Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1961-62 Schedule and Results

1961-62 New York Knicks Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 29-51, Finished 4th in NBA Eastern Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Eddie Donovan (29-51)

PTS/G: 114.8 (8th of 9) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 119.7 (6th of 9)
SRS: -3.98 (8th of 9) ▪ Pace: 125.6 (4th of 9)
Off Rtg: 91.2 (8th of 9) ▪ Def Rtg: 95.0 (6th of 9)
Expected W-L: 29-51 (8th of 9)

Arena: Madison Square Garden (III) ▪ Attendance: NA

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Oct 19, 1961 Box Score Chicago Packers W 120 103 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Oct 21, 1961 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors L 95 132 1 1 L 1
3 Tue, Oct 24, 1961 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 112 110 2 1 W 1
4 Thu, Oct 26, 1961 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 120 117 3 1 W 2
5 Sat, Oct 28, 1961 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 102 132 3 2 L 1
6 Tue, Oct 31, 1961 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals W 131 127 4 2 W 1 at St. Louis, MO
7 Wed, Nov 1, 1961 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 95 111 4 3 L 1
8 Fri, Nov 3, 1961 Box Score @ Chicago Packers L 118 129 4 4 L 2
9 Sat, Nov 4, 1961 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 111 112 4 5 L 3
10 Tue, Nov 7, 1961 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 98 123 4 6 L 4
11 Wed, Nov 8, 1961 Box Score N Chicago Packers W 130 108 5 6 W 1 at Detroit, MI
12 Fri, Nov 10, 1961 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 118 124 5 7 L 1
13 Sat, Nov 11, 1961 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 109 135 5 8 L 2
14 Tue, Nov 14, 1961 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 124 122 6 8 W 1
15 Wed, Nov 15, 1961 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals L 102 114 6 9 L 1 at Philadelphia, PA
16 Fri, Nov 17, 1961 Box Score Boston Celtics L 100 104 6 10 L 2
17 Tue, Nov 21, 1961 Box Score Chicago Packers L 107 109 6 11 L 3
18 Wed, Nov 22, 1961 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals W 110 109 7 11 W 1 at Boston, MA
19 Fri, Nov 24, 1961 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 89 100 7 12 L 1
20 Sat, Nov 25, 1961 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 96 116 7 13 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Tue, Nov 28, 1961 Box Score Cincinnati Royals L 117 131 7 14 L 3
22 Fri, Dec 1, 1961 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 118 100 8 14 W 1
23 Tue, Dec 5, 1961 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors L 105 122 8 15 L 1
24 Wed, Dec 6, 1961 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 97 133 8 16 L 2
25 Sat, Dec 9, 1961 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 91 102 8 17 L 3
26 Sun, Dec 10, 1961 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 94 134 8 18 L 4
27 Tue, Dec 12, 1961 Box Score Syracuse Nationals L 124 126 8 19 L 5
28 Wed, Dec 13, 1961 Box Score N Chicago Packers L 112 113 8 20 L 6 at Boston, MA
29 Fri, Dec 15, 1961 Box Score N St. Louis Hawks L 108 120 8 21 L 7 at Chicago, IL
30 Sun, Dec 17, 1961 Box Score Boston Celtics L 109 117 8 22 L 8
31 Tue, Dec 19, 1961 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 128 111 9 22 W 1
32 Thu, Dec 21, 1961 Box Score N Boston Celtics L 103 122 9 23 L 1 at Providence, RI
33 Sat, Dec 23, 1961 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 111 122 9 24 L 2
34 Mon, Dec 25, 1961 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 2OT 136 135 10 24 W 1
35 Wed, Dec 27, 1961 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors L 119 131 10 25 L 1
36 Fri, Dec 29, 1961 Box Score Boston Celtics W 110 100 11 25 W 1
37 Sat, Dec 30, 1961 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals W 123 119 12 25 W 2 at Philadelphia, PA
38 Tue, Jan 2, 1962 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 110 104 13 25 W 3
39 Wed, Jan 3, 1962 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals L 111 122 13 26 L 1 at Detroit, MI
40 Sat, Jan 6, 1962 Box Score N Detroit Pistons W 115 111 14 26 W 1 at Syracuse, NY
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sun, Jan 7, 1962 Box Score Syracuse Nationals L 116 123 14 27 L 1
42 Fri, Jan 12, 1962 Box Score N St. Louis Hawks W 128 126 15 27 W 1 at Boston, MA
43 Sun, Jan 14, 1962 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 118 141 15 28 L 1
44 Wed, Jan 17, 1962 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 121 129 15 29 L 2
45 Fri, Jan 19, 1962 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 107 108 15 30 L 3
46 Sun, Jan 21, 1962 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 113 124 15 31 L 4
47 Mon, Jan 22, 1962 Box Score N Chicago Packers W 131 94 16 31 W 1 at Moline, IL
48 Tue, Jan 23, 1962 Box Score Chicago Packers L 103 109 16 32 L 1
49 Thu, Jan 25, 1962 Box Score @ Chicago Packers W 117 102 17 32 W 1
50 Fri, Jan 26, 1962 Box Score Boston Celtics W 129 121 18 32 W 2
51 Sat, Jan 27, 1962 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 107 115 18 33 L 1
52 Tue, Jan 30, 1962 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 116 110 19 33 W 1
53 Wed, Jan 31, 1962 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 109 138 19 34 L 1
54 Fri, Feb 2, 1962 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L 116 129 19 35 L 2 at Boston, MA
55 Sat, Feb 3, 1962 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 121 110 20 35 W 1
56 Sun, Feb 4, 1962 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 114 130 20 36 L 1
57 Tue, Feb 6, 1962 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 116 112 21 36 W 1
58 Thu, Feb 8, 1962 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L 120 136 21 37 L 1 at Syracuse, NY
59 Fri, Feb 9, 1962 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 120 111 22 37 W 1
60 Sat, Feb 10, 1962 Box Score N Chicago Packers L 111 126 22 38 L 1 at Philadelphia, PA
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sun, Feb 11, 1962 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors L 111 121 22 39 L 2
62 Wed, Feb 14, 1962 Box Score Boston Celtics W 125 112 23 39 W 1
63 Fri, Feb 16, 1962 Box Score N Boston Celtics L 104 127 23 40 L 1 at Philadelphia, PA
64 Sat, Feb 17, 1962 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 121 128 23 41 L 2
65 Sun, Feb 18, 1962 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 126 141 23 42 L 3
66 Tue, Feb 20, 1962 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 110 103 24 42 W 1
67 Thu, Feb 22, 1962 Box Score N Los Angeles Lakers L 116 118 24 43 L 1 at Philadelphia, PA
68 Fri, Feb 23, 1962 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 130 118 25 43 W 1
69 Sat, Feb 24, 1962 Box Score N Syracuse Nationals L 117 120 25 44 L 1 at Utica, NY
70 Sun, Feb 25, 1962 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 149 135 26 44 W 1
71 Tue, Feb 27, 1962 Box Score Syracuse Nationals L 120 130 26 45 L 1
72 Wed, Feb 28, 1962 Box Score N Detroit Pistons W 119 109 27 45 W 1 at Chicago, IL
73 Fri, Mar 2, 1962 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L 147 169 27 46 L 1 at Hershey, PA
74 Sun, Mar 4, 1962 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors L 128 129 27 47 L 2
75 Tue, Mar 6, 1962 Box Score Boston Celtics W 113 106 28 47 W 1
76 Wed, Mar 7, 1962 Box Score N Detroit Pistons L 112 119 28 48 L 1 at Boston, MA
77 Fri, Mar 9, 1962 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 122 100 29 48 W 1
78 Sat, Mar 10, 1962 Box Score @ Chicago Packers L 116 128 29 49 L 1
79 Mon, Mar 12, 1962 Box Score N Los Angeles Lakers L 106 119 29 50 L 2 at Seattle, WA
80 Wed, Mar 14, 1962 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 134 136 29 51 L 3