Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1997-98 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:Linkable Shot Charts

1997-98 New York Knicks Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 43-39, Finished 2nd in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Jeff Van Gundy (43-39)

PTS/G: 91.6 (25th of 29) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 89.1 (2nd of 29)
SRS: 2.74 (11th of 29) ▪ Pace: 88.2 (25th of 29)
Off Rtg: 103.0 (20th of 29) ▪ Def Rtg: 100.3 (4th of 29)
Expected W-L: 49-33 (11th of 29)

Arena: Madison Square Garden (IV) ▪ Attendance: 810,283 (5th of 29)

NBA 1998 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Conference Semifinals (1-4) versus Indiana Pacers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference First Round (2-3) versus Miami Heat  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 31, 1997 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets W 97 85 1 0 W 1
2 Sun, Nov 2, 1997 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 86 94 1 1 L 1
3 Tue, Nov 4, 1997 Box Score Boston Celtics W 102 70 2 1 W 1
4 Thu, Nov 6, 1997 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 105 75 3 1 W 2
5 Fri, Nov 7, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 94 99 3 2 L 1
6 Sun, Nov 9, 1997 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 78 86 3 3 L 2
7 Tue, Nov 11, 1997 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 93 90 4 3 W 1
8 Wed, Nov 12, 1997 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors W 93 70 5 3 W 2
9 Sat, Nov 15, 1997 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 114 87 6 3 W 3
10 Tue, Nov 18, 1997 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 84 95 6 4 L 1
11 Thu, Nov 20, 1997 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 100 79 7 4 W 1
12 Fri, Nov 21, 1997 Box Score @ Washington Wizards W 104 82 8 4 W 2 at Landover, MD
13 Sun, Nov 23, 1997 Box Score Vancouver Grizzlies W 104 84 9 4 W 3
14 Fri, Nov 28, 1997 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 78 86 9 5 L 1
15 Sat, Nov 29, 1997 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 102 80 10 5 W 1
16 Tue, Dec 2, 1997 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 84 90 10 6 L 1
17 Thu, Dec 4, 1997 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 91 105 10 7 L 2
18 Sat, Dec 6, 1997 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 90 79 11 7 W 1
19 Sun, Dec 7, 1997 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 78 93 11 8 L 1
20 Tue, Dec 9, 1997 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 82 100 11 9 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Thu, Dec 11, 1997 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W 107 103 12 9 W 1
22 Sat, Dec 13, 1997 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 95 83 13 9 W 2
23 Tue, Dec 16, 1997 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 83 78 14 9 W 3
24 Wed, Dec 17, 1997 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 80 87 14 10 L 1
25 Fri, Dec 19, 1997 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 104 77 15 10 W 1
26 Sat, Dec 20, 1997 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 78 98 15 11 L 1
27 Mon, Dec 22, 1997 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 79 67 16 11 W 1
28 Sat, Dec 27, 1997 Box Score Toronto Raptors L 94 97 16 12 L 1
29 Tue, Dec 30, 1997 Box Score @ Orlando Magic W 84 79 17 12 W 1
30 Fri, Jan 2, 1998 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 98 103 17 13 L 1
31 Sat, Jan 3, 1998 Box Score Orlando Magic W 88 84 18 13 W 1
32 Mon, Jan 5, 1998 Box Score Washington Wizards L 106 113 18 14 L 1
33 Wed, Jan 7, 1998 Box Score New Jersey Nets W OT 89 88 19 14 W 1
34 Fri, Jan 9, 1998 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 89 90 19 15 L 1
35 Sun, Jan 11, 1998 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 92 91 20 15 W 1
36 Tue, Jan 13, 1998 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 89 91 20 16 L 1
37 Sat, Jan 17, 1998 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors W 93 82 21 16 W 1
38 Mon, Jan 19, 1998 Box Score Boston Celtics W 98 82 22 16 W 2
39 Wed, Jan 21, 1998 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 97 89 23 16 W 3
40 Sat, Jan 24, 1998 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 99 92 24 16 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Mon, Jan 26, 1998 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 85 94 24 17 L 1
42 Wed, Jan 28, 1998 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 82 86 24 18 L 2
43 Thu, Jan 29, 1998 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L OT 112 115 24 19 L 3
44 Sun, Feb 1, 1998 Box Score Miami Heat W 89 83 25 19 W 1
45 Tue, Feb 3, 1998 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 78 82 25 20 L 1
46 Wed, Feb 4, 1998 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves L 88 95 25 21 L 2
47 Tue, Feb 10, 1998 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 99 91 26 21 W 1
48 Fri, Feb 13, 1998 Box Score @ Orlando Magic W 99 83 27 21 W 2
49 Sun, Feb 15, 1998 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 102 91 28 21 W 3
50 Tue, Feb 17, 1998 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 91 77 29 21 W 4
51 Wed, Feb 18, 1998 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 78 94 29 22 L 1
52 Fri, Feb 20, 1998 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 98 89 30 22 W 1
53 Sun, Feb 22, 1998 Box Score Houston Rockets W 92 74 31 22 W 2
54 Tue, Feb 24, 1998 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 82 87 31 23 L 1
55 Thu, Feb 26, 1998 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 102 90 32 23 W 1
56 Sun, Mar 1, 1998 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 101 89 33 23 W 2
57 Tue, Mar 3, 1998 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 94 91 34 23 W 3
58 Thu, Mar 5, 1998 Box Score @ Washington Wizards L 90 103 34 24 L 1
59 Fri, Mar 6, 1998 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 71 80 34 25 L 2
60 Sun, Mar 8, 1998 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 89 102 34 26 L 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Tue, Mar 10, 1998 Box Score Orlando Magic W 85 78 35 26 W 1
62 Wed, Mar 11, 1998 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 78 85 35 27 L 1
63 Sat, Mar 14, 1998 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L OT 85 88 35 28 L 2
64 Sun, Mar 15, 1998 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 86 91 35 29 L 3
65 Tue, Mar 17, 1998 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 100 96 36 29 W 1
66 Thu, Mar 19, 1998 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 77 82 36 30 L 1
67 Fri, Mar 20, 1998 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 109 108 37 30 W 1
68 Sun, Mar 22, 1998 Box Score Utah Jazz L 2OT 119 124 37 31 L 1
69 Tue, Mar 24, 1998 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 88 75 38 31 W 1
70 Wed, Mar 25, 1998 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 77 76 39 31 W 2
71 Fri, Mar 27, 1998 Box Score @ Vancouver Grizzlies W OT 97 89 40 31 W 3
72 Sat, Mar 28, 1998 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 78 104 40 32 L 1
73 Tue, Mar 31, 1998 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 78 95 40 33 L 2
74 Thu, Apr 2, 1998 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 81 70 41 33 W 1
75 Sat, Apr 4, 1998 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 94 97 41 34 L 1
76 Sun, Apr 5, 1998 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 92 102 41 35 L 2
77 Tue, Apr 7, 1998 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 79 92 41 36 L 3
78 Wed, Apr 8, 1998 Box Score Miami Heat W 83 80 42 36 W 1
79 Sun, Apr 12, 1998 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 81 82 42 37 L 1
80 Tue, Apr 14, 1998 Box Score Washington Wizards L 102 104 42 38 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Thu, Apr 16, 1998 Box Score Toronto Raptors W 108 79 43 38 W 1
82 Sat, Apr 18, 1998 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 109 111 43 39 L 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Apr 24, 1998 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 79 94 0 1 L 1
2 Sun, Apr 26, 1998 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 96 86 1 1 W 1
3 Tue, Apr 28, 1998 Box Score Miami Heat L 85 91 1 2 L 1
4 Thu, Apr 30, 1998 Box Score Miami Heat W 90 85 2 2 W 1
5 Sun, May 3, 1998 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 98 81 3 2 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
6 Tue, May 5, 1998 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 83 93 3 3 L 1
7 Thu, May 7, 1998 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 77 85 3 4 L 2
8 Sat, May 9, 1998 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 83 76 4 4 W 1
9 Sun, May 10, 1998 Box Score Indiana Pacers L OT 107 118 4 5 L 1
10 Wed, May 13, 1998 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 88 99 4 6 L 2