Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1953-54 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:Linkable Shot Charts

1953-54 New York Knicks Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 44-28, Finished 1st in NBA Eastern Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Joe Lapchick (44-28)

PTS/G: 79.0 (5th of 9) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 79.1 (6th of 9)
SRS: -0.17 (6th of 9) ▪ Pace: 87.4 (7th of 9)
Off Rtg: 89.3 (2nd of 9) ▪ Def Rtg: 89.4 (7th of 9)
Expected W-L: 36-36 (6th of 9)

Arena: Madison Square Garden (III) ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1954 Playoffs:
Eliminated in Eastern Division Round Robin

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sat, Oct 31, 1953 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W 91 67 1 0 W 1
2 Wed, Nov 4, 1953 Box Score N Milwaukee Hawks W 73 67 2 0 W 2 at Baltimore, MD
3 Fri, Nov 6, 1953 Box Score @ Milwaukee Hawks W 80 68 3 0 W 3
4 Sat, Nov 7, 1953 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 62 70 3 1 L 1
5 Sun, Nov 8, 1953 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons W 75 70 4 1 W 1
6 Thu, Nov 12, 1953 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 81 65 5 1 W 2
7 Sat, Nov 14, 1953 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 83 88 5 2 L 1
8 Sun, Nov 15, 1953 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 91 79 6 2 W 1
9 Wed, Nov 18, 1953 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors W 88 83 7 2 W 2 at Baltimore, MD
10 Thu, Nov 19, 1953 Box Score N Baltimore Bullets W 96 85 8 2 W 3 at Philadelphia, PA
11 Sat, Nov 21, 1953 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 68 67 9 2 W 4
12 Sun, Nov 22, 1953 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals W OT 84 80 10 2 W 5
13 Tue, Nov 24, 1953 Box Score N Boston Celtics W 103 92 11 2 W 6 at Philadelphia, PA
14 Wed, Nov 25, 1953 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 84 96 11 3 L 1
15 Sat, Nov 28, 1953 Box Score Rochester Royals W OT 95 90 12 3 W 1
16 Sun, Nov 29, 1953 Box Score @ Rochester Royals W 69 64 13 3 W 2
17 Thu, Dec 3, 1953 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors L 74 79 13 4 L 1
18 Sat, Dec 5, 1953 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons L 73 92 13 5 L 2
19 Thu, Dec 10, 1953 Box Score Boston Celtics L 2OT 108 113 13 6 L 3
20 Fri, Dec 11, 1953 Box Score @ Milwaukee Hawks L 70 82 13 7 L 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sat, Dec 12, 1953 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 67 71 13 8 L 5
22 Sun, Dec 13, 1953 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons W 69 68 14 8 W 1
23 Tue, Dec 15, 1953 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W OT 80 79 15 8 W 2
24 Sat, Dec 19, 1953 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 65 63 16 8 W 3
25 Sun, Dec 20, 1953 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 75 67 17 8 W 4
26 Fri, Dec 25, 1953 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 89 80 18 8 W 5
27 Sat, Dec 26, 1953 Box Score @ Rochester Royals W 78 77 19 8 W 6
28 Sun, Dec 27, 1953 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 79 76 20 8 W 7
29 Wed, Dec 30, 1953 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 79 86 20 9 L 1
30 Thu, Dec 31, 1953 Box Score Boston Celtics L 74 95 20 10 L 2
31 Sat, Jan 2, 1954 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 74 78 20 11 L 3
32 Sun, Jan 3, 1954 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons W 74 72 21 11 W 1
33 Thu, Jan 7, 1954 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 82 70 22 11 W 2
34 Sat, Jan 9, 1954 Box Score @ Rochester Royals W 88 87 23 11 W 3
35 Sun, Jan 10, 1954 Box Score Rochester Royals W 81 69 24 11 W 4
36 Wed, Jan 13, 1954 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals L 72 93 24 12 L 1 at Boston, MA
37 Thu, Jan 14, 1954 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 83 71 25 12 W 1
38 Sat, Jan 16, 1954 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W OT 88 82 26 12 W 2
39 Sun, Jan 17, 1954 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 2OT 87 84 27 12 W 3
40 Tue, Jan 19, 1954 Box Score @ Milwaukee Hawks W 78 75 28 12 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Fri, Jan 22, 1954 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors W 84 82 29 12 W 5 at New Haven, CT
42 Sat, Jan 23, 1954 Box Score Milwaukee Hawks W 75 63 30 12 W 6
43 Sun, Jan 24, 1954 Box Score N Milwaukee Hawks L 66 68 30 13 L 1 at Boston, MA
44 Tue, Jan 26, 1954 Box Score N Rochester Royals W 74 71 31 13 W 1 at Buffalo, NY
45 Thu, Jan 28, 1954 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 66 79 31 14 L 1
46 Sat, Jan 30, 1954 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 66 65 32 14 W 1
47 Sun, Jan 31, 1954 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 70 114 32 15 L 1
48 Wed, Feb 3, 1954 Box Score N Minneapolis Lakers L 79 91 32 16 L 2 at Boston, MA
49 Thu, Feb 4, 1954 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals L 82 90 32 17 L 3 at Philadelphia, PA
50 Sat, Feb 6, 1954 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 98 83 33 17 W 1
51 Sun, Feb 7, 1954 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 87 78 34 17 W 2
52 Wed, Feb 10, 1954 Box Score N Fort Wayne Pistons W 73 69 35 17 W 3 at Boston, MA
53 Thu, Feb 11, 1954 Box Score N Boston Celtics L OT 81 84 35 18 L 1 at Philadelphia, PA
54 Sat, Feb 13, 1954 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons L 73 79 35 19 L 2
55 Sun, Feb 14, 1954 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 89 103 35 20 L 3
56 Tue, Feb 16, 1954 Box Score Boston Celtics W 87 85 36 20 W 1
57 Wed, Feb 17, 1954 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 80 84 36 21 L 1
58 Thu, Feb 18, 1954 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 69 60 37 21 W 1
59 Sat, Feb 20, 1954 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors L 75 89 37 22 L 1
60 Sun, Feb 21, 1954 Box Score N Baltimore Bullets W 85 76 38 22 W 1 at Providence, RI
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Tue, Feb 23, 1954 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers L 82 100 38 23 L 1
62 Thu, Feb 25, 1954 Box Score N Fort Wayne Pistons L 62 82 38 24 L 2 at Miami Beach, FL
63 Sat, Feb 27, 1954 Box Score Milwaukee Hawks L 57 58 38 25 L 3
64 Sun, Feb 28, 1954 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L 78 83 38 26 L 4 at Providence, RI
65 Tue, Mar 2, 1954 Box Score Boston Celtics W 86 71 39 26 W 1
66 Wed, Mar 3, 1954 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors W 88 79 40 26 W 2 at White Plains, NY
67 Fri, Mar 5, 1954 Box Score N Rochester Royals W 70 66 41 26 W 3 at Boston, MA
68 Sun, Mar 7, 1954 Box Score Rochester Royals L 88 91 41 27 L 1
69 Tue, Mar 9, 1954 Box Score N Milwaukee Hawks W 72 65 42 27 W 1 at Indianapolis, IN
70 Wed, Mar 10, 1954 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers W 85 76 43 27 W 2
71 Sat, Mar 13, 1954 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 67 60 44 27 W 3
72 Sun, Mar 14, 1954 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 83 113 44 28 L 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Mar 16, 1954 Box Score Boston Celtics L 71 93 0 1 L 1 Round Robin
2 Thu, Mar 18, 1954 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 68 75 0 2 L 2 Round Robin
3 Sat, Mar 20, 1954 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 78 79 0 3 L 3 Round Robin
4 Sun, Mar 21, 1954 Box Score Syracuse Nationals L 99 103 0 4 L 4 Round Robin