Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1996-97 Schedule and Results

1996-97 Houston Rockets Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 57-25, Finished 2nd in NBA Midwest Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Rudy Tomjanovich (57-25)

PTS/G: 100.6 (5th of 29) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 96.1 (13th of 29)
SRS: 3.85 (7th of 29) ▪ Pace: 91.6 (8th of 29)
Off Rtg: 108.8 (7th of 29) ▪ Def Rtg: 104.0 (10th of 29)
Expected W-L: 54-28 (7th of 29)

Arena: The Summit ▪ Attendance: 667,685 (19th of 29)

NBA 1997 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference Finals (2-4) versus Utah Jazz  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference Semifinals (3-4) versus Seattle SuperSonics  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference First Round (0-3) versus Minnesota Timberwolves  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Nov 1, 1996 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 96 85 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Nov 2, 1996 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 110 95 2 0 W 2
3 Mon, Nov 4, 1996 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 75 72 3 0 W 3
4 Tue, Nov 5, 1996 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 102 80 4 0 W 4
5 Thu, Nov 7, 1996 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W OT 110 108 5 0 W 5
6 Sat, Nov 9, 1996 Box Score Utah Jazz W 91 85 6 0 W 6
7 Tue, Nov 12, 1996 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 2OT 115 126 6 1 L 1
8 Thu, Nov 14, 1996 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 90 88 7 1 W 1
9 Sat, Nov 16, 1996 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 115 103 8 1 W 2
10 Tue, Nov 19, 1996 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W 122 93 9 1 W 3
11 Thu, Nov 21, 1996 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 115 105 10 1 W 4
12 Sat, Nov 23, 1996 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W OT 120 115 11 1 W 5
13 Sun, Nov 24, 1996 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 90 85 12 1 W 6
14 Tue, Nov 26, 1996 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W OT 102 101 13 1 W 7
15 Fri, Nov 29, 1996 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 120 94 14 1 W 8
16 Sat, Nov 30, 1996 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 103 99 15 1 W 9
17 Mon, Dec 2, 1996 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors L 89 100 15 2 L 1
18 Wed, Dec 4, 1996 Box Score Boston Celtics W 94 89 16 2 W 1
19 Sat, Dec 7, 1996 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 123 108 17 2 W 2
20 Tue, Dec 10, 1996 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves W 96 94 18 2 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Thu, Dec 12, 1996 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 115 96 19 2 W 4
22 Sat, Dec 14, 1996 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 109 100 20 2 W 5
23 Sun, Dec 15, 1996 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 99 89 21 2 W 6
24 Tue, Dec 17, 1996 Box Score @ Vancouver Grizzlies L 92 93 21 3 L 1
25 Thu, Dec 19, 1996 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 101 115 21 4 L 2
26 Sat, Dec 21, 1996 Box Score Miami Heat L 66 86 21 5 L 3
27 Mon, Dec 23, 1996 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 76 81 21 6 L 4
28 Thu, Dec 26, 1996 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 101 90 22 6 W 1
29 Sat, Dec 28, 1996 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 104 95 23 6 W 2
30 Mon, Dec 30, 1996 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 99 91 24 6 W 3
31 Thu, Jan 2, 1997 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 96 112 24 7 L 1
32 Sat, Jan 4, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers L 91 95 24 8 L 2
33 Tue, Jan 7, 1997 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves W 104 95 25 8 W 1
34 Wed, Jan 8, 1997 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 81 78 26 8 W 2
35 Fri, Jan 10, 1997 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 120 99 27 8 W 3
36 Sat, Jan 11, 1997 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 86 110 27 9 L 1
37 Tue, Jan 14, 1997 Box Score New York Knicks W 106 86 28 9 W 1
38 Thu, Jan 16, 1997 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 89 80 29 9 W 2
39 Fri, Jan 17, 1997 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 88 78 30 9 W 3
40 Sun, Jan 19, 1997 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 102 86 31 9 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Tue, Jan 21, 1997 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 108 114 31 10 L 1
42 Thu, Jan 23, 1997 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 111 104 32 10 W 1
43 Sat, Jan 25, 1997 Box Score Utah Jazz L OT 100 105 32 11 L 1
44 Thu, Jan 30, 1997 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 109 113 32 12 L 2
45 Fri, Jan 31, 1997 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 74 100 32 13 L 3
46 Sun, Feb 2, 1997 Box Score @ Orlando Magic L 90 103 32 14 L 4
47 Tue, Feb 4, 1997 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 95 99 32 15 L 5
48 Thu, Feb 6, 1997 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 87 96 32 16 L 6
49 Tue, Feb 11, 1997 Box Score Vancouver Grizzlies W 106 97 33 16 W 1
50 Fri, Feb 14, 1997 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 85 105 33 17 L 1
51 Sat, Feb 15, 1997 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 105 109 33 18 L 2
52 Mon, Feb 17, 1997 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 127 98 34 18 W 1
53 Thu, Feb 20, 1997 Box Score Toronto Raptors W 107 97 35 18 W 2
54 Fri, Feb 21, 1997 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 74 76 35 19 L 1
55 Sun, Feb 23, 1997 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 95 85 36 19 W 1
56 Tue, Feb 25, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 100 96 37 19 W 2
57 Thu, Feb 27, 1997 Box Score Charlotte Hornets L 95 106 37 20 L 1
58 Sat, Mar 1, 1997 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 89 80 38 20 W 1
59 Tue, Mar 4, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 113 109 39 20 W 2
60 Wed, Mar 5, 1997 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 90 85 40 20 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Fri, Mar 7, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 111 90 41 20 W 4
62 Sun, Mar 9, 1997 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 88 83 42 20 W 5
63 Tue, Mar 11, 1997 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 103 79 43 20 W 6
64 Wed, Mar 12, 1997 Box Score Orlando Magic L 95 96 43 21 L 1
65 Sun, Mar 16, 1997 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 80 101 43 22 L 2
66 Tue, Mar 18, 1997 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 97 89 44 22 W 1
67 Thu, Mar 20, 1997 Box Score Washington Bullets W 96 90 45 22 W 2
68 Sat, Mar 22, 1997 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 99 104 45 23 L 1
69 Tue, Mar 25, 1997 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W 112 103 46 23 W 1
70 Thu, Mar 27, 1997 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 107 89 47 23 W 2
71 Sat, Mar 29, 1997 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 120 105 48 23 W 3
72 Tue, Apr 1, 1997 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 116 99 49 23 W 4
73 Wed, Apr 2, 1997 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 96 109 49 24 L 1
74 Fri, Apr 4, 1997 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 108 94 50 24 W 1
75 Sun, Apr 6, 1997 Box Score @ Vancouver Grizzlies W 94 85 51 24 W 2
76 Tue, Apr 8, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 127 117 52 24 W 3
77 Thu, Apr 10, 1997 Box Score Vancouver Grizzlies W 102 94 53 24 W 4
78 Fri, Apr 11, 1997 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 83 104 53 25 L 1
79 Sun, Apr 13, 1997 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 113 73 54 25 W 1
80 Tue, Apr 15, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 123 119 55 25 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 18, 1997 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W OT 112 102 56 25 W 3
82 Sun, Apr 20, 1997 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 103 99 57 25 W 4

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Apr 24, 1997 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W 112 95 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Apr 26, 1997 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W 96 84 2 0 W 2
3 Tue, Apr 29, 1997 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves W 125 120 3 0 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
4 Mon, May 5, 1997 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 112 102 4 0 W 4
5 Wed, May 7, 1997 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 101 106 4 1 L 1
6 Fri, May 9, 1997 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 97 93 5 1 W 1
7 Sun, May 11, 1997 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W OT 110 106 6 1 W 2
8 Tue, May 13, 1997 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 94 100 6 2 L 1
9 Thu, May 15, 1997 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 96 99 6 3 L 2
10 Sat, May 17, 1997 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 96 91 7 3 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
11 Mon, May 19, 1997 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 86 101 7 4 L 1
12 Wed, May 21, 1997 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 92 104 7 5 L 2
13 Fri, May 23, 1997 Box Score Utah Jazz W 118 100 8 5 W 1
14 Sun, May 25, 1997 Box Score Utah Jazz W 95 92 9 5 W 2
15 Tue, May 27, 1997 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 91 96 9 6 L 1
16 Thu, May 29, 1997 Box Score Utah Jazz L 100 103 9 7 L 2