Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1998-99 Schedule and Results

1998-99 New York Knicks Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 27-23, Finished 4th in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Jeff Van Gundy (27-23)

PTS/G: 86.4 (27th of 29) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 85.4 (4th of 29)
SRS: 1.45 (13th of 29) ▪ Pace: 86.9 (24th of 29)
Off Rtg: 98.6 (26th of 29) ▪ Def Rtg: 97.5 (4th of 29)
Expected W-L: 27-23 (14th of 29)

Arena: Madison Square Garden (IV) ▪ Attendance: 494,075 (3rd of 29)

NBA 1999 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Finals (1-4) versus San Antonio Spurs  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Finals (2-4) versus Indiana Pacers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Semifinals (0-4) versus Atlanta Hawks  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference First Round (2-3) versus Miami Heat  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Feb 5, 1999 Box Score @ Orlando Magic L 85 93 0 1 L 1
2 Sun, Feb 7, 1999 Box Score Miami Heat L 79 83 0 2 L 2
3 Wed, Feb 10, 1999 Box Score Washington Wizards W 101 88 1 2 W 1
4 Thu, Feb 11, 1999 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 73 68 2 2 W 2
5 Mon, Feb 15, 1999 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 78 69 3 2 W 3
6 Tue, Feb 16, 1999 Box Score Toronto Raptors W 95 85 4 2 W 4
7 Thu, Feb 18, 1999 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 74 98 4 3 L 1
8 Fri, Feb 19, 1999 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 78 67 5 3 W 1
9 Sun, Feb 21, 1999 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 79 63 6 3 W 2
10 Tue, Feb 23, 1999 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 82 74 7 3 W 3
11 Thu, Feb 25, 1999 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W OT 115 113 8 3 W 4
12 Fri, Feb 26, 1999 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 80 94 8 4 L 1
13 Sun, Feb 28, 1999 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 68 89 8 5 L 2
14 Mon, Mar 1, 1999 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 85 78 9 5 W 1
15 Tue, Mar 2, 1999 Box Score @ Miami Heat L OT 84 85 9 6 L 1
16 Fri, Mar 5, 1999 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 87 88 9 7 L 2
17 Sun, Mar 7, 1999 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 97 86 10 7 W 1
18 Tue, Mar 9, 1999 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 86 87 10 8 L 1
19 Thu, Mar 11, 1999 Box Score Washington Wizards W 98 86 11 8 W 1
20 Fri, Mar 12, 1999 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 63 76 11 9 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sun, Mar 14, 1999 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 94 86 12 9 W 1
22 Mon, Mar 15, 1999 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 108 102 13 9 W 2
23 Tue, Mar 16, 1999 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 113 89 14 9 W 3
24 Thu, Mar 18, 1999 Box Score Orlando Magic L 78 86 14 10 L 1
25 Sat, Mar 20, 1999 Box Score Boston Celtics W 96 78 15 10 W 1
26 Sun, Mar 21, 1999 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors L OT 81 85 15 11 L 1
27 Mon, Mar 22, 1999 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 71 80 15 12 L 2
28 Wed, Mar 24, 1999 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 91 92 15 13 L 3
29 Fri, Mar 26, 1999 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 94 87 16 13 W 1
30 Sun, Mar 28, 1999 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 91 99 16 14 L 1
31 Tue, Mar 30, 1999 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 94 93 17 14 W 1
32 Thu, Apr 1, 1999 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 78 74 18 14 W 2
33 Sun, Apr 4, 1999 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 95 108 18 15 L 1
34 Tue, Apr 6, 1999 Box Score Orlando Magic L 72 81 18 16 L 2
35 Wed, Apr 7, 1999 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 82 106 18 17 L 3
36 Fri, Apr 9, 1999 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 86 78 19 17 W 1
37 Sun, Apr 11, 1999 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 93 78 20 17 W 2
38 Tue, Apr 13, 1999 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 91 72 21 17 W 3
39 Wed, Apr 14, 1999 Box Score @ Washington Wizards L OT 89 95 21 18 L 1
40 Fri, Apr 16, 1999 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 71 80 21 19 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sat, Apr 17, 1999 Box Score Toronto Raptors L 90 93 21 20 L 3
42 Mon, Apr 19, 1999 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 67 72 21 21 L 4
43 Fri, Apr 23, 1999 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 110 105 22 21 W 1
44 Sun, Apr 25, 1999 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 82 80 23 21 W 2
45 Mon, Apr 26, 1999 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets W 91 84 24 21 W 3
46 Wed, Apr 28, 1999 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 73 76 24 22 L 1
47 Thu, Apr 29, 1999 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 85 70 25 22 W 1
48 Sun, May 2, 1999 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 71 94 25 23 L 1
49 Mon, May 3, 1999 Box Score Boston Celtics W 95 88 26 23 W 1
50 Wed, May 5, 1999 Box Score Miami Heat W 101 88 27 23 W 2

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sat, May 8, 1999 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 95 75 1 0 W 1
2 Mon, May 10, 1999 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 73 83 1 1 L 1
3 Wed, May 12, 1999 Box Score Miami Heat W 97 73 2 1 W 1
4 Fri, May 14, 1999 Box Score Miami Heat L 72 87 2 2 L 1
5 Sun, May 16, 1999 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 78 77 3 2 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
6 Tue, May 18, 1999 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 100 92 4 2 W 2
7 Thu, May 20, 1999 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 77 70 5 2 W 3
8 Sun, May 23, 1999 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 90 78 6 2 W 4
9 Mon, May 24, 1999 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 79 66 7 2 W 5
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
10 Sun, May 30, 1999 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 93 90 8 2 W 6
11 Tue, Jun 1, 1999 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 86 88 8 3 L 1
12 Sat, Jun 5, 1999 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 92 91 9 3 W 1
13 Mon, Jun 7, 1999 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 78 90 9 4 L 1
14 Wed, Jun 9, 1999 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 101 94 10 4 W 1
15 Fri, Jun 11, 1999 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 90 82 11 4 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
16 Wed, Jun 16, 1999 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 77 89 11 5 L 1
17 Fri, Jun 18, 1999 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 67 80 11 6 L 2
18 Mon, Jun 21, 1999 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 89 81 12 6 W 1
19 Wed, Jun 23, 1999 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 89 96 12 7 L 1
20 Fri, Jun 25, 1999 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 77 78 12 8 L 2