Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1971-72 Schedule and Results

1971-72 Milwaukee Bucks Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 63-19, Finished 1st in NBA Midwest Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Larry Costello (63-19)

PTS/G: 114.6 (4th of 17) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 103.5 (2nd of 17)
SRS: 10.70 (2nd of 17) ▪ Pace: 111.2 (10th of 17)
Off Rtg: 102.6 (2nd of 17) ▪ Def Rtg: 92.6 (1st of 17)
Expected W-L: 66-16 (2nd of 17)

Arena: Milwaukee Arena ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1972 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference Finals (2-4) versus Los Angeles Lakers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference Semifinals (1-4) versus Golden State Warriors  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Oct 14, 1971 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 110 97 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Oct 16, 1971 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 98 91 2 0 W 2
3 Sun, Oct 17, 1971 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 127 94 3 0 W 3
4 Tue, Oct 19, 1971 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 116 82 4 0 W 4
5 Fri, Oct 22, 1971 Box Score Buffalo Braves W 124 105 5 0 W 5
6 Sat, Oct 23, 1971 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 110 88 6 0 W 6
7 Tue, Oct 26, 1971 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 120 90 7 0 W 7
8 Fri, Oct 29, 1971 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 114 125 7 1 L 1
9 Sun, Oct 31, 1971 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 118 102 8 1 W 1
10 Fri, Nov 5, 1971 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 104 102 9 1 W 2
11 Sat, Nov 6, 1971 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 106 78 10 1 W 3
12 Tue, Nov 9, 1971 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 118 113 11 1 W 4
13 Wed, Nov 10, 1971 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 116 110 12 1 W 5
14 Fri, Nov 12, 1971 Box Score Houston Rockets W 111 102 13 1 W 6
15 Sat, Nov 13, 1971 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves W 127 106 14 1 W 7
16 Sun, Nov 14, 1971 Box Score N Philadelphia 76ers W 125 114 15 1 W 8 at Madison, WI
17 Tue, Nov 16, 1971 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 125 105 16 1 W 9
18 Fri, Nov 19, 1971 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 108 107 17 1 W 10
19 Sat, Nov 20, 1971 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 100 107 17 2 L 1 at Oakland, CA
20 Sun, Nov 21, 1971 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 105 112 17 3 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Tue, Nov 23, 1971 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 112 104 18 3 W 1
22 Wed, Nov 24, 1971 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 141 107 19 3 W 2
23 Fri, Nov 26, 1971 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 120 105 20 3 W 3
24 Sat, Nov 27, 1971 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals W 114 81 21 3 W 4
25 Tue, Nov 30, 1971 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 103 106 21 4 L 1
26 Fri, Dec 3, 1971 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 120 82 22 4 W 1
27 Sat, Dec 4, 1971 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 108 105 23 4 W 2
28 Tue, Dec 7, 1971 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 116 83 24 4 W 3
29 Fri, Dec 10, 1971 Box Score Boston Celtics W 120 104 25 4 W 4
30 Sat, Dec 11, 1971 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 107 101 26 4 W 5
31 Tue, Dec 14, 1971 Box Score Houston Rockets W 106 98 27 4 W 6
32 Wed, Dec 15, 1971 Box Score N Buffalo Braves W 122 108 28 4 W 7 at Madison, WI
33 Fri, Dec 17, 1971 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 120 113 29 4 W 8
34 Sun, Dec 19, 1971 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 111 96 30 4 W 9
35 Wed, Dec 22, 1971 Box Score N Boston Celtics L 98 104 30 5 L 1 at Madison, WI
36 Sat, Dec 25, 1971 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L OT 118 120 30 6 L 2
37 Sun, Dec 26, 1971 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 114 92 31 6 W 1
38 Tue, Dec 28, 1971 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 105 116 31 7 L 1
39 Wed, Dec 29, 1971 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 123 84 32 7 W 1
40 Mon, Jan 3, 1972 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 99 101 32 8 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Tue, Jan 4, 1972 Box Score New York Knicks W 121 100 33 8 W 1
42 Wed, Jan 5, 1972 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals W 115 106 34 8 W 2
43 Sat, Jan 8, 1972 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 136 119 35 8 W 3
44 Sun, Jan 9, 1972 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 120 104 36 8 W 4
45 Tue, Jan 11, 1972 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 114 115 36 9 L 1
46 Wed, Jan 12, 1972 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 102 104 36 10 L 2
47 Fri, Jan 14, 1972 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 104 77 37 10 W 1
48 Sun, Jan 16, 1972 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 126 97 38 10 W 2
49 Fri, Jan 21, 1972 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 120 91 39 10 W 3
50 Sun, Jan 23, 1972 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 113 118 39 11 L 1
51 Tue, Jan 25, 1972 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 123 91 40 11 W 1
52 Wed, Jan 26, 1972 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 120 94 41 11 W 2
53 Fri, Jan 28, 1972 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 127 118 42 11 W 3
54 Sun, Jan 30, 1972 Box Score N Baltimore Bullets W 116 112 43 11 W 4 at College Park, MD
55 Tue, Feb 1, 1972 Box Score N Golden State Warriors W 108 97 44 11 W 5 at San Diego, CA
56 Wed, Feb 2, 1972 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 106 103 45 11 W 6
57 Fri, Feb 4, 1972 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 105 118 45 12 L 1
58 Sat, Feb 5, 1972 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 119 112 46 12 W 1
59 Tue, Feb 8, 1972 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves W 126 108 47 12 W 2
60 Wed, Feb 9, 1972 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 126 121 48 12 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Fri, Feb 11, 1972 Box Score New York Knicks L 107 113 48 13 L 1
62 Sat, Feb 12, 1972 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 123 100 49 13 W 1
63 Sun, Feb 13, 1972 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 117 109 50 13 W 2
64 Thu, Feb 17, 1972 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals W 111 97 51 13 W 3
65 Fri, Feb 18, 1972 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 126 132 51 14 L 1
66 Sat, Feb 19, 1972 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 97 104 51 15 L 2
67 Sun, Feb 20, 1972 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 103 100 52 15 W 1
68 Wed, Feb 23, 1972 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 113 105 53 15 W 2
69 Sat, Feb 26, 1972 Box Score N Phoenix Suns W OT 119 117 54 15 W 3 at Madison, WI
70 Tue, Feb 29, 1972 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 131 113 55 15 W 4
71 Wed, Mar 1, 1972 Box Score N Los Angeles Lakers L 108 109 55 16 L 1 at Madison, WI
72 Fri, Mar 3, 1972 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 94 81 56 16 W 1
73 Mon, Mar 6, 1972 Box Score Boston Celtics W OT 132 127 57 16 W 2
74 Tue, Mar 7, 1972 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 101 110 57 17 L 1
75 Sun, Mar 12, 1972 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 109 99 58 17 W 1
76 Tue, Mar 14, 1972 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 109 98 59 17 W 2
77 Wed, Mar 15, 1972 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 106 110 59 18 L 1
78 Fri, Mar 17, 1972 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 107 123 59 19 L 2
79 Sat, Mar 18, 1972 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W OT 120 116 60 19 W 1
80 Tue, Mar 21, 1972 Box Score Houston Rockets W 111 94 61 19 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 24, 1972 Box Score New York Knicks W 131 88 62 19 W 3
82 Sat, Mar 25, 1972 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 119 95 63 19 W 4

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Mar 28, 1972 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 106 117 0 1 L 1
2 Thu, Mar 30, 1972 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 118 93 1 1 W 1
3 Sat, Apr 1, 1972 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 122 94 2 1 W 2 at Oakland, CA
4 Tue, Apr 4, 1972 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 106 99 3 1 W 3 at Oakland, CA
5 Thu, Apr 6, 1972 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 108 100 4 1 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
6 Sun, Apr 9, 1972 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 93 72 5 1 W 5
7 Wed, Apr 12, 1972 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 134 135 5 2 L 1
8 Fri, Apr 14, 1972 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 105 108 5 3 L 2
9 Sun, Apr 16, 1972 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 114 88 6 3 W 1
10 Tue, Apr 18, 1972 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 90 115 6 4 L 1
11 Sat, Apr 22, 1972 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 100 104 6 5 L 2