Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1970-71 Schedule and Results

1970-71 Kentucky Colonels Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 44-40, Finished 2nd in ABA Eastern Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Gene Rhodes (10-5), Alex Groza (2-0), Frank Ramsey (32-35)

PTS/G: 122.2 (2nd of 11) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 122.1 (9th of 11)
SRS: -0.17 (4th of 11) ▪ Pace: 113.5 (4th of 11)
Off Rtg: 107.5 (4th of 11) ▪ Def Rtg: 107.5 (10th of 11)
Expected W-L: 42-42 (4th of 11)

Arena: Freedom Hall ▪ Attendance: NA

ABA 1971 Playoffs:
Lost ABA Finals (3-4) versus Utah Stars  (Series Stats)
Won ABA Eastern Division Finals (2-4) versus Virginia Squires  (Series Stats)
Won ABA Eastern Division Semifinals (2-4) versus The Floridians  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Oct 15, 1970 @ Indiana Pacers L 95 127 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Oct 17, 1970 Denver Rockets W 109 103 1 1 W 1
3 Sun, Oct 18, 1970 @ Carolina Cougars W 121 115 2 1 W 2 at Raleigh, NC
4 Tue, Oct 20, 1970 @ The Floridians L 115 120 2 2 L 1
5 Wed, Oct 21, 1970 Virginia Squires L 97 112 2 3 L 2
6 Thu, Oct 22, 1970 @ Memphis Pros L 99 109 2 4 L 3
7 Sat, Oct 24, 1970 Pittsburgh Condors W 138 120 3 4 W 1
8 Wed, Oct 28, 1970 Carolina Cougars W 104 102 4 4 W 2
9 Sat, Oct 31, 1970 New York Nets W 113 100 5 4 W 3
10 Sun, Nov 1, 1970 @ The Floridians W 112 109 6 4 W 4 at Tampa, FL
11 Wed, Nov 4, 1970 Carolina Cougars W 127 105 7 4 W 5
12 Fri, Nov 6, 1970 Denver Rockets W 131 114 8 4 W 6
13 Sat, Nov 7, 1970 Utah Stars W 111 100 9 4 W 7
14 Mon, Nov 9, 1970 @ Indiana Pacers L 112 130 9 5 L 1
15 Wed, Nov 11, 1970 Virginia Squires W 128 123 10 5 W 1
16 Fri, Nov 13, 1970 @ Virginia Squires W 130 123 11 5 W 2 at Norfolk, VA
17 Sat, Nov 14, 1970 Texas Chaparrals W 149 132 12 5 W 3
18 Wed, Nov 18, 1970 @ Carolina Cougars W 122 112 13 5 W 4 at Charlotte, NC
19 Fri, Nov 20, 1970 @ Carolina Cougars W 100 98 14 5 W 5 at Greensboro, NC
20 Sat, Nov 21, 1970 New York Nets W 114 92 15 5 W 6
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Wed, Nov 25, 1970 Denver Rockets W 153 138 16 5 W 7
22 Fri, Nov 27, 1970 @ Texas Chaparrals W 122 121 17 5 W 8 at Dallas, TX
23 Sat, Nov 28, 1970 Texas Chaparrals L 119 142 17 6 L 1
24 Wed, Dec 2, 1970 Pittsburgh Condors W 139 127 18 6 W 1
25 Fri, Dec 4, 1970 @ Utah Stars L OT 128 129 18 7 L 1
26 Sun, Dec 6, 1970 @ Denver Rockets W 140 125 19 7 W 1
27 Fri, Dec 11, 1970 @ New York Nets L 99 128 19 8 L 1
28 Sat, Dec 12, 1970 The Floridians L 117 122 19 9 L 2
29 Sun, Dec 13, 1970 @ Pittsburgh Condors L 125 130 19 10 L 3
30 Wed, Dec 16, 1970 Indiana Pacers W 125 110 20 10 W 1
31 Thu, Dec 17, 1970 @ The Floridians W 126 123 21 10 W 2
32 Fri, Dec 18, 1970 The Floridians W 115 112 22 10 W 3
33 Sat, Dec 19, 1970 @ Virginia Squires L 104 113 22 11 L 1 at Hampton, VA
34 Mon, Dec 21, 1970 N The Floridians L 119 125 22 12 L 2 at Indianapolis, IN
35 Tue, Dec 22, 1970 Pittsburgh Condors W 116 100 23 12 W 1
36 Sat, Dec 26, 1970 Texas Chaparrals W 126 122 24 12 W 2
37 Sun, Dec 27, 1970 @ New York Nets L 108 114 24 13 L 1
38 Mon, Dec 28, 1970 Memphis Pros L 106 110 24 14 L 2
39 Wed, Dec 30, 1970 Pittsburgh Condors L 118 125 24 15 L 3
40 Sat, Jan 2, 1971 Indiana Pacers L 132 134 24 16 L 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sun, Jan 3, 1971 @ The Floridians W 124 119 25 16 W 1 at Jacksonville, FL
42 Wed, Jan 6, 1971 Virginia Squires W 145 137 26 16 W 2
43 Fri, Jan 8, 1971 @ New York Nets L 111 125 26 17 L 1
44 Sat, Jan 9, 1971 Carolina Cougars L 125 130 26 18 L 2
45 Mon, Jan 11, 1971 @ Memphis Pros L 107 121 26 19 L 3 at Nashville, TN
46 Wed, Jan 13, 1971 The Floridians W 133 117 27 19 W 1
47 Thu, Jan 14, 1971 @ Pittsburgh Condors L 111 122 27 20 L 1
48 Sat, Jan 16, 1971 New York Nets L 116 117 27 21 L 2
49 Sun, Jan 17, 1971 @ Indiana Pacers L 124 137 27 22 L 3
50 Mon, Jan 18, 1971 @ Virginia Squires W 124 114 28 22 W 1 at Hampton, VA
51 Tue, Jan 19, 1971 Memphis Pros W 117 110 29 22 W 2
52 Sun, Jan 24, 1971 @ Denver Rockets L 116 119 29 23 L 1
53 Tue, Jan 26, 1971 @ Texas Chaparrals W 125 122 30 23 W 1 at Dallas, TX
54 Fri, Jan 29, 1971 Virginia Squires L 135 147 30 24 L 1
55 Sun, Jan 31, 1971 @ Utah Stars L 129 138 30 25 L 2
56 Tue, Feb 2, 1971 @ Texas Chaparrals W 122 116 31 25 W 1 at Fort Worth, TX
57 Thu, Feb 4, 1971 New York Nets W 106 99 32 25 W 2
58 Fri, Feb 5, 1971 @ Carolina Cougars L 139 156 32 26 L 1 at Greensboro, NC
59 Sat, Feb 6, 1971 @ Carolina Cougars L 132 139 32 27 L 2 at Raleigh, NC
60 Sun, Feb 7, 1971 Utah Stars W 130 118 33 27 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Wed, Feb 10, 1971 @ Utah Stars L 127 149 33 28 L 1
62 Fri, Feb 12, 1971 @ Denver Rockets W 142 138 34 28 W 1
63 Sat, Feb 13, 1971 @ Virginia Squires L 123 128 34 29 L 1 at Hampton, VA
64 Sun, Feb 14, 1971 @ Virginia Squires L 140 144 34 30 L 2 at Norfolk, VA
65 Fri, Feb 19, 1971 Indiana Pacers L 121 126 34 31 L 3
66 Sun, Feb 21, 1971 New York Nets W 125 121 35 31 W 1
67 Tue, Feb 23, 1971 @ Pittsburgh Condors L 130 133 35 32 L 1
68 Wed, Feb 24, 1971 Memphis Pros W 126 115 36 32 W 1
69 Sun, Feb 28, 1971 @ Carolina Cougars W 122 112 37 32 W 2 at Charlotte, NC
70 Wed, Mar 3, 1971 Carolina Cougars W 131 128 38 32 W 3
71 Thu, Mar 4, 1971 @ The Floridians W 128 119 39 32 W 4
72 Fri, Mar 5, 1971 The Floridians W 118 113 40 32 W 5
73 Sun, Mar 7, 1971 Indiana Pacers L 122 127 40 33 L 1
74 Sat, Mar 13, 1971 Pittsburgh Condors W 157 132 41 33 W 1
75 Sun, Mar 14, 1971 Virginia Squires L 121 139 41 34 L 1
76 Tue, Mar 16, 1971 New York Nets W 122 104 42 34 W 1
77 Wed, Mar 17, 1971 @ New York Nets L 120 122 42 35 L 1 at New York, NY
78 Fri, Mar 19, 1971 @ Indiana Pacers L 109 120 42 36 L 2
79 Sun, Mar 21, 1971 Utah Stars L 109 123 42 37 L 3
80 Wed, Mar 24, 1971 Pittsburgh Condors L 131 149 42 38 L 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 26, 1971 @ New York Nets W 122 115 43 38 W 1
82 Sun, Mar 28, 1971 Carolina Cougars L 142 148 43 39 L 1
83 Mon, Mar 29, 1971 @ Memphis Pros W 109 107 44 39 W 1
84 Tue, Mar 30, 1971 @ Pittsburgh Condors L 132 149 44 40 L 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Apr 2, 1971 The Floridians W 116 112 1 0 W 1
2 Sun, Apr 4, 1971 The Floridians W 120 110 2 0 W 2
3 Tue, Apr 6, 1971 @ The Floridians L 102 120 2 1 L 1
4 Thu, Apr 8, 1971 @ The Floridians L 117 129 2 2 L 2
5 Sat, Apr 10, 1971 The Floridians W 118 101 3 2 W 1
6 Mon, Apr 12, 1971 @ The Floridians W 112 103 4 2 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
7 Thu, Apr 15, 1971 @ Virginia Squires W 136 132 5 2 W 3
8 Sat, Apr 17, 1971 @ Virginia Squires L 122 142 5 3 L 1
9 Mon, Apr 19, 1971 Virginia Squires L 137 150 5 4 L 2
10 Wed, Apr 21, 1971 Virginia Squires W 128 110 6 4 W 1
11 Fri, Apr 23, 1971 @ Virginia Squires W 115 107 7 4 W 2
12 Sat, Apr 24, 1971 Virginia Squires W 129 117 8 4 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
13 Mon, May 3, 1971 @ Utah Stars L 117 136 8 5 L 1
14 Wed, May 5, 1971 @ Utah Stars L 125 138 8 6 L 2
15 Fri, May 7, 1971 Utah Stars W 116 110 9 6 W 1
16 Sat, May 8, 1971 Utah Stars W OT 129 125 10 6 W 2
17 Wed, May 12, 1971 @ Utah Stars L 127 137 10 7 L 1
18 Sat, May 15, 1971 Utah Stars W 105 102 11 7 W 1
19 Tue, May 18, 1971 @ Utah Stars L 121 131 11 8 L 1