Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1947-48 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:Linkable Shot Charts

1947-48 Chicago Stags Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 28-20, Finished 3rd in BAA Western Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Harold Olsen (28-20)

PTS/G: 75.8 (1st of 8) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 73.2 (7th of 8)
SRS: 2.66 (2nd of 8)
Expected W-L: 30-18 (3rd of 8)

Arena: Chicago Stadium ▪ Attendance: NA

BAA 1948 Playoffs:
Lost BAA Semifinals (0-2) versus Baltimore Bullets
Won BAA Quarterfinals (1-2) versus Boston Celtics
Lost BAA Western Division Tiebreaker (0-1) versus Baltimore Bullets
Won BAA Western Division Tiebreaker (0-1) versus Washington Capitols

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Nov 13, 1947 Box Score St. Louis Bombers W 80 70 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Nov 15, 1947 Box Score Baltimore Bullets L 63 67 1 1 L 1
3 Wed, Nov 19, 1947 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 81 63 2 1 W 1
4 Thu, Nov 20, 1947 Box Score Washington Capitols W 81 77 3 1 W 2
5 Sat, Nov 22, 1947 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 72 75 3 2 L 1
6 Fri, Nov 28, 1947 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 75 71 4 2 W 1
7 Wed, Dec 3, 1947 Box Score Washington Capitols W 81 73 5 2 W 2
8 Sat, Dec 6, 1947 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 73 65 6 2 W 3
9 Fri, Dec 12, 1947 Box Score St. Louis Bombers L 75 85 6 3 L 1
10 Thu, Dec 18, 1947 Box Score Washington Capitols L 64 70 6 4 L 2
11 Sun, Dec 21, 1947 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 93 83 7 4 W 1
12 Tue, Dec 23, 1947 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 83 75 8 4 W 2
13 Thu, Dec 25, 1947 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 70 87 8 5 L 1
14 Sat, Dec 27, 1947 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 79 70 9 5 W 1
15 Tue, Dec 30, 1947 Box Score @ Providence Steam Rollers W 85 73 10 5 W 2
16 Sat, Jan 3, 1948 Box Score @ Providence Steam Rollers W 79 76 11 5 W 3
17 Wed, Jan 7, 1948 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 79 74 12 5 W 4
18 Thu, Jan 8, 1948 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 75 78 12 6 L 1
19 Fri, Jan 9, 1948 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 77 60 13 6 W 1
20 Sun, Jan 11, 1948 Box Score New York Knicks W 99 86 14 6 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Wed, Jan 14, 1948 Box Score @ Washington Capitols L 67 75 14 7 L 1
22 Fri, Jan 16, 1948 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 61 75 14 8 L 2
23 Sun, Jan 18, 1948 Box Score Boston Celtics W 72 48 15 8 W 1
24 Thu, Jan 22, 1948 Box Score Providence Steam Rollers L 50 56 15 9 L 1
25 Tue, Jan 27, 1948 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 78 74 16 9 W 1
26 Thu, Jan 29, 1948 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers L 60 62 16 10 L 1
27 Sat, Jan 31, 1948 Box Score @ Washington Capitols L 48 54 16 11 L 2
28 Sun, Feb 1, 1948 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors L 78 85 16 12 L 3
29 Thu, Feb 5, 1948 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers W 77 71 17 12 W 1
30 Sun, Feb 8, 1948 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 2OT 80 74 18 12 W 2
31 Wed, Feb 11, 1948 Box Score St. Louis Bombers L 78 80 18 13 L 1
32 Thu, Feb 12, 1948 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers W 80 74 19 13 W 1
33 Sun, Feb 15, 1948 Box Score Providence Steam Rollers L 79 85 19 14 L 1
34 Thu, Feb 19, 1948 Box Score New York Knicks W 82 74 20 14 W 1
35 Sat, Feb 21, 1948 Box Score @ Providence Steam Rollers W 92 73 21 14 W 2
36 Sun, Feb 22, 1948 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 97 77 22 14 W 3
37 Wed, Feb 25, 1948 Box Score @ Washington Capitols W 73 66 23 14 W 4
38 Thu, Feb 26, 1948 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors L 80 89 23 15 L 1
39 Fri, Feb 27, 1948 Box Score Boston Celtics L 69 83 23 16 L 2
40 Sun, Feb 29, 1948 Box Score Washington Capitols W OT 76 75 24 16 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sun, Mar 7, 1948 Box Score Providence Steam Rollers W 89 81 25 16 W 2
42 Tue, Mar 9, 1948 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 93 79 26 16 W 3
43 Wed, Mar 10, 1948 Box Score @ Washington Capitols W 71 54 27 16 W 4
44 Thu, Mar 11, 1948 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 83 86 27 17 L 1
45 Sat, Mar 13, 1948 Box Score New York Knicks W 58 51 28 17 W 1
46 Thu, Mar 18, 1948 Box Score Boston Celtics L 72 77 28 18 L 1
47 Sat, Mar 20, 1948 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers L 63 75 28 19 L 2
48 Sun, Mar 21, 1948 Box Score St. Louis Bombers L 70 82 28 20 L 3

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Mar 23, 1948 Box Score Washington Capitols W 74 70 1 0 W 1 Tiebreaker
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
2 Thu, Mar 25, 1948 Box Score Baltimore Bullets L 72 75 1 1 L 1 Tiebreaker
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
3 Sun, Mar 28, 1948 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 79 72 2 1 W 1
4 Wed, Mar 31, 1948 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 77 81 2 2 L 1
5 Fri, Apr 2, 1948 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 81 74 3 2 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
6 Wed, Apr 7, 1948 Box Score Baltimore Bullets L 67 73 3 3 L 1
7 Thu, Apr 8, 1948 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 72 89 3 4 L 2