Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Detroit Pistons > 1986-87 Schedule and Results

1986-87 Detroit Pistons Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 52-30, Finished 2nd in NBA Central Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Chuck Daly (52-30)

PTS/G: 111.2 (8th of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 107.8 (10th of 23)
SRS: 3.52 (6th of 23) ▪ Pace: 101.0 (13th of 23)
Off Rtg: 109.2 (9th of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 105.8 (5th of 23)
Expected W-L: 50-32 (6th of 23)

Arena: Pontiac Silverdome ▪ Attendance: 907,520 (1st of 23)

NBA 1987 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Conference Finals (4-3) versus Boston Celtics  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Semifinals (4-1) versus Atlanta Hawks  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference First Round (3-0) versus Washington Bullets  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 31, 1986 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 104 120 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Nov 1, 1986 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 89 92 0 2 L 2
3 Wed, Nov 5, 1986 Box Score Washington Bullets W 109 85 1 2 W 1
4 Fri, Nov 7, 1986 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 115 109 2 2 W 2
5 Sat, Nov 8, 1986 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 89 103 2 3 L 1
6 Wed, Nov 12, 1986 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 108 100 3 3 W 1
7 Fri, Nov 14, 1986 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 100 105 3 4 L 1
8 Sat, Nov 15, 1986 Box Score Boston Celtics L 111 118 3 5 L 2
9 Wed, Nov 19, 1986 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 105 119 3 6 L 3
10 Fri, Nov 21, 1986 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 120 110 4 6 W 1
11 Sat, Nov 22, 1986 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 93 84 5 6 W 2
12 Fri, Nov 28, 1986 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 120 99 6 6 W 3
13 Wed, Dec 3, 1986 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W OT 107 106 7 6 W 4
14 Thu, Dec 4, 1986 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 105 113 7 7 L 1
15 Sat, Dec 6, 1986 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 128 113 8 7 W 1
16 Wed, Dec 10, 1986 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 108 101 9 7 W 2
17 Fri, Dec 12, 1986 Box Score Washington Bullets L 115 116 9 8 L 1
18 Sat, Dec 13, 1986 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 119 114 10 8 W 1
19 Tue, Dec 16, 1986 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 111 100 11 8 W 2
20 Wed, Dec 17, 1986 Box Score Utah Jazz W 122 107 12 8 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Dec 19, 1986 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 114 84 13 8 W 4
22 Sat, Dec 20, 1986 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 98 88 14 8 W 5
23 Tue, Dec 23, 1986 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 98 111 14 9 L 1
24 Fri, Dec 26, 1986 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 121 106 15 9 W 1
25 Sat, Dec 27, 1986 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 107 105 16 9 W 2
26 Tue, Dec 30, 1986 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 103 99 17 9 W 3
27 Fri, Jan 2, 1987 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 129 128 18 9 W 4
28 Sat, Jan 3, 1987 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 119 124 18 10 L 1
29 Wed, Jan 7, 1987 Box Score New York Knicks W 122 111 19 10 W 1
30 Fri, Jan 9, 1987 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 131 123 20 10 W 2
31 Sat, Jan 10, 1987 Box Score Boston Celtics W 118 101 21 10 W 3
32 Tue, Jan 13, 1987 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 103 101 22 10 W 4
33 Wed, Jan 14, 1987 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 104 87 23 10 W 5
34 Fri, Jan 16, 1987 Box Score Houston Rockets L 106 112 23 11 L 1
35 Sat, Jan 17, 1987 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 123 113 24 11 W 1
36 Mon, Jan 19, 1987 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 108 98 25 11 W 2
37 Wed, Jan 21, 1987 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 108 112 25 12 L 1
38 Fri, Jan 23, 1987 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 100 97 26 12 W 1
39 Sat, Jan 24, 1987 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 113 138 26 13 L 1
40 Mon, Jan 26, 1987 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L OT 118 120 26 14 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Tue, Jan 27, 1987 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 107 118 26 15 L 3
42 Thu, Jan 29, 1987 Box Score Washington Bullets W 112 101 27 15 W 1
43 Sat, Jan 31, 1987 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 114 113 28 15 W 2
44 Sun, Feb 1, 1987 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 94 92 29 15 W 3
45 Thu, Feb 5, 1987 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 93 98 29 16 L 1
46 Wed, Feb 11, 1987 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W OT 123 113 30 16 W 1
47 Thu, Feb 12, 1987 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 113 109 31 16 W 2
48 Sat, Feb 14, 1987 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 125 107 32 16 W 3
49 Tue, Feb 17, 1987 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 103 107 32 17 L 1
50 Thu, Feb 19, 1987 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 117 105 33 17 W 1
51 Sat, Feb 21, 1987 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 102 97 34 17 W 2
52 Sun, Feb 22, 1987 Box Score New York Knicks W 122 110 35 17 W 3
53 Tue, Feb 24, 1987 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 120 112 36 17 W 4
54 Wed, Feb 25, 1987 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 106 105 37 17 W 5
55 Fri, Feb 27, 1987 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 111 123 37 18 L 1
56 Sun, Mar 1, 1987 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 102 112 37 19 L 2
57 Wed, Mar 4, 1987 Box Score Chicago Bulls L OT 120 125 37 20 L 3
58 Fri, Mar 6, 1987 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 125 115 38 20 W 1
59 Sun, Mar 8, 1987 Box Score Boston Celtics W OT 122 119 39 20 W 2
60 Tue, Mar 10, 1987 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 116 93 40 20 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Wed, Mar 11, 1987 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 107 98 41 20 W 4
62 Fri, Mar 13, 1987 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 100 99 42 20 W 5
63 Sat, Mar 14, 1987 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 98 95 43 20 W 6
64 Mon, Mar 16, 1987 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 115 95 44 20 W 7
65 Wed, Mar 18, 1987 Box Score New Jersey Nets L 112 113 44 21 L 1
66 Sat, Mar 21, 1987 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 118 122 44 22 L 2
67 Mon, Mar 23, 1987 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 114 110 45 22 W 1
68 Wed, Mar 25, 1987 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 115 127 45 23 L 1
69 Thu, Mar 26, 1987 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 111 128 45 24 L 2
70 Sat, Mar 28, 1987 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 121 109 46 24 W 1
71 Sun, Mar 29, 1987 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 108 107 47 24 W 2
72 Tue, Mar 31, 1987 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 111 113 47 25 L 1
73 Thu, Apr 2, 1987 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 119 73 48 25 W 1
74 Fri, Apr 3, 1987 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L OT 115 119 48 26 L 1
75 Sun, Apr 5, 1987 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 125 107 49 26 W 1
76 Tue, Apr 7, 1987 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 86 116 49 27 L 1
77 Fri, Apr 10, 1987 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 99 101 49 28 L 2
78 Sun, Apr 12, 1987 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 98 103 49 29 L 3
79 Mon, Apr 13, 1987 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 120 100 50 29 W 1
80 Wed, Apr 15, 1987 Box Score New York Knicks W 118 114 51 29 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 17, 1987 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 130 117 52 29 W 3
82 Sat, Apr 18, 1987 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 110 124 52 30 L 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Apr 24, 1987 Box Score Washington Bullets W 106 92 1 0 W 1
2 Sun, Apr 26, 1987 Box Score Washington Bullets W 128 85 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, Apr 29, 1987 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 97 96 3 0 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
4 Sun, May 3, 1987 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 112 111 4 0 W 4
5 Tue, May 5, 1987 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 102 115 4 1 L 1
6 Fri, May 8, 1987 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 108 99 5 1 W 1
7 Sun, May 10, 1987 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 89 88 6 1 W 2
8 Wed, May 13, 1987 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 104 96 7 1 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
9 Tue, May 19, 1987 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 91 104 7 2 L 1
10 Thu, May 21, 1987 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 101 110 7 3 L 2
11 Sat, May 23, 1987 Box Score Boston Celtics W 122 104 8 3 W 1
12 Sun, May 24, 1987 Box Score Boston Celtics W 145 119 9 3 W 2
13 Tue, May 26, 1987 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 107 108 9 4 L 1
14 Thu, May 28, 1987 Box Score Boston Celtics W 113 105 10 4 W 1
15 Sat, May 30, 1987 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 114 117 10 5 L 1