Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Boston Celtics > 1989-90 Schedule and Results

1989-90 Boston Celtics Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 52-30, Finished 2nd in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Jimmy Rodgers (52-30)

PTS/G: 110.0 (8th of 27) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 106.0 (11th of 27)
SRS: 3.23 (8th of 27) ▪ Pace: 98.2 (13th of 27)
Off Rtg: 112.0 (6th of 27) ▪ Def Rtg: 107.9 (12th of 27)
Expected W-L: 51-31 (7th of 27)

Arena: Boston Garden ▪ Attendance: 611,537 (15th of 27)

NBA 1990 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Conference First Round (3-2) versus New York Knicks  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Nov 3, 1989 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 127 114 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Nov 4, 1989 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 102 100 2 0 W 2
3 Tue, Nov 7, 1989 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 100 106 2 1 L 1
4 Wed, Nov 8, 1989 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 103 112 2 2 L 2
5 Fri, Nov 10, 1989 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 117 106 3 2 W 1
6 Sat, Nov 11, 1989 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 101 104 3 3 L 1
7 Tue, Nov 14, 1989 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 96 94 4 3 W 1 at Hartford, CT
8 Wed, Nov 15, 1989 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 126 92 5 3 W 2
9 Fri, Nov 17, 1989 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W 116 99 6 3 W 3
10 Sat, Nov 18, 1989 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 86 103 6 4 L 1
11 Tue, Nov 21, 1989 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 111 119 6 5 L 2
12 Wed, Nov 22, 1989 Box Score Houston Rockets W 109 97 7 5 W 1
13 Fri, Nov 24, 1989 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 111 118 7 6 L 1
14 Sat, Nov 25, 1989 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 100 108 7 7 L 2
15 Wed, Nov 29, 1989 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 118 95 8 7 W 1
16 Fri, Dec 1, 1989 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 102 89 9 7 W 2
17 Tue, Dec 5, 1989 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets W 114 101 10 7 W 3
18 Wed, Dec 6, 1989 Box Score New York Knicks W 113 98 11 7 W 4
19 Fri, Dec 8, 1989 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 102 103 11 8 L 1
20 Sat, Dec 9, 1989 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 92 124 11 9 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Wed, Dec 13, 1989 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 109 97 12 9 W 1
22 Fri, Dec 15, 1989 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 110 119 12 10 L 1
23 Tue, Dec 19, 1989 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 95 86 13 10 W 1
24 Wed, Dec 20, 1989 Box Score Utah Jazz W 113 109 14 10 W 2
25 Fri, Dec 22, 1989 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 88 89 14 11 L 1
26 Tue, Dec 26, 1989 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 112 111 15 11 W 1
27 Wed, Dec 27, 1989 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W OT 115 112 16 11 W 2
28 Fri, Dec 29, 1989 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 96 89 17 11 W 3
29 Wed, Jan 3, 1990 Box Score Washington Bullets W 120 101 18 11 W 4
30 Fri, Jan 5, 1990 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers L 105 114 18 12 L 1
31 Sat, Jan 6, 1990 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 102 88 19 12 W 1
32 Tue, Jan 9, 1990 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 78 87 19 13 L 1
33 Wed, Jan 10, 1990 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 104 97 20 13 W 1
34 Fri, Jan 12, 1990 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 90 97 20 14 L 1
35 Sat, Jan 13, 1990 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 105 96 21 14 W 1
36 Wed, Jan 17, 1990 Box Score @ Orlando Magic W 133 111 22 14 W 2
37 Fri, Jan 19, 1990 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 109 104 23 14 W 3
38 Sun, Jan 21, 1990 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 115 120 23 15 L 1
39 Wed, Jan 24, 1990 Box Score Miami Heat W 116 95 24 15 W 1
40 Thu, Jan 25, 1990 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 98 99 24 16 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sun, Jan 28, 1990 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 126 118 25 16 W 1
42 Wed, Jan 31, 1990 Box Score New York Knicks W 97 91 26 16 W 2
43 Fri, Feb 2, 1990 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves L 105 116 26 17 L 1
44 Sun, Feb 4, 1990 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 121 89 27 17 W 1
45 Tue, Feb 6, 1990 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 106 119 27 18 L 1 at Hartford, CT
46 Wed, Feb 7, 1990 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 146 125 28 18 W 1
47 Tue, Feb 13, 1990 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 107 94 29 18 W 2
48 Wed, Feb 14, 1990 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 106 95 30 18 W 3
49 Fri, Feb 16, 1990 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 101 120 30 19 L 1
50 Sun, Feb 18, 1990 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 110 116 30 20 L 2
51 Tue, Feb 20, 1990 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 99 120 30 21 L 3
52 Wed, Feb 21, 1990 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 103 116 30 22 L 4
53 Fri, Feb 23, 1990 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 123 111 31 22 W 1
54 Sun, Feb 25, 1990 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 115 107 32 22 W 2
55 Wed, Feb 28, 1990 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 111 98 33 22 W 3
56 Fri, Mar 2, 1990 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 122 110 34 22 W 4
57 Sun, Mar 4, 1990 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 114 118 34 23 L 1
58 Wed, Mar 7, 1990 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 117 130 34 24 L 2
59 Fri, Mar 9, 1990 Box Score Washington Bullets L 108 115 34 25 L 3 at Hartford, CT
60 Sun, Mar 11, 1990 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 107 105 35 25 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Tue, Mar 13, 1990 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 112 100 36 25 W 2
62 Wed, Mar 14, 1990 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 102 113 36 26 L 1
63 Fri, Mar 16, 1990 Box Score @ Orlando Magic W 130 127 37 26 W 1
64 Sun, Mar 18, 1990 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 122 106 38 26 W 2
65 Wed, Mar 21, 1990 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 123 114 39 26 W 3
66 Fri, Mar 23, 1990 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 101 98 40 26 W 4
67 Sat, Mar 24, 1990 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 115 110 41 26 W 5
68 Tue, Mar 27, 1990 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 96 101 41 27 L 1
69 Wed, Mar 28, 1990 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 104 122 41 28 L 2
70 Fri, Mar 30, 1990 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 123 111 42 28 W 1
71 Sun, Apr 1, 1990 Box Score Orlando Magic W 133 125 43 28 W 2
72 Tue, Apr 3, 1990 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 82 93 43 29 L 1
73 Wed, Apr 4, 1990 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 125 106 44 29 W 1
74 Fri, Apr 6, 1990 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 109 104 45 29 W 2
75 Sat, Apr 7, 1990 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 115 105 46 29 W 3
76 Tue, Apr 10, 1990 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 112 96 47 29 W 4
77 Thu, Apr 12, 1990 Box Score Miami Heat W 139 118 48 29 W 5
78 Sun, Apr 15, 1990 Box Score New York Knicks W 101 94 49 29 W 6
79 Tue, Apr 17, 1990 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 105 111 49 30 L 1
80 Wed, Apr 18, 1990 Box Score Orlando Magic W 133 112 50 30 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 20, 1990 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 120 116 51 30 W 2
82 Sun, Apr 22, 1990 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 118 98 52 30 W 3

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Apr 26, 1990 Box Score New York Knicks W 116 105 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Apr 28, 1990 Box Score New York Knicks W 157 128 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, May 2, 1990 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 99 102 2 1 L 1
4 Fri, May 4, 1990 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 108 135 2 2 L 2
5 Sun, May 6, 1990 Box Score New York Knicks L 114 121 2 3 L 3