Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1958-59 Schedule and Results

1958-59 Detroit Pistons Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 28-44, Finished 3rd in NBA Western Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Red Rocha (28-44)

PTS/G: 105.1 (6th of 8) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 106.3 (3rd of 8)
SRS: -1.36 (5th of 8) ▪ Pace: 117.8 (5th of 8)
Off Rtg: 88.4 (6th of 8) ▪ Def Rtg: 89.4 (4th of 8)
Expected W-L: 33-39 (5th of 8)

Arena: Detroit Olympia ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1959 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Division Semifinals (1-2) versus Minneapolis Lakers  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sun, Oct 19, 1958 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 94 103 0 1 L 1
2 Thu, Oct 23, 1958 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 103 104 0 2 L 2
3 Sat, Oct 25, 1958 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 117 112 1 2 W 1
4 Sun, Oct 26, 1958 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 100 108 1 3 L 1
5 Fri, Oct 31, 1958 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 120 113 2 3 W 1
6 Sat, Nov 1, 1958 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 98 112 2 4 L 1
7 Sun, Nov 2, 1958 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 107 91 3 4 W 1
8 Fri, Nov 7, 1958 Box Score New York Knicks L 101 115 3 5 L 1
9 Sun, Nov 9, 1958 Box Score Boston Celtics W 136 133 4 5 W 1
10 Thu, Nov 13, 1958 Box Score N Minneapolis Lakers W 119 110 5 5 W 2 at New York, NY
11 Fri, Nov 14, 1958 Box Score Syracuse Nationals L 109 111 5 6 L 1
12 Sat, Nov 15, 1958 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 91 102 5 7 L 2
13 Tue, Nov 18, 1958 Box Score N Boston Celtics L 102 115 5 8 L 3 at St. Louis, MO
14 Sat, Nov 22, 1958 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 103 86 6 8 W 1
15 Sun, Nov 23, 1958 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers W 124 109 7 8 W 2
16 Tue, Nov 25, 1958 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers L 90 98 7 9 L 1
17 Wed, Nov 26, 1958 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals W 112 95 8 9 W 1
18 Fri, Nov 28, 1958 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 101 93 9 9 W 2
19 Sat, Nov 29, 1958 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 96 110 9 10 L 1
20 Tue, Dec 2, 1958 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 95 91 10 10 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Dec 5, 1958 Box Score New York Knicks L 108 110 10 11 L 1
22 Sat, Dec 6, 1958 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 99 92 11 11 W 1
23 Wed, Dec 10, 1958 Box Score N St. Louis Hawks W 89 82 12 11 W 2 at Boston, MA
24 Thu, Dec 11, 1958 Box Score N St. Louis Hawks W 107 101 13 11 W 3 at Philadelphia, PA
25 Fri, Dec 12, 1958 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 97 95 14 11 W 4
26 Sun, Dec 14, 1958 Box Score Syracuse Nationals L 95 101 14 12 L 1
27 Wed, Dec 17, 1958 Box Score Boston Celtics L 95 102 14 13 L 2
28 Thu, Dec 18, 1958 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 104 113 14 14 L 3
29 Sat, Dec 20, 1958 Box Score St. Louis Hawks L 104 111 14 15 L 4
30 Thu, Dec 25, 1958 Box Score N Minneapolis Lakers W OT 98 97 15 15 W 1 at New York, NY
31 Fri, Dec 26, 1958 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 131 91 16 15 W 2
32 Tue, Dec 30, 1958 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 90 93 16 16 L 1
33 Fri, Jan 2, 1959 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals L 104 111 16 17 L 2 at Philadelphia, PA
34 Sat, Jan 3, 1959 Box Score New York Knicks L 102 106 16 18 L 3
35 Sun, Jan 4, 1959 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 94 118 16 19 L 4
36 Tue, Jan 6, 1959 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 107 105 17 19 W 1
37 Fri, Jan 9, 1959 Box Score Boston Celtics L 90 103 17 20 L 1
38 Sat, Jan 10, 1959 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals W 101 69 18 20 W 1
39 Sun, Jan 11, 1959 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 100 111 18 21 L 1
40 Tue, Jan 13, 1959 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals W 112 92 19 21 W 1 at St. Louis, MO
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Wed, Jan 14, 1959 Box Score St. Louis Hawks L 108 114 19 22 L 1
42 Sat, Jan 17, 1959 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors L 104 106 19 23 L 2
43 Sun, Jan 18, 1959 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 88 107 19 24 L 3
44 Wed, Jan 21, 1959 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors L 105 112 19 25 L 4
45 Sat, Jan 24, 1959 Box Score @ New York Knicks L OT 118 122 19 26 L 5
46 Sun, Jan 25, 1959 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L OT 118 119 19 27 L 6
47 Mon, Jan 26, 1959 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L 98 102 19 28 L 7 at Bethlehem, PA
48 Tue, Jan 27, 1959 Box Score Syracuse Nationals L 107 121 19 29 L 8
49 Fri, Jan 30, 1959 Box Score N Minneapolis Lakers L 86 88 19 30 L 9 at St. Louis, MO
50 Sat, Jan 31, 1959 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 103 88 20 30 W 1
51 Sun, Feb 1, 1959 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 96 130 20 31 L 1
52 Wed, Feb 4, 1959 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 2OT 119 117 21 31 W 1
53 Fri, Feb 6, 1959 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals L 103 122 21 32 L 1 at Boston, MA
54 Sun, Feb 8, 1959 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers L 103 115 21 33 L 2
55 Mon, Feb 9, 1959 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals W 122 97 22 33 W 1 at Fort Wayne, IN
56 Wed, Feb 11, 1959 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals W OT 118 114 23 33 W 2
57 Fri, Feb 13, 1959 Box Score New York Knicks W 96 90 24 33 W 3
58 Sun, Feb 15, 1959 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 94 120 24 34 L 1
59 Tue, Feb 17, 1959 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers L 90 97 24 35 L 2
60 Wed, Feb 18, 1959 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 95 105 24 36 L 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Fri, Feb 20, 1959 Box Score Boston Celtics L OT 106 111 24 37 L 4
62 Sat, Feb 21, 1959 Box Score N New York Knicks W 114 101 25 37 W 1 at Philadelphia, PA
63 Sun, Feb 22, 1959 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 108 139 25 38 L 1
64 Wed, Feb 25, 1959 Box Score St. Louis Hawks L 100 104 25 39 L 2
65 Thu, Feb 26, 1959 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals L 101 106 25 40 L 3 at Louisville, KY
66 Sun, Mar 1, 1959 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 117 101 26 40 W 1
67 Tue, Mar 3, 1959 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L 107 116 26 41 L 1 at New York, NY
68 Wed, Mar 4, 1959 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 127 97 27 41 W 1
69 Fri, Mar 6, 1959 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers L 98 99 27 42 L 1
70 Sat, Mar 7, 1959 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 128 137 27 43 L 2
71 Sun, Mar 8, 1959 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 120 127 27 44 L 3
72 Wed, Mar 11, 1959 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers W 123 118 28 44 W 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sat, Mar 14, 1959 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 89 92 0 1 L 1
2 Sun, Mar 15, 1959 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W 117 103 1 1 W 1
3 Wed, Mar 18, 1959 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 102 129 1 2 L 1