Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1970-71 Schedule and Results

1970-71 Denver Rockets Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 30-54, Finished 5th in ABA Western Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Joe Belmont (3-10), Stan Albeck (27-44)

PTS/G: 118.6 (7th of 11) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 122.7 (10th of 11)
SRS: -3.15 (10th of 11) ▪ Pace: 113.9 (2nd of 11)
Off Rtg: 102.8 (9th of 11) ▪ Def Rtg: 106.3 (8th of 11)
Expected W-L: 32-52 (10th of 11)

Arena: Denver Auditorium Arena ▪ Attendance: NA

ABA 1971 Playoffs:
Lost ABA Western Division Tiebreaker (0-1) versus Texas Chaparrals  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Wed, Oct 14, 1970 @ Utah Stars L 99 134 0 1 L 1
2 Fri, Oct 16, 1970 @ Indiana Pacers L 103 115 0 2 L 2
3 Sat, Oct 17, 1970 @ Kentucky Colonels L 103 109 0 3 L 3
4 Wed, Oct 21, 1970 Texas Chaparrals W 133 115 1 3 W 1
5 Fri, Oct 23, 1970 Pittsburgh Condors L 123 127 1 4 L 1
6 Sun, Oct 25, 1970 Indiana Pacers W OT 122 116 2 4 W 1
7 Tue, Oct 27, 1970 Memphis Pros L 94 102 2 5 L 1
8 Sat, Oct 31, 1970 @ Utah Stars L 113 122 2 6 L 2
9 Sun, Nov 1, 1970 Utah Stars L 111 117 2 7 L 3
10 Fri, Nov 6, 1970 @ Kentucky Colonels L 114 131 2 8 L 4
11 Sat, Nov 7, 1970 @ Virginia Squires L 2OT 133 138 2 9 L 5 at Hampton, VA
12 Sun, Nov 8, 1970 @ New York Nets L 104 114 2 10 L 6
13 Tue, Nov 10, 1970 @ The Floridians W 119 116 3 10 W 1
14 Sun, Nov 15, 1970 Utah Stars W 110 107 4 10 W 2
15 Wed, Nov 18, 1970 Indiana Pacers L 114 119 4 11 L 1 at Fort Collins, CO
16 Fri, Nov 20, 1970 New York Nets W 121 103 5 11 W 1
17 Sun, Nov 22, 1970 Memphis Pros L 121 141 5 12 L 1
18 Tue, Nov 24, 1970 Utah Stars L 102 115 5 13 L 2
19 Wed, Nov 25, 1970 @ Kentucky Colonels L 138 153 5 14 L 3
20 Thu, Nov 26, 1970 @ Pittsburgh Condors W 130 124 6 14 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sun, Nov 29, 1970 @ Indiana Pacers L 107 130 6 15 L 1
22 Mon, Nov 30, 1970 @ Memphis Pros W 103 93 7 15 W 1
23 Thu, Dec 3, 1970 Virginia Squires W 124 111 8 15 W 2
24 Fri, Dec 4, 1970 @ Texas Chaparrals L 134 141 8 16 L 1 at Dallas, TX
25 Sun, Dec 6, 1970 Kentucky Colonels L 125 140 8 17 L 2
26 Wed, Dec 9, 1970 N Virginia Squires L 109 113 8 18 L 3 at New York, NY
27 Thu, Dec 10, 1970 Pittsburgh Condors W 131 109 9 18 W 1
28 Fri, Dec 11, 1970 @ Memphis Pros L 100 102 9 19 L 1
29 Tue, Dec 15, 1970 Carolina Cougars W 126 116 10 19 W 1
30 Thu, Dec 17, 1970 Memphis Pros W 108 99 11 19 W 2
31 Fri, Dec 18, 1970 @ Pittsburgh Condors L 121 143 11 20 L 1
32 Sat, Dec 19, 1970 @ Carolina Cougars L 124 128 11 21 L 2 at Charlotte, NC
33 Tue, Dec 22, 1970 @ Memphis Pros W 104 102 12 21 W 1
34 Wed, Dec 23, 1970 The Floridians W 109 102 13 21 W 2
35 Sat, Dec 26, 1970 Virginia Squires L 120 122 13 22 L 1
36 Tue, Dec 29, 1970 Indiana Pacers W 116 106 14 22 W 1
37 Wed, Dec 30, 1970 Carolina Cougars L 132 136 14 23 L 1
38 Sun, Jan 3, 1971 Texas Chaparrals W OT 129 124 15 23 W 1
39 Tue, Jan 5, 1971 Utah Stars L 99 114 15 24 L 1
40 Thu, Jan 7, 1971 Pittsburgh Condors L 116 131 15 25 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Fri, Jan 8, 1971 @ Texas Chaparrals L 126 132 15 26 L 3 at Lubbock, TX
42 Sun, Jan 10, 1971 Carolina Cougars W OT 124 118 16 26 W 1
43 Tue, Jan 12, 1971 Texas Chaparrals W 120 112 17 26 W 2
44 Fri, Jan 15, 1971 @ Carolina Cougars L 114 125 17 27 L 1 at Greensboro, NC
45 Sat, Jan 16, 1971 @ Virginia Squires L 131 141 17 28 L 2 at Norfolk, VA
46 Sun, Jan 17, 1971 Texas Chaparrals W 129 123 18 28 W 1
47 Tue, Jan 19, 1971 @ Texas Chaparrals L 127 148 18 29 L 1 at Dallas, TX
48 Wed, Jan 20, 1971 @ Memphis Pros L 103 120 18 30 L 2
49 Thu, Jan 21, 1971 Indiana Pacers L 106 118 18 31 L 3
50 Sun, Jan 24, 1971 Kentucky Colonels W 119 116 19 31 W 1
51 Wed, Jan 27, 1971 @ Utah Stars L 105 111 19 32 L 1
52 Fri, Jan 29, 1971 @ Indiana Pacers L 123 127 19 33 L 2
53 Sat, Jan 30, 1971 @ Carolina Cougars L 109 114 19 34 L 3 at Raleigh, NC
54 Sun, Jan 31, 1971 Indiana Pacers L 104 124 19 35 L 4
55 Wed, Feb 3, 1971 Texas Chaparrals L 119 127 19 36 L 5
56 Fri, Feb 5, 1971 The Floridians W OT 132 120 20 36 W 1
57 Sat, Feb 6, 1971 @ Pittsburgh Condors W 115 114 21 36 W 2
58 Sun, Feb 7, 1971 @ Indiana Pacers W OT 133 131 22 36 W 3
59 Wed, Feb 10, 1971 Memphis Pros L 106 123 22 37 L 1
60 Fri, Feb 12, 1971 Kentucky Colonels L 138 142 22 38 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sun, Feb 14, 1971 New York Nets L 117 118 22 39 L 3
62 Tue, Feb 16, 1971 Memphis Pros W 125 120 23 39 W 1
63 Sun, Feb 21, 1971 Utah Stars L 107 120 23 40 L 1
64 Tue, Feb 23, 1971 @ Utah Stars L 103 133 23 41 L 2
65 Wed, Feb 24, 1971 @ The Floridians L 110 112 23 42 L 3
66 Fri, Feb 26, 1971 @ Texas Chaparrals W 142 120 24 42 W 1 at Dallas, TX
67 Sat, Feb 27, 1971 @ New York Nets L 115 122 24 43 L 1
68 Sun, Feb 28, 1971 @ Memphis Pros W 118 111 25 43 W 1
69 Wed, Mar 3, 1971 @ Utah Stars L 106 139 25 44 L 1
70 Fri, Mar 5, 1971 @ Texas Chaparrals L 3OT 153 158 25 45 L 2 at Dallas, TX
71 Sun, Mar 7, 1971 @ The Floridians W OT 142 141 26 45 W 1
72 Tue, Mar 9, 1971 @ Texas Chaparrals W 146 127 27 45 W 2 at Fort Worth, TX
73 Wed, Mar 10, 1971 The Floridians L 113 116 27 46 L 1
74 Fri, Mar 12, 1971 @ New York Nets L 127 132 27 47 L 2
75 Sun, Mar 14, 1971 @ Indiana Pacers L 121 131 27 48 L 3
76 Tue, Mar 16, 1971 Memphis Pros L 118 127 27 49 L 4
77 Thu, Mar 18, 1971 Utah Stars L 123 124 27 50 L 5
78 Tue, Mar 23, 1971 @ Utah Stars L 117 124 27 51 L 6
79 Wed, Mar 24, 1971 @ Memphis Pros L 118 132 27 52 L 7
80 Thu, Mar 25, 1971 Indiana Pacers L 110 129 27 53 L 8
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Sat, Mar 27, 1971 Texas Chaparrals W 120 118 28 53 W 1 at Fort Collins, CO
82 Sun, Mar 28, 1971 @ Indiana Pacers L 126 146 28 54 L 1
83 Tue, Mar 30, 1971 Virginia Squires W 129 119 29 54 W 1
84 Wed, Mar 31, 1971 New York Nets W 132 121 30 54 W 2

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Apr 1, 1971 @ Texas Chaparrals L 109 115 0 1 L 1 Tiebreaker