Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978-79 Schedule and Results

1978-79 New York Knicks Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 31-51, Finished 4th in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Willis Reed (6-8), Red Holzman (25-43)

PTS/G: 107.7 (18th of 22) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 111.1 (13th of 22)
SRS: -3.29 (17th of 22) ▪ Pace: 104.9 (15th of 22)
Off Rtg: 102.2 (16th of 22) ▪ Def Rtg: 105.4 (17th of 22)
Expected W-L: 32-50 (17th of 22)

Arena: Madison Square Garden (IV) ▪ Attendance: NA

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 13, 1978 Box Score Houston Rockets L 107 111 0 1 L 1
2 Tue, Oct 17, 1978 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 109 120 0 2 L 2
3 Fri, Oct 20, 1978 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 115 105 1 2 W 1
4 Sat, Oct 21, 1978 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 109 108 2 2 W 2
5 Tue, Oct 24, 1978 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 113 109 3 2 W 3
6 Wed, Oct 25, 1978 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 101 106 3 3 L 1
7 Thu, Oct 26, 1978 Box Score @ New Orleans Jazz L 111 123 3 4 L 2
8 Sat, Oct 28, 1978 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 111 106 4 4 W 1
9 Tue, Oct 31, 1978 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 108 120 4 5 L 1
10 Thu, Nov 2, 1978 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 127 122 5 5 W 1
11 Fri, Nov 3, 1978 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 124 147 5 6 L 1
12 Sun, Nov 5, 1978 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 96 111 5 7 L 2
13 Wed, Nov 8, 1978 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 104 100 6 7 W 1
14 Thu, Nov 9, 1978 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 109 116 6 8 L 1
15 Sat, Nov 11, 1978 Box Score Boston Celtics W 111 98 7 8 W 1
16 Tue, Nov 14, 1978 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 106 100 8 8 W 2
17 Thu, Nov 16, 1978 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 97 93 9 8 W 3
18 Sat, Nov 18, 1978 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 102 100 10 8 W 4
19 Tue, Nov 21, 1978 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 96 79 11 8 W 5
20 Fri, Nov 24, 1978 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 98 109 11 9 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sat, Nov 25, 1978 Box Score New Orleans Jazz W 103 96 12 9 W 1
22 Tue, Nov 28, 1978 Box Score Washington Bullets L 106 133 12 10 L 1
23 Wed, Nov 29, 1978 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 99 101 12 11 L 2
24 Thu, Nov 30, 1978 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L OT 96 102 12 12 L 3
25 Sat, Dec 2, 1978 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 111 77 13 12 W 1
26 Tue, Dec 5, 1978 Box Score Kansas City Kings L 92 105 13 13 L 1
27 Sat, Dec 9, 1978 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 96 101 13 14 L 2
28 Tue, Dec 12, 1978 Box Score San Diego Clippers L 103 105 13 15 L 3
29 Wed, Dec 13, 1978 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 109 139 13 16 L 4
30 Fri, Dec 15, 1978 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 118 94 14 16 W 1
31 Sun, Dec 17, 1978 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 111 105 15 16 W 2
32 Tue, Dec 19, 1978 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 130 102 16 16 W 3
33 Wed, Dec 20, 1978 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 112 121 16 17 L 1
34 Sat, Dec 23, 1978 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 107 129 16 18 L 2
35 Mon, Dec 25, 1978 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 94 109 16 19 L 3
36 Wed, Dec 27, 1978 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 115 104 17 19 W 1
37 Thu, Dec 28, 1978 Box Score Washington Bullets W 109 99 18 19 W 2
38 Sat, Dec 30, 1978 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 112 108 19 19 W 3
39 Tue, Jan 2, 1979 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 102 114 19 20 L 1
40 Thu, Jan 4, 1979 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 103 117 19 21 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sat, Jan 6, 1979 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 108 105 20 21 W 1
42 Tue, Jan 9, 1979 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 94 106 20 22 L 1
43 Fri, Jan 12, 1979 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 119 126 20 23 L 2
44 Sun, Jan 14, 1979 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 104 124 20 24 L 3
45 Tue, Jan 16, 1979 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 111 110 21 24 W 1
46 Fri, Jan 19, 1979 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 105 101 22 24 W 2
47 Sun, Jan 21, 1979 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 114 138 22 25 L 1
48 Tue, Jan 23, 1979 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 124 148 22 26 L 2
49 Wed, Jan 24, 1979 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 123 126 22 27 L 3
50 Fri, Jan 26, 1979 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 107 108 22 28 L 4
51 Sun, Jan 28, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 105 122 22 29 L 5
52 Mon, Jan 29, 1979 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 104 107 22 30 L 6
53 Wed, Jan 31, 1979 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 108 86 23 30 W 1
54 Fri, Feb 2, 1979 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 105 101 24 30 W 2
55 Tue, Feb 6, 1979 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 108 99 25 30 W 3
56 Wed, Feb 7, 1979 Box Score @ New Orleans Jazz L OT 123 125 25 31 L 1
57 Sat, Feb 10, 1979 Box Score Boston Celtics L 102 106 25 32 L 2
58 Sun, Feb 11, 1979 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 102 107 25 33 L 3
59 Wed, Feb 14, 1979 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 97 106 25 34 L 4
60 Fri, Feb 16, 1979 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 104 107 25 35 L 5
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sat, Feb 17, 1979 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 117 127 25 36 L 6
62 Tue, Feb 20, 1979 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 107 117 25 37 L 7
63 Sat, Feb 24, 1979 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 111 107 26 37 W 1
64 Sun, Feb 25, 1979 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 102 116 26 38 L 1
65 Tue, Feb 27, 1979 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 101 99 27 38 W 1
66 Wed, Feb 28, 1979 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 112 135 27 39 L 1
67 Sat, Mar 3, 1979 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 111 108 28 39 W 1
68 Tue, Mar 6, 1979 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 110 118 28 40 L 1
69 Sat, Mar 10, 1979 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 110 111 28 41 L 2
70 Tue, Mar 13, 1979 Box Score New Orleans Jazz W 104 91 29 41 W 1
71 Thu, Mar 15, 1979 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 83 88 29 42 L 1
72 Sat, Mar 17, 1979 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 103 101 30 42 W 1
73 Sun, Mar 18, 1979 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 90 106 30 43 L 1
74 Tue, Mar 20, 1979 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 118 110 31 43 W 1
75 Wed, Mar 21, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 106 119 31 44 L 1
76 Sat, Mar 24, 1979 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 2OT 143 148 31 45 L 2
77 Tue, Mar 27, 1979 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 112 123 31 46 L 3
78 Wed, Mar 28, 1979 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 105 111 31 47 L 4
79 Fri, Mar 30, 1979 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 98 114 31 48 L 5
80 Sun, Apr 1, 1979 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 116 126 31 49 L 6
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Tue, Apr 3, 1979 Box Score Houston Rockets L 115 116 31 50 L 7
82 Thu, Apr 5, 1979 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 107 114 31 51 L 8