Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > New York Knicks > 1971-72 Schedule and Results

1971-72 New York Knicks Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 48-34, Finished 2nd in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Red Holzman (48-34)

PTS/G: 107.1 (13th of 17) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 104.7 (3rd of 17)
SRS: 2.28 (6th of 17) ▪ Pace: 108.0 (17th of 17)
Off Rtg: 98.5 (7th of 17) ▪ Def Rtg: 96.3 (6th of 17)
Expected W-L: 48-34 (6th of 17)

Arena: Madison Square Garden (IV) ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1972 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Finals (4-1) versus Los Angeles Lakers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Finals (4-1) versus Boston Celtics  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Semifinals (4-2) versus Baltimore Bullets  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Oct 12, 1971 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 84 91 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Oct 16, 1971 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 104 119 0 2 L 2
3 Sun, Oct 17, 1971 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W OT 121 120 1 2 W 1
4 Tue, Oct 19, 1971 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 93 84 2 2 W 2
5 Fri, Oct 22, 1971 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 110 87 3 2 W 3
6 Sat, Oct 23, 1971 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 89 95 3 3 L 1
7 Tue, Oct 26, 1971 Box Score Boston Celtics W 106 101 4 3 W 1
8 Wed, Oct 27, 1971 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 96 110 4 4 L 1
9 Thu, Oct 28, 1971 Box Score Houston Rockets W 112 94 5 4 W 1
10 Sat, Oct 30, 1971 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 101 108 5 5 L 1
11 Wed, Nov 3, 1971 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 117 98 6 5 W 1
12 Fri, Nov 5, 1971 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 97 101 6 6 L 1
13 Sun, Nov 7, 1971 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 96 103 6 7 L 2
14 Wed, Nov 10, 1971 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 85 99 6 8 L 3
15 Thu, Nov 11, 1971 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 103 112 6 9 L 4
16 Sat, Nov 13, 1971 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 127 105 7 9 W 1
17 Tue, Nov 16, 1971 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 112 111 8 9 W 2
18 Sat, Nov 20, 1971 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 125 114 9 9 W 3
19 Tue, Nov 23, 1971 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 125 110 10 9 W 4
20 Wed, Nov 24, 1971 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 114 94 11 9 W 5
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Nov 26, 1971 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 104 89 12 9 W 6
22 Sat, Nov 27, 1971 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 100 99 13 9 W 7
23 Tue, Nov 30, 1971 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 109 110 13 10 L 1
24 Fri, Dec 3, 1971 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 96 122 13 11 L 2
25 Sat, Dec 4, 1971 Box Score Buffalo Braves W 130 90 14 11 W 1
26 Tue, Dec 7, 1971 Box Score Boston Celtics L 97 105 14 12 L 1
27 Sat, Dec 11, 1971 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 134 102 15 12 W 1
28 Sun, Dec 12, 1971 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 103 92 16 12 W 2
29 Tue, Dec 14, 1971 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 100 110 16 13 L 1
30 Fri, Dec 17, 1971 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves W 115 95 17 13 W 1
31 Sat, Dec 18, 1971 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 104 84 18 13 W 2
32 Tue, Dec 21, 1971 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 113 87 19 13 W 3 at Oakland, CA
33 Wed, Dec 22, 1971 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 120 104 20 13 W 4
34 Thu, Dec 23, 1971 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 120 117 21 13 W 5
35 Sat, Dec 25, 1971 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 114 89 22 13 W 6
36 Tue, Dec 28, 1971 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 119 100 23 13 W 7
37 Thu, Dec 30, 1971 Box Score Baltimore Bullets L 102 110 23 14 L 1
38 Sat, Jan 1, 1972 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 104 94 24 14 W 1
39 Mon, Jan 3, 1972 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 101 99 25 14 W 2
40 Tue, Jan 4, 1972 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 100 121 25 15 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Fri, Jan 7, 1972 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 113 117 25 16 L 2
42 Sat, Jan 8, 1972 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 108 113 25 17 L 3
43 Tue, Jan 11, 1972 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 91 116 25 18 L 4
44 Fri, Jan 14, 1972 Box Score N Golden State Warriors L 111 115 25 19 L 5 at San Diego, CA
45 Sun, Jan 16, 1972 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 109 108 26 19 W 1
46 Thu, Jan 20, 1972 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 109 130 26 20 L 1
47 Fri, Jan 21, 1972 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 104 101 27 20 W 1
48 Sun, Jan 23, 1972 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 101 99 28 20 W 2
49 Tue, Jan 25, 1972 Box Score Boston Celtics W 109 106 29 20 W 3
50 Fri, Jan 28, 1972 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L OT 116 122 29 21 L 1
51 Sat, Jan 29, 1972 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 110 106 30 21 W 1
52 Tue, Feb 1, 1972 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 115 106 31 21 W 2
53 Wed, Feb 2, 1972 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 105 116 31 22 L 1
54 Fri, Feb 4, 1972 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves W 103 84 32 22 W 1
55 Sat, Feb 5, 1972 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 112 104 33 22 W 2
56 Sun, Feb 6, 1972 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 109 107 34 22 W 3
57 Tue, Feb 8, 1972 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 102 107 34 23 L 1
58 Wed, Feb 9, 1972 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 126 102 35 23 W 1
59 Fri, Feb 11, 1972 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 113 107 36 23 W 2
60 Sat, Feb 12, 1972 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 106 91 37 23 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Wed, Feb 16, 1972 Box Score Houston Rockets W 110 100 38 23 W 4
62 Thu, Feb 17, 1972 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W OT 102 99 39 23 W 5
63 Sat, Feb 19, 1972 Box Score Buffalo Braves W 100 95 40 23 W 6
64 Sun, Feb 20, 1972 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 109 111 40 24 L 1
65 Tue, Feb 22, 1972 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 122 105 41 24 W 1
66 Sat, Feb 26, 1972 Box Score Baltimore Bullets L 97 104 41 25 L 1
67 Sun, Feb 27, 1972 Box Score N Baltimore Bullets W OT 97 95 42 25 W 1 at College Park, MD
68 Tue, Feb 29, 1972 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 111 114 42 26 L 1
69 Fri, Mar 3, 1972 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves L 97 105 42 27 L 2
70 Sat, Mar 4, 1972 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W OT 118 115 43 27 W 1
71 Sun, Mar 5, 1972 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 98 100 43 28 L 1
72 Tue, Mar 7, 1972 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 110 101 44 28 W 1
73 Sat, Mar 11, 1972 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 106 110 44 29 L 1
74 Sun, Mar 12, 1972 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 109 112 44 30 L 2
75 Tue, Mar 14, 1972 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 115 107 45 30 W 1
76 Thu, Mar 16, 1972 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 103 102 46 30 W 2
77 Fri, Mar 17, 1972 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 106 111 46 31 L 1
78 Sat, Mar 18, 1972 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 86 133 46 32 L 2
79 Wed, Mar 22, 1972 Box Score Buffalo Braves W 123 99 47 32 W 1
80 Fri, Mar 24, 1972 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 88 131 47 33 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Sat, Mar 25, 1972 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 98 83 48 33 W 1
82 Sun, Mar 26, 1972 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 106 120 48 34 L 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Mar 31, 1972 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L OT 105 108 0 1 L 1
2 Sun, Apr 2, 1972 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 110 88 1 1 W 1
3 Tue, Apr 4, 1972 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 103 104 1 2 L 1
4 Thu, Apr 6, 1972 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 104 98 2 2 W 1
5 Sun, Apr 9, 1972 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 106 82 3 2 W 2
6 Tue, Apr 11, 1972 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 107 101 4 2 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
7 Thu, Apr 13, 1972 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 116 94 5 2 W 4
8 Sun, Apr 16, 1972 Box Score Boston Celtics W 106 105 6 2 W 5
9 Wed, Apr 19, 1972 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 109 115 6 3 L 1
10 Fri, Apr 21, 1972 Box Score Boston Celtics W 116 98 7 3 W 1
11 Sun, Apr 23, 1972 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 111 103 8 3 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
12 Wed, Apr 26, 1972 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 114 92 9 3 W 3
13 Sun, Apr 30, 1972 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 92 106 9 4 L 1
14 Wed, May 3, 1972 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 96 107 9 5 L 2
15 Fri, May 5, 1972 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L OT 111 116 9 6 L 3
16 Sun, May 7, 1972 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 100 114 9 7 L 4