Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1996-97 Schedule and Results

1996-97 New Jersey Nets Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 26-56, Finished 5th in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: John Calipari (26-56)

PTS/G: 97.2 (14th of 29) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 101.8 (24th of 29)
SRS: -3.89 (22nd of 29) ▪ Pace: 92.4 (5th of 29)
Off Rtg: 104.7 (20th of 29) ▪ Def Rtg: 109.7 (23rd of 29)
Expected W-L: 28-54 (22nd of 29)

Arena: Continental Airlines Arena ▪ Attendance: 670,628 (18th of 29)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Nov 1, 1996 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 77 90 0 1 L 1
2 Thu, Nov 7, 1996 Box Score Orlando Magic L 95 108 0 2 L 2 at Tokyo, Japan
3 Fri, Nov 8, 1996 Box Score @ Orlando Magic L 82 86 0 3 L 3 at Tokyo, Japan
4 Wed, Nov 13, 1996 Box Score Washington Bullets L 91 106 0 4 L 4
5 Fri, Nov 15, 1996 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 85 93 0 5 L 5
6 Sat, Nov 16, 1996 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 106 99 1 5 W 1
7 Thu, Nov 21, 1996 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 88 96 1 6 L 1
8 Sat, Nov 23, 1996 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 114 91 2 6 W 1
9 Mon, Nov 25, 1996 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 92 108 2 7 L 1
10 Wed, Nov 27, 1996 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 77 99 2 8 L 2
11 Thu, Nov 28, 1996 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 118 124 2 9 L 3
12 Sat, Nov 30, 1996 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W OT 106 95 3 9 W 1 at Anaheim, CA
13 Wed, Dec 4, 1996 Box Score New York Knicks L 102 109 3 10 L 1
14 Fri, Dec 6, 1996 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W OT 110 108 4 10 W 1
15 Sat, Dec 7, 1996 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 69 95 4 11 L 1
16 Wed, Dec 11, 1996 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 110 101 5 11 W 1
17 Fri, Dec 13, 1996 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 92 113 5 12 L 1
18 Sat, Dec 14, 1996 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 91 101 5 13 L 2
19 Tue, Dec 17, 1996 Box Score Toronto Raptors L 88 97 5 14 L 3
20 Wed, Dec 18, 1996 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 81 99 5 15 L 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Dec 20, 1996 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 95 109 5 16 L 5
22 Sat, Dec 21, 1996 Box Score Boston Celtics W 101 100 6 16 W 1
23 Mon, Dec 23, 1996 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 81 113 6 17 L 1
24 Thu, Dec 26, 1996 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors L 96 98 6 18 L 2 at Hamilton, Canada
25 Fri, Dec 27, 1996 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 105 94 7 18 W 1
26 Sun, Dec 29, 1996 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W OT 110 102 8 18 W 2
27 Mon, Dec 30, 1996 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 86 98 8 19 L 1
28 Thu, Jan 2, 1997 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 91 101 8 20 L 2
29 Fri, Jan 3, 1997 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 85 95 8 21 L 3
30 Tue, Jan 7, 1997 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 90 74 9 21 W 1
31 Thu, Jan 9, 1997 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves L 107 110 9 22 L 1
32 Sat, Jan 11, 1997 Box Score Toronto Raptors L 106 123 9 23 L 2
33 Mon, Jan 13, 1997 Box Score Orlando Magic L 111 114 9 24 L 3
34 Wed, Jan 15, 1997 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 104 116 9 25 L 4
35 Fri, Jan 17, 1997 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W OT 105 103 10 25 W 1
36 Sat, Jan 18, 1997 Box Score Charlotte Hornets L 92 102 10 26 L 1
37 Mon, Jan 20, 1997 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 123 132 10 27 L 2
38 Wed, Jan 22, 1997 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 103 95 11 27 W 1
39 Thu, Jan 23, 1997 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 104 111 11 28 L 1
40 Sat, Jan 25, 1997 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 81 92 11 29 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Tue, Jan 28, 1997 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 62 84 11 30 L 3
42 Thu, Jan 30, 1997 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 113 101 12 30 W 1
43 Sat, Feb 1, 1997 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 75 90 12 31 L 1
44 Sun, Feb 2, 1997 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 90 92 12 32 L 2
45 Tue, Feb 4, 1997 Box Score Vancouver Grizzlies W 111 105 13 32 W 1
46 Thu, Feb 6, 1997 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 100 104 13 33 L 1
47 Tue, Feb 11, 1997 Box Score @ Orlando Magic W 104 98 14 33 W 1
48 Wed, Feb 12, 1997 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 100 113 14 34 L 1
49 Fri, Feb 14, 1997 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 107 125 14 35 L 2 at Baltimore, MD
50 Sat, Feb 15, 1997 Box Score Washington Bullets W 107 86 15 35 W 1
51 Mon, Feb 17, 1997 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 101 108 15 36 L 1
52 Thu, Feb 20, 1997 Box Score Miami Heat L 87 92 15 37 L 2
53 Fri, Feb 21, 1997 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 84 98 15 38 L 3
54 Sun, Feb 23, 1997 Box Score Boston Celtics W 109 93 16 38 W 1
55 Tue, Feb 25, 1997 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 97 90 17 38 W 2
56 Fri, Feb 28, 1997 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 108 117 17 39 L 1
57 Mon, Mar 3, 1997 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 95 108 17 40 L 2
58 Tue, Mar 4, 1997 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 118 123 17 41 L 3
59 Thu, Mar 6, 1997 Box Score @ Vancouver Grizzlies W 102 96 18 41 W 1
60 Fri, Mar 7, 1997 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 90 109 18 42 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sun, Mar 9, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 105 115 18 43 L 2
62 Wed, Mar 12, 1997 Box Score Utah Jazz L 102 117 18 44 L 3
63 Fri, Mar 14, 1997 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 99 98 19 44 W 1
64 Sun, Mar 16, 1997 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 89 74 20 44 W 2
65 Tue, Mar 18, 1997 Box Score Houston Rockets L 89 97 20 45 L 1
66 Fri, Mar 21, 1997 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 110 112 20 46 L 2
67 Sun, Mar 23, 1997 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 100 91 21 46 W 1
68 Mon, Mar 24, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 84 109 21 47 L 1
69 Wed, Mar 26, 1997 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 123 105 22 47 W 1
70 Fri, Mar 28, 1997 Box Score New York Knicks W 92 86 23 47 W 2
71 Sat, Mar 29, 1997 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 101 111 23 48 L 1
72 Wed, Apr 2, 1997 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves L 89 94 23 49 L 2
73 Thu, Apr 3, 1997 Box Score Charlotte Hornets L 87 93 23 50 L 3
74 Sun, Apr 6, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers L 96 103 23 51 L 4
75 Tue, Apr 8, 1997 Box Score Miami Heat L 92 94 23 52 L 5
76 Thu, Apr 10, 1997 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 93 88 24 52 W 1
77 Fri, Apr 11, 1997 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 90 109 24 53 L 1
78 Sun, Apr 13, 1997 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 123 132 24 54 L 2
79 Tue, Apr 15, 1997 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 101 109 24 55 L 3
80 Wed, Apr 16, 1997 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 105 113 24 56 L 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 18, 1997 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 86 74 25 56 W 1
82 Sun, Apr 20, 1997 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 108 92 26 56 W 2