Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Orlando Magic > 1996-97 Schedule and Results

1996-97 Orlando Magic Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 45-37, Finished 3rd in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Brian Hill (24-25), Richie Adubato (21-12)

PTS/G: 94.1 (25th of 29) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 94.5 (10th of 29)
SRS: -0.07 (16th of 29) ▪ Pace: 88.3 (24th of 29)
Off Rtg: 105.6 (16th of 29) ▪ Def Rtg: 106.0 (14th of 29)
Expected W-L: 40-42 (16th of 29)

Arena: Orlando Arena ▪ Attendance: 711,311 (9th of 29)

NBA 1997 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Conference First Round (3-2) versus Miami Heat  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Nov 1, 1996 Box Score Washington Bullets L 92 96 0 1 L 1
2 Thu, Nov 7, 1996 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 108 95 1 1 W 1 at Tokyo, Japan
3 Fri, Nov 8, 1996 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 86 82 2 1 W 2 at Tokyo, Japan
4 Thu, Nov 14, 1996 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 96 89 3 1 W 3
5 Sat, Nov 16, 1996 Box Score Toronto Raptors W 92 87 4 1 W 4
6 Tue, Nov 19, 1996 Box Score New York Knicks L 88 92 4 2 L 1
7 Thu, Nov 21, 1996 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W 90 86 5 2 W 1
8 Sat, Nov 23, 1996 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 76 73 6 2 W 2
9 Mon, Nov 25, 1996 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 88 100 6 3 L 1
10 Wed, Nov 27, 1996 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 79 75 7 3 W 1
11 Fri, Nov 29, 1996 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 91 100 7 4 L 1
12 Sat, Nov 30, 1996 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 86 82 8 4 W 1
13 Mon, Dec 2, 1996 Box Score Dallas Mavericks L OT 102 108 8 5 L 1
14 Wed, Dec 4, 1996 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 57 84 8 6 L 2
15 Fri, Dec 6, 1996 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 81 92 8 7 L 3
16 Sun, Dec 8, 1996 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 84 91 8 8 L 4
17 Tue, Dec 10, 1996 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 99 93 9 8 W 1
18 Fri, Dec 13, 1996 Box Score @ Vancouver Grizzlies L 93 95 9 9 L 1
19 Sat, Dec 14, 1996 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 68 101 9 10 L 2
20 Wed, Dec 18, 1996 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 2OT 95 102 9 11 L 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Dec 20, 1996 Box Score Utah Jazz L 93 98 9 12 L 4
22 Sat, Dec 21, 1996 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 85 103 9 13 L 5
23 Mon, Dec 23, 1996 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 89 84 10 13 W 1
24 Thu, Dec 26, 1996 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 76 96 10 14 L 1
25 Sat, Dec 28, 1996 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 85 96 10 15 L 2
26 Mon, Dec 30, 1996 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 85 97 10 16 L 3
27 Thu, Jan 2, 1997 Box Score Toronto Raptors W OT 96 94 11 16 W 1
28 Fri, Jan 3, 1997 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 89 110 11 17 L 1
29 Tue, Jan 7, 1997 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 109 88 12 17 W 1
30 Thu, Jan 9, 1997 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L OT 92 97 12 18 L 1
31 Sun, Jan 12, 1997 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors W 88 85 13 18 W 1
32 Mon, Jan 13, 1997 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 114 111 14 18 W 2
33 Wed, Jan 15, 1997 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 78 66 15 18 W 3
34 Thu, Jan 16, 1997 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 67 78 15 19 L 1
35 Sun, Jan 19, 1997 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 99 87 16 19 W 1
36 Tue, Jan 21, 1997 Box Score Washington Bullets W 93 88 17 19 W 2
37 Thu, Jan 23, 1997 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 96 92 18 19 W 3
38 Fri, Jan 24, 1997 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W OT 121 117 19 19 W 4
39 Tue, Jan 28, 1997 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 82 102 19 20 L 1
40 Wed, Jan 29, 1997 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 112 105 20 20 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Fri, Jan 31, 1997 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 109 99 21 20 W 2
42 Sun, Feb 2, 1997 Box Score Houston Rockets W 103 90 22 20 W 3
43 Tue, Feb 4, 1997 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 111 87 23 20 W 4
44 Thu, Feb 6, 1997 Box Score Boston Celtics W 119 111 24 20 W 5
45 Tue, Feb 11, 1997 Box Score New Jersey Nets L 98 104 24 21 L 1
46 Wed, Feb 12, 1997 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 87 96 24 22 L 2
47 Fri, Feb 14, 1997 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves L 100 104 24 23 L 3
48 Sun, Feb 16, 1997 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 89 110 24 24 L 4
49 Mon, Feb 17, 1997 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 110 124 24 25 L 5
50 Wed, Feb 19, 1997 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 95 84 25 25 W 1
51 Fri, Feb 21, 1997 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 99 86 26 25 W 2
52 Sun, Feb 23, 1997 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 99 90 27 25 W 3
53 Mon, Feb 24, 1997 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 93 84 28 25 W 4
54 Wed, Feb 26, 1997 Box Score Miami Heat W 98 86 29 25 W 5
55 Fri, Feb 28, 1997 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 94 73 30 25 W 6
56 Sun, Mar 2, 1997 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 101 109 30 26 L 1
57 Tue, Mar 4, 1997 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 101 89 31 26 W 1
58 Thu, Mar 6, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 94 93 32 26 W 2 at Anaheim, CA
59 Fri, Mar 7, 1997 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 101 108 32 27 L 1
60 Sun, Mar 9, 1997 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 85 121 32 28 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Tue, Mar 11, 1997 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 96 91 33 28 W 1
62 Wed, Mar 12, 1997 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 96 95 34 28 W 2
63 Fri, Mar 14, 1997 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 86 81 35 28 W 3
64 Sun, Mar 16, 1997 Box Score Vancouver Grizzlies W 100 89 36 28 W 4
65 Mon, Mar 17, 1997 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L OT 107 112 36 29 L 1
66 Thu, Mar 20, 1997 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 100 95 37 29 W 1
67 Fri, Mar 21, 1997 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 104 99 38 29 W 2
68 Sun, Mar 23, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 110 84 39 29 W 3
69 Tue, Mar 25, 1997 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 114 103 40 29 W 4
70 Thu, Mar 27, 1997 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 93 97 40 30 L 1
71 Sun, Mar 30, 1997 Box Score New York Knicks L 86 101 40 31 L 2
72 Tue, Apr 1, 1997 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 93 105 40 32 L 3
73 Thu, Apr 3, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers L 94 113 40 33 L 4
74 Fri, Apr 4, 1997 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 93 84 41 33 W 1
75 Sun, Apr 6, 1997 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 94 110 41 34 L 1
76 Tue, Apr 8, 1997 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 97 82 42 34 W 1
77 Thu, Apr 10, 1997 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors W 105 69 43 34 W 2
78 Sat, Apr 12, 1997 Box Score Boston Celtics W 121 98 44 34 W 3
79 Mon, Apr 14, 1997 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 100 91 45 34 W 4
80 Wed, Apr 16, 1997 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 63 78 45 35 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 18, 1997 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 93 104 45 36 L 2
82 Sat, Apr 19, 1997 Box Score Miami Heat L 88 102 45 37 L 3

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Apr 24, 1997 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 64 99 0 1 L 1
2 Sun, Apr 27, 1997 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 87 104 0 2 L 2
3 Tue, Apr 29, 1997 Box Score Miami Heat W 88 75 1 2 W 1
4 Thu, May 1, 1997 Box Score Miami Heat W 99 91 2 2 W 2
5 Sun, May 4, 1997 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 83 91 2 3 L 1