Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1985-86 Schedule and Results

1985-86 Los Angeles Lakers Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 62-20, Finished 1st in NBA Pacific Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Pat Riley (62-20)

PTS/G: 117.3 (1st of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 109.5 (10th of 23)
SRS: 6.84 (3rd of 23) ▪ Pace: 102.7 (10th of 23)
Off Rtg: 113.3 (1st of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 105.8 (7th of 23)
Expected W-L: 59-23 (3rd of 23)

Arena: The Forum ▪ Attendance: 691,071 (3rd of 23)

NBA 1986 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference Finals (1-4) versus Houston Rockets  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference Semifinals (2-4) versus Dallas Mavericks  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference First Round (0-3) versus San Antonio Spurs  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sat, Oct 26, 1985 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 2OT 121 116 1 0 W 1
2 Tue, Oct 29, 1985 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 133 115 2 0 W 2
3 Thu, Oct 31, 1985 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 144 107 3 0 W 3
4 Sat, Nov 2, 1985 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 120 116 4 0 W 4
5 Tue, Nov 5, 1985 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 111 129 4 1 L 1
6 Thu, Nov 7, 1985 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 116 106 5 1 W 1
7 Fri, Nov 8, 1985 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 128 99 6 1 W 2
8 Tue, Nov 12, 1985 Box Score Utah Jazz W 119 110 7 1 W 3
9 Thu, Nov 14, 1985 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 114 102 8 1 W 4
10 Fri, Nov 15, 1985 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 127 96 9 1 W 5
11 Sun, Nov 17, 1985 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 138 119 10 1 W 6
12 Wed, Nov 20, 1985 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 122 107 11 1 W 7
13 Thu, Nov 21, 1985 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 120 121 11 2 L 1
14 Sat, Nov 23, 1985 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 130 113 12 2 W 1
15 Sun, Nov 24, 1985 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 118 102 13 2 W 2
16 Fri, Nov 29, 1985 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 108 107 14 2 W 3
17 Sun, Dec 1, 1985 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 117 113 15 2 W 4
18 Wed, Dec 4, 1985 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W OT 131 127 16 2 W 5
19 Fri, Dec 6, 1985 Box Score Houston Rockets W 120 112 17 2 W 6
20 Sun, Dec 8, 1985 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 125 119 18 2 W 7
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Thu, Dec 12, 1985 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 127 102 19 2 W 8
22 Fri, Dec 13, 1985 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 120 124 19 3 L 1
23 Sun, Dec 15, 1985 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 132 119 20 3 W 1
24 Tue, Dec 17, 1985 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 105 99 21 3 W 2
25 Wed, Dec 18, 1985 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 107 105 22 3 W 3
26 Fri, Dec 20, 1985 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 128 116 23 3 W 4
27 Sat, Dec 21, 1985 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 96 84 24 3 W 5
28 Thu, Dec 26, 1985 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 91 109 24 4 L 1
29 Sat, Dec 28, 1985 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 133 111 25 4 W 1
30 Sun, Dec 29, 1985 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 122 130 25 5 L 1
31 Fri, Jan 3, 1986 Box Score Utah Jazz W 110 101 26 5 W 1
32 Sun, Jan 5, 1986 Box Score Washington Bullets W 118 88 27 5 W 2
33 Wed, Jan 8, 1986 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 125 121 28 5 W 3
34 Fri, Jan 10, 1986 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 124 102 29 5 W 4
35 Sat, Jan 11, 1986 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 99 105 29 6 L 1
36 Tue, Jan 14, 1986 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 143 122 30 6 W 1
37 Thu, Jan 16, 1986 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 112 96 31 6 W 2
38 Sun, Jan 19, 1986 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 115 118 31 7 L 1
39 Mon, Jan 20, 1986 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 133 118 32 7 W 1
40 Wed, Jan 22, 1986 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 95 110 32 8 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Fri, Jan 24, 1986 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers L 109 120 32 9 L 2
42 Sat, Jan 25, 1986 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 115 127 32 10 L 3
43 Tue, Jan 28, 1986 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 125 115 33 10 W 1
44 Thu, Jan 30, 1986 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 118 94 34 10 W 2
45 Fri, Jan 31, 1986 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 134 100 35 10 W 3
46 Sun, Feb 2, 1986 Box Score New York Knicks L 96 103 35 11 L 1
47 Tue, Feb 4, 1986 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 110 102 36 11 W 1
48 Thu, Feb 6, 1986 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 117 95 37 11 W 2
49 Tue, Feb 11, 1986 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 113 137 37 12 L 1
50 Wed, Feb 12, 1986 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 126 100 38 12 W 1
51 Fri, Feb 14, 1986 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 141 117 39 12 W 2
52 Sun, Feb 16, 1986 Box Score Boston Celtics L 99 105 39 13 L 1
53 Wed, Feb 19, 1986 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 90 81 40 13 W 1
54 Fri, Feb 21, 1986 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 106 121 40 14 L 1
55 Sun, Feb 23, 1986 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W OT 117 111 41 14 W 1
56 Mon, Feb 24, 1986 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 93 102 41 15 L 1
57 Wed, Feb 26, 1986 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 119 116 42 15 W 1
58 Fri, Feb 28, 1986 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 115 103 43 15 W 2
59 Sat, Mar 1, 1986 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 106 123 43 16 L 1
60 Mon, Mar 3, 1986 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 127 117 44 16 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Wed, Mar 5, 1986 Box Score Utah Jazz W 130 84 45 16 W 2
62 Thu, Mar 6, 1986 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 112 111 46 16 W 3
63 Sat, Mar 8, 1986 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 2OT 122 121 47 16 W 4
64 Sun, Mar 9, 1986 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 108 106 48 16 W 5
65 Tue, Mar 11, 1986 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 129 108 49 16 W 6
66 Thu, Mar 13, 1986 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 105 92 50 16 W 7
67 Sun, Mar 16, 1986 Box Score Houston Rockets W 116 111 51 16 W 8
68 Tue, Mar 18, 1986 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 128 122 52 16 W 9
69 Wed, Mar 19, 1986 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers L 114 115 52 17 L 1
70 Fri, Mar 21, 1986 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 117 109 53 17 W 1
71 Sat, Mar 22, 1986 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 115 113 54 17 W 2
72 Mon, Mar 24, 1986 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 124 102 55 17 W 3
73 Tue, Mar 25, 1986 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 121 115 56 17 W 4
74 Sat, Mar 29, 1986 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 87 88 56 18 L 1
75 Sun, Mar 30, 1986 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 124 117 57 18 W 1
76 Tue, Apr 1, 1986 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 109 104 58 18 W 2
77 Thu, Apr 3, 1986 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 135 105 59 18 W 3
78 Sun, Apr 6, 1986 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 103 109 59 19 L 1
79 Tue, Apr 8, 1986 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 120 114 60 19 W 1
80 Thu, Apr 10, 1986 Box Score Houston Rockets W 117 113 61 19 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Sat, Apr 12, 1986 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 105 92 62 19 W 3
82 Sun, Apr 13, 1986 Box Score Dallas Mavericks L 104 127 62 20 L 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Apr 17, 1986 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 135 88 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Apr 19, 1986 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 122 94 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, Apr 23, 1986 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 114 94 3 0 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
4 Sun, Apr 27, 1986 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 130 116 4 0 W 4
5 Wed, Apr 30, 1986 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 117 113 5 0 W 5
6 Fri, May 2, 1986 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 108 110 5 1 L 1
7 Sun, May 4, 1986 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 118 120 5 2 L 2
8 Tue, May 6, 1986 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 116 113 6 2 W 1
9 Thu, May 8, 1986 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 120 107 7 2 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
10 Sat, May 10, 1986 Box Score Houston Rockets W 119 107 8 2 W 3
11 Tue, May 13, 1986 Box Score Houston Rockets L 102 112 8 3 L 1
12 Fri, May 16, 1986 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 109 117 8 4 L 2
13 Sun, May 18, 1986 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 95 105 8 5 L 3
14 Wed, May 21, 1986 Box Score Houston Rockets L 112 114 8 6 L 4