Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1980-81 Schedule and Results

1980-81 New York Knicks Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 50-32, Finished 3rd in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Red Holzman (50-32)

PTS/G: 107.9 (12th of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 106.3 (9th of 23)
SRS: 2.00 (8th of 23) ▪ Pace: 101.0 (12th of 23)
Off Rtg: 106.0 (12th of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 104.4 (8th of 23)
Expected W-L: 45-37 (8th of 23)

Arena: Madison Square Garden (IV) ▪ Attendance: 544,641 (3rd of 23)

NBA 1981 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Conference First Round (0-2) versus Chicago Bulls  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sat, Oct 11, 1980 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 114 109 1 0 W 1
2 Tue, Oct 14, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 113 93 2 0 W 2
3 Fri, Oct 17, 1980 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 101 113 2 1 L 1
4 Tue, Oct 21, 1980 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 105 97 3 1 W 1
5 Thu, Oct 23, 1980 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W OT 109 107 4 1 W 2 at Hartford, CT
6 Sat, Oct 25, 1980 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 105 101 5 1 W 3
7 Wed, Oct 29, 1980 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 95 102 5 2 L 1
8 Thu, Oct 30, 1980 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W OT 116 115 6 2 W 1
9 Sat, Nov 1, 1980 Box Score Washington Bullets W 111 93 7 2 W 2
10 Wed, Nov 5, 1980 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 102 111 7 3 L 1
11 Fri, Nov 7, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 124 115 8 3 W 1
12 Sat, Nov 8, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 109 102 9 3 W 2
13 Tue, Nov 11, 1980 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 149 118 10 3 W 3
14 Wed, Nov 12, 1980 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 125 113 11 3 W 4
15 Fri, Nov 14, 1980 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 106 125 11 4 L 1
16 Sat, Nov 15, 1980 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 100 95 12 4 W 1
17 Tue, Nov 18, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 99 113 12 5 L 1
18 Fri, Nov 21, 1980 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 121 130 12 6 L 2
19 Sat, Nov 22, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 110 116 12 7 L 3
20 Mon, Nov 24, 1980 Box Score Houston Rockets W OT 113 110 13 7 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Wed, Nov 26, 1980 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W OT 119 113 14 7 W 2
22 Fri, Nov 28, 1980 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 106 120 14 8 L 1
23 Sat, Nov 29, 1980 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 111 110 15 8 W 1
24 Tue, Dec 2, 1980 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 96 113 15 9 L 1
25 Wed, Dec 3, 1980 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 98 104 15 10 L 2
26 Sat, Dec 6, 1980 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 104 94 16 10 W 1
27 Tue, Dec 9, 1980 Box Score Washington Bullets W 107 104 17 10 W 2
28 Wed, Dec 10, 1980 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 106 104 18 10 W 3
29 Thu, Dec 11, 1980 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 107 119 18 11 L 1
30 Sat, Dec 13, 1980 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 100 94 19 11 W 1
31 Tue, Dec 16, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz W 112 97 20 11 W 2
32 Wed, Dec 17, 1980 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 119 103 21 11 W 3
33 Fri, Dec 19, 1980 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 102 96 22 11 W 4
34 Sat, Dec 20, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 120 114 23 11 W 5
35 Tue, Dec 23, 1980 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 114 117 23 12 L 1
36 Thu, Dec 25, 1980 Box Score Boston Celtics L 108 117 23 13 L 2
37 Sat, Dec 27, 1980 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 100 99 24 13 W 1
38 Tue, Dec 30, 1980 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 100 98 25 13 W 2
39 Fri, Jan 2, 1981 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 100 102 25 14 L 1
40 Sat, Jan 3, 1981 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 131 95 26 14 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Tue, Jan 6, 1981 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 108 113 26 15 L 1
42 Thu, Jan 8, 1981 Box Score Indiana Pacers L OT 115 116 26 16 L 2
43 Sat, Jan 10, 1981 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 104 99 27 16 W 1
44 Tue, Jan 13, 1981 Box Score Boston Celtics L 89 93 27 17 L 1
45 Wed, Jan 14, 1981 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 105 116 27 18 L 2
46 Fri, Jan 16, 1981 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 110 118 27 19 L 3
47 Sat, Jan 17, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 99 98 28 19 W 1
48 Tue, Jan 20, 1981 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 98 97 29 19 W 2
49 Thu, Jan 22, 1981 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 100 93 30 19 W 3
50 Fri, Jan 23, 1981 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 90 117 30 20 L 1
51 Sat, Jan 24, 1981 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 110 117 30 21 L 2
52 Mon, Jan 26, 1981 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 94 99 30 22 L 3
53 Thu, Jan 29, 1981 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 114 111 31 22 W 1
54 Tue, Feb 3, 1981 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 101 98 32 22 W 2
55 Fri, Feb 6, 1981 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 112 94 33 22 W 3
56 Sat, Feb 7, 1981 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 113 106 34 22 W 4
57 Sun, Feb 8, 1981 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 116 102 35 22 W 5
58 Thu, Feb 12, 1981 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 122 111 36 22 W 6
59 Fri, Feb 13, 1981 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 120 92 37 22 W 7
60 Sun, Feb 15, 1981 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 115 101 38 22 W 8
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Tue, Feb 17, 1981 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 87 96 38 23 L 1
62 Wed, Feb 18, 1981 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 105 103 39 23 W 1
63 Fri, Feb 20, 1981 Box Score Washington Bullets W 124 112 40 23 W 2
64 Sun, Feb 22, 1981 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 93 96 40 24 L 1
65 Tue, Feb 24, 1981 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W OT 120 117 41 24 W 1
66 Wed, Feb 25, 1981 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 105 120 41 25 L 1
67 Sat, Feb 28, 1981 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 97 101 41 26 L 2
68 Tue, Mar 3, 1981 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 93 100 41 27 L 3
69 Thu, Mar 5, 1981 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 104 101 42 27 W 1
70 Fri, Mar 6, 1981 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 111 122 42 28 L 1
71 Sun, Mar 8, 1981 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 94 115 42 29 L 2
72 Wed, Mar 11, 1981 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 95 115 42 30 L 3
73 Fri, Mar 13, 1981 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 127 117 43 30 W 1
74 Sun, Mar 15, 1981 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 120 109 44 30 W 2
75 Tue, Mar 17, 1981 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 114 89 45 30 W 3
76 Wed, Mar 18, 1981 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 116 103 46 30 W 4
77 Fri, Mar 20, 1981 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 110 107 47 30 W 5
78 Sat, Mar 21, 1981 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 119 105 48 30 W 6
79 Tue, Mar 24, 1981 Box Score Boston Celtics L 116 118 48 31 L 1
80 Wed, Mar 25, 1981 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 84 105 48 32 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Sat, Mar 28, 1981 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 90 88 49 32 W 1
82 Sun, Mar 29, 1981 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 103 95 50 32 W 2

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Mar 31, 1981 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 80 90 0 1 L 1
2 Fri, Apr 3, 1981 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L OT 114 115 0 2 L 2