Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Detroit Pistons > 1960-61 Schedule and Results

1960-61 Detroit Pistons Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 34-45, Finished 3rd in NBA Western Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Dick McGuire (34-45)

PTS/G: 118.6 (5th of 8) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 121.0 (7th of 8)
SRS: -2.12 (6th of 8) ▪ Pace: 126.0 (5th of 8)
Off Rtg: 93.8 (2nd of 8) ▪ Def Rtg: 95.6 (6th of 8)
Expected W-L: 34-45 (6th of 8)

Arena: Detroit Olympia ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1961 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Division Semifinals (3-2) versus Los Angeles Lakers  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sat, Oct 22, 1960 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 116 118 0 1 L 1
2 Wed, Oct 26, 1960 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 131 117 1 1 W 1
3 Sat, Oct 29, 1960 Box Score New York Knicks W 115 110 2 1 W 2
4 Wed, Nov 2, 1960 Box Score St. Louis Hawks L 117 132 2 2 L 1
5 Fri, Nov 4, 1960 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors L 121 136 2 3 L 2
6 Sat, Nov 5, 1960 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L 123 130 2 4 L 3 at Boston, MA
7 Wed, Nov 9, 1960 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 120 126 2 5 L 4
8 Sat, Nov 12, 1960 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 116 112 3 5 W 1
9 Sun, Nov 13, 1960 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals W 125 113 4 5 W 2
10 Tue, Nov 15, 1960 Box Score N Boston Celtics W OT 115 114 5 5 W 3 at New York, NY
11 Wed, Nov 16, 1960 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 119 118 6 5 W 4
12 Thu, Nov 17, 1960 Box Score N St. Louis Hawks L 105 112 6 6 L 1 at Philadelphia, PA
13 Sat, Nov 19, 1960 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 122 130 6 7 L 2
14 Sun, Nov 20, 1960 Box Score N Los Angeles Lakers L 131 135 6 8 L 3 at San Francisco, CA
15 Wed, Nov 23, 1960 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 122 115 7 8 W 1
16 Fri, Nov 25, 1960 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L OT 128 141 7 9 L 1
17 Sat, Nov 26, 1960 Box Score N New York Knicks L 119 127 7 10 L 2 at Philadelphia, PA
18 Tue, Nov 29, 1960 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 107 118 7 11 L 3
19 Wed, Nov 30, 1960 Box Score Boston Celtics L 110 125 7 12 L 4
20 Sun, Dec 4, 1960 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals W 116 115 8 12 W 1 at Indianapolis, IN
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Tue, Dec 6, 1960 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 110 146 8 13 L 1
22 Wed, Dec 7, 1960 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 113 83 9 13 W 1
23 Sat, Dec 10, 1960 Box Score Syracuse Nationals L 107 117 9 14 L 1
24 Tue, Dec 13, 1960 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L 108 110 9 15 L 2 at College Park, MD
25 Wed, Dec 14, 1960 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 134 126 10 15 W 1
26 Fri, Dec 16, 1960 Box Score New York Knicks L 104 108 10 16 L 1
27 Mon, Dec 19, 1960 Box Score N Los Angeles Lakers L 103 107 10 17 L 2 at Portland, OR
28 Tue, Dec 20, 1960 Box Score N Los Angeles Lakers W 97 94 11 17 W 1 at Portland, OR
29 Sat, Dec 24, 1960 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 106 150 11 18 L 1
30 Sun, Dec 25, 1960 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 119 126 11 19 L 2
31 Mon, Dec 26, 1960 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 137 132 12 19 W 1
32 Thu, Dec 29, 1960 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 112 89 13 19 W 2
33 Fri, Dec 30, 1960 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals W 121 112 14 19 W 3 at St. Louis, MO
34 Sun, Jan 1, 1961 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 116 105 15 19 W 4
35 Mon, Jan 2, 1961 Box Score N Los Angeles Lakers L 113 123 15 20 L 1 at Philadelphia, PA
36 Tue, Jan 3, 1961 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L OT 125 128 15 21 L 2 at New York, NY
37 Thu, Jan 5, 1961 Box Score N New York Knicks L 102 104 15 22 L 3 at Philadelphia, PA
38 Fri, Jan 6, 1961 Box Score Boston Celtics L 102 108 15 23 L 4
39 Sun, Jan 8, 1961 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 115 138 15 24 L 5
40 Tue, Jan 10, 1961 Box Score N Boston Celtics L 98 118 15 25 L 6 at St. Louis, MO
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Wed, Jan 11, 1961 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 126 122 16 25 W 1
42 Thu, Jan 12, 1961 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals W 124 112 17 25 W 2 at Fort Wayne, IN
43 Sat, Jan 14, 1961 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 113 135 17 26 L 1
44 Sun, Jan 15, 1961 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 137 122 18 26 W 1
45 Wed, Jan 18, 1961 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals W 144 128 19 26 W 2 at Dayton, OH
46 Fri, Jan 20, 1961 Box Score New York Knicks W 132 128 20 26 W 3
47 Sat, Jan 21, 1961 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals W 130 106 21 26 W 4 at St. Louis, MO
48 Sun, Jan 22, 1961 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 136 128 22 26 W 5
49 Tue, Jan 24, 1961 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals W 106 104 23 26 W 6
50 Wed, Jan 25, 1961 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 138 125 24 26 W 7
51 Fri, Jan 27, 1961 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 111 140 24 27 L 1
52 Sun, Jan 29, 1961 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 113 137 24 28 L 2
53 Mon, Jan 30, 1961 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 116 117 24 29 L 3
54 Tue, Jan 31, 1961 Box Score N Los Angeles Lakers W 121 112 25 29 W 1 at New York, NY
55 Wed, Feb 1, 1961 Box Score N St. Louis Hawks L 131 137 25 30 L 1 at Syracuse, NY
56 Fri, Feb 3, 1961 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 121 118 26 30 W 1
57 Sat, Feb 4, 1961 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals W 111 104 27 30 W 2 at Baltimore, MD
58 Sun, Feb 5, 1961 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 120 125 27 31 L 1
59 Tue, Feb 7, 1961 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 120 131 27 32 L 2
60 Wed, Feb 8, 1961 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 125 123 28 32 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Fri, Feb 10, 1961 Box Score Boston Celtics W 137 134 29 32 W 2
62 Sat, Feb 11, 1961 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals L 111 141 29 33 L 1 at Boston, MA
63 Sun, Feb 12, 1961 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 122 148 29 34 L 2
64 Tue, Feb 14, 1961 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 134 135 29 35 L 3
65 Thu, Feb 16, 1961 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 106 129 29 36 L 4
66 Fri, Feb 17, 1961 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals L 113 115 29 37 L 5 at Philadelphia, PA
67 Sat, Feb 18, 1961 Box Score St. Louis Hawks L 138 141 29 38 L 6
68 Tue, Feb 21, 1961 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals L 118 123 29 39 L 7 at New York, NY
69 Wed, Feb 22, 1961 Box Score New York Knicks W 123 117 30 39 W 1
70 Thu, Feb 23, 1961 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors L 121 129 30 40 L 1
71 Sun, Feb 26, 1961 Box Score Boston Celtics L 99 113 30 41 L 2
72 Wed, Mar 1, 1961 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 122 137 30 42 L 3
73 Fri, Mar 3, 1961 Box Score N New York Knicks W 129 112 31 42 W 1 at Hershey, PA
74 Sat, Mar 4, 1961 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 102 104 31 43 L 1
75 Sun, Mar 5, 1961 Box Score St. Louis Hawks L 122 127 31 44 L 2
76 Wed, Mar 8, 1961 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 120 103 32 44 W 1
77 Thu, Mar 9, 1961 Box Score N Boston Celtics L 118 119 32 45 L 1 at Syracuse, NY
78 Fri, Mar 10, 1961 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors W 120 103 33 45 W 1 at Fort Wayne, IN
79 Sun, Mar 12, 1961 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 120 106 34 45 W 2

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Mar 14, 1961 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 102 120 0 1 L 1
2 Wed, Mar 15, 1961 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 118 127 0 2 L 2
3 Fri, Mar 17, 1961 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 124 113 1 2 W 1
4 Sat, Mar 18, 1961 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 123 114 2 2 W 2
5 Sun, Mar 19, 1961 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 120 137 2 3 L 1