sun, Jan 17, 1971 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 113 120 27 21 L 2
49 Wed, Jan 20, 1971 Box Score San Diego Rockets W 142 112 28 21 W 1
50 Fri, Jan 22, 1971 Box Score Baltimore Bullets L 117 136 28 22 L 1
51 Sat, Jan 23, 1971 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 107 128 28 23 L 2
52 Sun, Jan 24, 1971 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 121 110 29 23 W 1
53 Mon, Jan 25, 1971 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 116 117 29 24 L 1
54 Wed, Jan 27, 1971 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 129 132 29 25 L 2
55 Fri, Jan 29, 1971 Box Score New York Knicks L 111 118 29 26 L 3
56 Sun, Jan 31, 1971 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 132 126 30 26 W 1
57 Tue, Feb 2, 1971 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 105 108 30 27 L 1
58 Wed, Feb 3, 1971 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 115 134 30 28 L 2
59 Fri, Feb 5, 1971 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 114 110 31 28 W 1
60 Sun, Feb 7, 1971 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 104 96 32 28 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Tue, Feb 9, 1971 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 90 88 33 28 W 3
62 Wed, Feb 10, 1971 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 102 114 33 29 L 1
63 Fri, Feb 12, 1971 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W OT 113 109 34 29 W 1
64 Sun, Feb 14, 1971 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 110 108 35 29 W 2
65 Tue, Feb 16, 1971 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 116 119 35 30 L 1
66 Wed, Feb 17, 1971 Box Score @ San Francisco Warriors W 129 99 36 30 W 1 at Oakland, CA
67 Fri, Feb 19, 1971 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 112 116 36 31 L 1
68 Sat, Feb 20, 1971 Box Score @ San Diego Rockets L 118 128 36 32 L 2
69 Sun, Feb 21, 1971 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 116 124 36 33 L 3
70 Wed, Feb 24, 1971 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 116 96 37 33 W 1
71 Fri, Feb 26, 1971 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W OT 136 129 38 33 W 2
72 Sun, Feb 28, 1971 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 99 111 38 34 L 1
73 Wed, Mar 3, 1971 Box Score San Diego Rockets W 128 113 39 34 W 1
74 Sat, Mar 6, 1971 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 104 112 39 35 L 1
75 Sun, Mar 7, 1971 Box Score New York Knicks L 110 116 39 36 L 2
76 Tue, Mar 9, 1971 Box Score @ San Francisco Warriors W 134 112 40 36 W 1 at Oakland, CA
77 Thu, Mar 11, 1971 Box Score @ San Diego Rockets L 91 115 40 37 L 1
78 Fri, Mar 12, 1971 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals L 108 124 40 38 L 2 at Omaha, NE
79 Sun, Mar 14, 1971 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 117 104 41 38 W 1
80 Wed, Mar 17, 1971 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 112 104 42 38 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 19, 1971 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 125 117 43 38 W 3
82 Sun, Mar 21, 1971 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 135 110 44 38 W 4