Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Houston Rockets > 1985-86 Schedule and Results

1985-86 Houston Rockets Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 51-31, Finished 1st in NBA Midwest Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Bill Fitch (51-31)

PTS/G: 114.4 (6th of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 111.8 (13th of 23)
SRS: 2.11 (6th of 23) ▪ Pace: 103.5 (7th of 23)
Off Rtg: 110.1 (5th of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 107.6 (14th of 23)
Expected W-L: 48-34 (4th of 23)

Arena: The Summit ▪ Attendance: 604,644 (5th of 23)

NBA 1986 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Finals (4-2) versus Boston Celtics  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference Finals (4-1) versus Los Angeles Lakers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference Semifinals (4-2) versus Denver Nuggets  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference First Round (3-0) versus Sacramento Kings  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 25, 1985 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 112 108 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Oct 26, 1985 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers L 2OT 129 130 1 1 L 1
3 Tue, Oct 29, 1985 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 111 99 2 1 W 1
4 Thu, Oct 31, 1985 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 116 122 2 2 L 1
5 Sat, Nov 2, 1985 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 111 98 3 2 W 1
6 Tue, Nov 5, 1985 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 127 113 4 2 W 2
7 Thu, Nov 7, 1985 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 137 115 5 2 W 3
8 Sat, Nov 9, 1985 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 115 110 6 2 W 4
9 Tue, Nov 12, 1985 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 127 119 7 2 W 5
10 Thu, Nov 14, 1985 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 112 107 8 2 W 6
11 Sat, Nov 16, 1985 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 122 117 9 2 W 7
12 Tue, Nov 19, 1985 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 113 127 9 3 L 1
13 Wed, Nov 20, 1985 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 126 97 10 3 W 1
14 Fri, Nov 22, 1985 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 103 122 10 4 L 1
15 Sun, Nov 24, 1985 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 118 125 10 5 L 2
16 Tue, Nov 26, 1985 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 130 108 11 5 W 1
17 Wed, Nov 27, 1985 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W OT 137 130 12 5 W 2
18 Fri, Nov 29, 1985 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 110 126 12 6 L 1
19 Sat, Nov 30, 1985 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 131 114 13 6 W 1
20 Tue, Dec 3, 1985 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 118 112 14 6 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Dec 6, 1985 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 112 120 14 7 L 1
22 Sat, Dec 7, 1985 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 116 104 15 7 W 1
23 Tue, Dec 10, 1985 Box Score Utah Jazz W 134 105 16 7 W 2
24 Thu, Dec 12, 1985 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 123 120 17 7 W 3
25 Sat, Dec 14, 1985 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 100 114 17 8 L 1
26 Tue, Dec 17, 1985 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 98 94 18 8 W 1
27 Wed, Dec 18, 1985 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 108 126 18 9 L 1
28 Fri, Dec 20, 1985 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 112 122 18 10 L 2
29 Sat, Dec 21, 1985 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 122 123 18 11 L 3
30 Thu, Dec 26, 1985 Box Score Utah Jazz W 106 99 19 11 W 1
31 Sat, Dec 28, 1985 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 118 108 20 11 W 2
32 Mon, Dec 30, 1985 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 122 125 20 12 L 1
33 Thu, Jan 2, 1986 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 120 115 21 12 W 1
34 Sat, Jan 4, 1986 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 115 100 22 12 W 2
35 Tue, Jan 7, 1986 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 124 115 23 12 W 3
36 Thu, Jan 9, 1986 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 120 110 24 12 W 4
37 Sat, Jan 11, 1986 Box Score Washington Bullets W 87 86 25 12 W 5
38 Tue, Jan 14, 1986 Box Score Utah Jazz L 102 105 25 13 L 1
39 Wed, Jan 15, 1986 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 119 113 26 13 W 1
40 Sat, Jan 18, 1986 Box Score New York Knicks W 104 95 27 13 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sun, Jan 19, 1986 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 96 131 27 14 L 1
42 Tue, Jan 21, 1986 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 100 96 28 14 W 1
43 Thu, Jan 23, 1986 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 124 107 29 14 W 2
44 Sat, Jan 25, 1986 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 117 112 30 14 W 3
45 Tue, Jan 28, 1986 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 116 109 31 14 W 4
46 Thu, Jan 30, 1986 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 111 109 32 14 W 5
47 Sat, Feb 1, 1986 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 122 132 32 15 L 1
48 Mon, Feb 3, 1986 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 104 102 33 15 W 1
49 Thu, Feb 6, 1986 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 95 117 33 16 L 1
50 Tue, Feb 11, 1986 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 113 100 34 16 W 1
51 Thu, Feb 13, 1986 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 115 119 34 17 L 1
52 Sat, Feb 15, 1986 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers L 101 108 34 18 L 2
53 Mon, Feb 17, 1986 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 116 110 35 18 W 1
54 Tue, Feb 18, 1986 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 105 115 35 19 L 1
55 Thu, Feb 20, 1986 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 113 120 35 20 L 2
56 Fri, Feb 21, 1986 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 111 104 36 20 W 1
57 Mon, Feb 24, 1986 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 110 105 37 20 W 2
58 Tue, Feb 25, 1986 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 97 100 37 21 L 1
59 Thu, Feb 27, 1986 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 117 111 38 21 W 1
60 Sat, Mar 1, 1986 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 112 117 38 22 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Mon, Mar 3, 1986 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 105 118 38 23 L 2
62 Tue, Mar 4, 1986 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 115 128 38 24 L 3
63 Thu, Mar 6, 1986 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 116 105 39 24 W 1
64 Sat, Mar 8, 1986 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 126 117 40 24 W 2
65 Tue, Mar 11, 1986 Box Score Boston Celtics L 104 116 40 25 L 1
66 Thu, Mar 13, 1986 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 126 118 41 25 W 1
67 Sat, Mar 15, 1986 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 148 116 42 25 W 2
68 Sun, Mar 16, 1986 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 111 116 42 26 L 1
69 Tue, Mar 18, 1986 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 112 109 43 26 W 1
70 Thu, Mar 20, 1986 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 106 116 43 27 L 1
71 Sat, Mar 22, 1986 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 114 99 44 27 W 1
72 Mon, Mar 24, 1986 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 107 114 44 28 L 1
73 Wed, Mar 26, 1986 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 110 101 45 28 W 1
74 Fri, Mar 28, 1986 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 107 116 45 29 L 1
75 Sat, Mar 29, 1986 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 114 109 46 29 W 1
76 Tue, Apr 1, 1986 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 125 121 47 29 W 2
77 Thu, Apr 3, 1986 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 136 110 48 29 W 3
78 Fri, Apr 4, 1986 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 112 89 49 29 W 4
79 Sun, Apr 6, 1986 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 109 103 50 29 W 5
80 Tue, Apr 8, 1986 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 109 95 51 29 W 6
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Thu, Apr 10, 1986 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 113 117 51 30 L 1
82 Sat, Apr 12, 1986 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 92 110 51 31 L 2

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Apr 17, 1986 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 107 87 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Apr 19, 1986 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 111 103 2 0 W 2
3 Tue, Apr 22, 1986 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 113 98 3 0 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
4 Sat, Apr 26, 1986 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 126 119 4 0 W 4
5 Tue, Apr 29, 1986 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 119 101 5 0 W 5
6 Fri, May 2, 1986 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 115 116 5 1 L 1
7 Sun, May 4, 1986 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L OT 111 114 5 2 L 2
8 Tue, May 6, 1986 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 131 103 6 2 W 1
9 Thu, May 8, 1986 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 2OT 126 122 7 2 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
10 Sat, May 10, 1986 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 107 119 7 3 L 1
11 Tue, May 13, 1986 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 112 102 8 3 W 1
12 Fri, May 16, 1986 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 117 109 9 3 W 2
13 Sun, May 18, 1986 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 105 95 10 3 W 3
14 Wed, May 21, 1986 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 114 112 11 3 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
15 Mon, May 26, 1986 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 100 112 11 4 L 1
16 Thu, May 29, 1986 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 95 117 11 5 L 2
17 Sun, Jun 1, 1986 Box Score Boston Celtics W 106 104 12 5 W 1
18 Tue, Jun 3, 1986 Box Score Boston Celtics L 103 106 12 6 L 1
19 Thu, Jun 5, 1986 Box Score Boston Celtics W 111 96 13 6 W 1
20 Sun, Jun 8, 1986 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 97 114 13 7 L 1