Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1977-78 Schedule and Results

1977-78 Philadelphia 76ers Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 55-27, Finished 1st in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Gene Shue (2-4), Billy Cunningham (53-23)

PTS/G: 114.7 (1st of 22) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 109.6 (14th of 22)
SRS: 4.87 (2nd of 22) ▪ Pace: 108.4 (7th of 22)
Off Rtg: 105.0 (1st of 22) ▪ Def Rtg: 100.3 (8th of 22)
Expected W-L: 54-28 (2nd of 22)

Arena: The Spectrum ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1978 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Conference Finals (2-4) versus Washington Bullets  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Semifinals (0-4) versus New York Knicks  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Wed, Oct 19, 1977 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 113 96 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Oct 22, 1977 Box Score New Orleans Jazz L OT 103 104 1 1 L 1
3 Tue, Oct 25, 1977 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 112 104 2 1 W 1
4 Fri, Oct 28, 1977 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 94 98 2 2 L 1
5 Sat, Oct 29, 1977 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 110 113 2 3 L 2
6 Wed, Nov 2, 1977 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 102 103 2 4 L 3
7 Fri, Nov 4, 1977 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 107 104 3 4 W 1
8 Sat, Nov 5, 1977 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 132 101 4 4 W 2
9 Wed, Nov 9, 1977 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 130 107 5 4 W 3
10 Fri, Nov 11, 1977 Box Score New York Knicks W 127 119 6 4 W 4
11 Sat, Nov 12, 1977 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 98 116 6 5 L 1
12 Tue, Nov 15, 1977 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 114 93 7 5 W 1
13 Wed, Nov 16, 1977 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 101 96 8 5 W 2
14 Fri, Nov 18, 1977 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 121 112 9 5 W 3
15 Sat, Nov 19, 1977 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 111 100 10 5 W 4
16 Tue, Nov 22, 1977 Box Score Houston Rockets W 105 99 11 5 W 5
17 Wed, Nov 23, 1977 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 106 105 12 5 W 6
18 Fri, Nov 25, 1977 Box Score Golden State Warriors W OT 125 119 13 5 W 7
19 Sat, Nov 26, 1977 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves W 112 107 14 5 W 8
20 Tue, Nov 29, 1977 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 129 117 15 5 W 9
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Wed, Nov 30, 1977 Box Score @ New Orleans Jazz W 117 114 16 5 W 10
22 Sat, Dec 3, 1977 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L OT 116 120 16 6 L 1
23 Wed, Dec 7, 1977 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 122 100 17 6 W 1
24 Fri, Dec 9, 1977 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 120 116 18 6 W 2
25 Sat, Dec 10, 1977 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L OT 108 114 18 7 L 1
26 Tue, Dec 13, 1977 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 117 129 18 8 L 2
27 Wed, Dec 14, 1977 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 99 108 18 9 L 3
28 Fri, Dec 16, 1977 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 110 115 18 10 L 4
29 Sat, Dec 17, 1977 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 129 116 19 10 W 1
30 Wed, Dec 21, 1977 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 125 119 20 10 W 2
31 Sun, Dec 25, 1977 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 110 113 20 11 L 1
32 Wed, Dec 28, 1977 Box Score Chicago Bulls W OT 129 125 21 11 W 1
33 Fri, Dec 30, 1977 Box Score Washington Bullets W 126 119 22 11 W 2
34 Wed, Jan 4, 1978 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 108 93 23 11 W 3
35 Fri, Jan 6, 1978 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 123 110 24 11 W 4
36 Sun, Jan 8, 1978 Box Score Boston Celtics W 94 91 25 11 W 5
37 Tue, Jan 10, 1978 Box Score Houston Rockets W 95 80 26 11 W 6
38 Fri, Jan 13, 1978 Box Score Buffalo Braves W 118 93 27 11 W 7
39 Sat, Jan 14, 1978 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 136 120 28 11 W 8
40 Wed, Jan 18, 1978 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings W 126 106 29 11 W 9
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Thu, Jan 19, 1978 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 109 117 29 12 L 1
42 Sun, Jan 22, 1978 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 99 87 30 12 W 1
43 Tue, Jan 24, 1978 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 102 117 30 13 L 1
44 Wed, Jan 25, 1978 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 128 125 31 13 W 1
45 Fri, Jan 27, 1978 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 101 110 31 14 L 1
46 Sun, Jan 29, 1978 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 118 117 32 14 W 1
47 Wed, Feb 1, 1978 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 104 101 33 14 W 2
48 Fri, Feb 3, 1978 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 116 104 34 14 W 3
49 Tue, Feb 7, 1978 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 106 108 34 15 L 1
50 Wed, Feb 8, 1978 Box Score New Orleans Jazz W 117 104 35 15 W 1
51 Fri, Feb 10, 1978 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves L 110 116 35 16 L 1
52 Sun, Feb 12, 1978 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 109 99 36 16 W 1
53 Tue, Feb 14, 1978 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 119 116 37 16 W 2
54 Wed, Feb 15, 1978 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 116 113 38 16 W 3
55 Fri, Feb 17, 1978 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 125 116 39 16 W 4
56 Sun, Feb 19, 1978 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 120 110 40 16 W 5
57 Tue, Feb 21, 1978 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 127 114 41 16 W 6
58 Sat, Feb 25, 1978 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 115 124 41 17 L 1
59 Sun, Feb 26, 1978 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 97 99 41 18 L 2
60 Tue, Feb 28, 1978 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 92 113 41 19 L 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Wed, Mar 1, 1978 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 125 119 42 19 W 1
62 Fri, Mar 3, 1978 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 95 96 42 20 L 1
63 Sun, Mar 5, 1978 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 104 92 43 20 W 1
64 Wed, Mar 8, 1978 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 108 97 44 20 W 2
65 Fri, Mar 10, 1978 Box Score Boston Celtics W 120 109 45 20 W 3
66 Sun, Mar 12, 1978 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 105 103 46 20 W 4
67 Wed, Mar 15, 1978 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 113 93 47 20 W 5
68 Fri, Mar 17, 1978 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 123 112 48 20 W 6
69 Sat, Mar 18, 1978 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 141 127 49 20 W 7
70 Sun, Mar 19, 1978 Box Score New York Knicks W 125 118 50 20 W 8
71 Wed, Mar 22, 1978 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 108 120 50 21 L 1
72 Fri, Mar 24, 1978 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 131 122 51 21 W 1
73 Sun, Mar 26, 1978 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 116 100 52 21 W 2
74 Wed, Mar 29, 1978 Box Score Buffalo Braves W 149 118 53 21 W 3
75 Fri, Mar 31, 1978 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L OT 110 111 53 22 L 1
76 Sat, Apr 1, 1978 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 112 116 53 23 L 2
77 Sun, Apr 2, 1978 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 107 111 53 24 L 3
78 Tue, Apr 4, 1978 Box Score @ New Orleans Jazz L 119 120 53 25 L 4
79 Wed, Apr 5, 1978 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 126 115 54 25 W 1
80 Fri, Apr 7, 1978 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 118 127 54 26 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Sat, Apr 8, 1978 Box Score Washington Bullets W 131 114 55 26 W 1
82 Sun, Apr 9, 1978 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 113 123 55 27 L 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sun, Apr 16, 1978 Box Score New York Knicks W 130 90 1 0 W 1
2 Tue, Apr 18, 1978 Box Score New York Knicks W 119 100 2 0 W 2
3 Thu, Apr 20, 1978 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 137 126 3 0 W 3
4 Sun, Apr 23, 1978 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 112 107 4 0 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
5 Sun, Apr 30, 1978 Box Score Washington Bullets L OT 117 122 4 1 L 1
6 Wed, May 3, 1978 Box Score Washington Bullets W 110 104 5 1 W 1
7 Fri, May 5, 1978 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 108 123 5 2 L 1
8 Sun, May 7, 1978 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 105 121 5 3 L 2
9 Wed, May 10, 1978 Box Score Washington Bullets W 107 94 6 3 W 1
10 Fri, May 12, 1978 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 99 101 6 4 L 1