Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1988-89 Schedule and Results

1988-89 Philadelphia 76ers Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 46-36, Finished 2nd in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Jim Lynam (46-36)

PTS/G: 111.9 (8th of 25) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 110.4 (14th of 25)
SRS: 1.68 (11th of 25) ▪ Pace: 98.5 (18th of 25)
Off Rtg: 113.0 (3rd of 25) ▪ Def Rtg: 111.5 (24th of 25)
Expected W-L: 45-37 (12th of 25)

Arena: The Spectrum ▪ Attendance: 531,715 (15th of 25)

NBA 1989 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Conference First Round (0-3) versus New York Knicks  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Nov 4, 1988 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 129 110 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Nov 5, 1988 Box Score Boston Celtics W 129 115 2 0 W 2
3 Tue, Nov 8, 1988 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 109 116 2 1 L 1
4 Wed, Nov 9, 1988 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 103 114 2 2 L 2
5 Fri, Nov 11, 1988 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 107 105 3 2 W 1
6 Tue, Nov 15, 1988 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 107 120 3 3 L 1
7 Wed, Nov 16, 1988 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 123 110 4 3 W 1
8 Fri, Nov 18, 1988 Box Score New York Knicks W 137 135 5 3 W 2
9 Sat, Nov 19, 1988 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 122 141 5 4 L 1
10 Tue, Nov 22, 1988 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 130 103 6 4 W 1
11 Wed, Nov 23, 1988 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 104 91 7 4 W 2
12 Fri, Nov 25, 1988 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 123 116 8 4 W 3
13 Sat, Nov 26, 1988 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 122 114 9 4 W 4
14 Mon, Nov 28, 1988 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 104 109 9 5 L 1
15 Wed, Nov 30, 1988 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 114 106 10 5 W 1
16 Thu, Dec 1, 1988 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 107 109 10 6 L 1
17 Sat, Dec 3, 1988 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 107 100 11 6 W 1
18 Wed, Dec 7, 1988 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 134 109 12 6 W 2
19 Fri, Dec 9, 1988 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 107 121 12 7 L 1
20 Sat, Dec 10, 1988 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 100 106 12 8 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Tue, Dec 13, 1988 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 91 109 12 9 L 3
22 Wed, Dec 14, 1988 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 96 103 12 10 L 4
23 Fri, Dec 16, 1988 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 114 106 13 10 W 1
24 Sat, Dec 17, 1988 Box Score Utah Jazz W 119 107 14 10 W 2
25 Tue, Dec 20, 1988 Box Score Dallas Mavericks L 102 108 14 11 L 1
26 Sun, Dec 25, 1988 Box Score Washington Bullets W 125 110 15 11 W 1
27 Tue, Dec 27, 1988 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 112 119 15 12 L 1
28 Wed, Dec 28, 1988 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 123 128 15 13 L 2
29 Fri, Dec 30, 1988 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 95 102 15 14 L 3
30 Thu, Jan 5, 1989 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 104 119 15 15 L 4
31 Sat, Jan 7, 1989 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 96 95 16 15 W 1
32 Mon, Jan 9, 1989 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 121 103 17 15 W 2
33 Wed, Jan 11, 1989 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 103 94 18 15 W 3
34 Fri, Jan 13, 1989 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 114 101 19 15 W 4
35 Sun, Jan 15, 1989 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets W 116 109 20 15 W 5
36 Mon, Jan 16, 1989 Box Score Charlotte Hornets L OT 122 127 20 16 L 1
37 Wed, Jan 18, 1989 Box Score Boston Celtics W 115 104 21 16 W 1
38 Fri, Jan 20, 1989 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 109 117 21 17 L 1
39 Sat, Jan 21, 1989 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 105 107 21 18 L 2
40 Wed, Jan 25, 1989 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 120 108 22 18 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Fri, Jan 27, 1989 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 113 112 23 18 W 2
42 Sat, Jan 28, 1989 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 123 105 24 18 W 3
43 Tue, Jan 31, 1989 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 103 118 24 19 L 1
44 Wed, Feb 1, 1989 Box Score Washington Bullets W OT 114 110 25 19 W 1
45 Fri, Feb 3, 1989 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 106 124 25 20 L 1
46 Wed, Feb 8, 1989 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 109 102 26 20 W 1
47 Tue, Feb 14, 1989 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 113 108 27 20 W 2
48 Wed, Feb 15, 1989 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 113 98 28 20 W 3
49 Fri, Feb 17, 1989 Box Score New Jersey Nets L OT 127 129 28 21 L 1
50 Sat, Feb 18, 1989 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 100 118 28 22 L 2
51 Wed, Feb 22, 1989 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 139 108 29 22 W 1
52 Fri, Feb 24, 1989 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 95 120 29 23 L 1
53 Sun, Feb 26, 1989 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 115 122 29 24 L 2
54 Tue, Feb 28, 1989 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 123 105 30 24 W 1
55 Wed, Mar 1, 1989 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 114 111 31 24 W 2
56 Fri, Mar 3, 1989 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 121 129 31 25 L 1
57 Sat, Mar 4, 1989 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 104 118 31 26 L 2
58 Mon, Mar 6, 1989 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 106 110 31 27 L 3
59 Tue, Mar 7, 1989 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 90 88 32 27 W 1
60 Thu, Mar 9, 1989 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 106 96 33 27 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sat, Mar 11, 1989 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 106 111 33 28 L 1
62 Wed, Mar 15, 1989 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 100 96 34 28 W 1
63 Thu, Mar 16, 1989 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 121 112 35 28 W 2
64 Sat, Mar 18, 1989 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 114 123 35 29 L 1
65 Mon, Mar 20, 1989 Box Score New York Knicks L 109 129 35 30 L 2
66 Wed, Mar 22, 1989 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 100 97 36 30 W 1
67 Fri, Mar 24, 1989 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 135 122 37 30 W 2
68 Sun, Mar 26, 1989 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 103 105 37 31 L 1
69 Tue, Mar 28, 1989 Box Score Boston Celtics W OT 117 115 38 31 W 1
70 Fri, Mar 31, 1989 Box Score Miami Heat W 114 93 39 31 W 2
71 Sun, Apr 2, 1989 Box Score Houston Rockets W 108 99 40 31 W 3
72 Tue, Apr 4, 1989 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 124 113 41 31 W 4
73 Wed, Apr 5, 1989 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 93 135 41 32 L 1
74 Fri, Apr 7, 1989 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets W 118 108 42 32 W 1
75 Sat, Apr 8, 1989 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 103 113 42 33 L 1
76 Tue, Apr 11, 1989 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 90 92 42 34 L 2
77 Fri, Apr 14, 1989 Box Score Charlotte Hornets L 115 119 42 35 L 3
78 Sun, Apr 16, 1989 Box Score New York Knicks W 115 112 43 35 W 1
79 Tue, Apr 18, 1989 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 124 102 44 35 W 2
80 Thu, Apr 20, 1989 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 105 92 45 35 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 21, 1989 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 91 100 45 36 L 1
82 Sun, Apr 23, 1989 Box Score Washington Bullets W 115 106 46 36 W 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Apr 27, 1989 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 96 102 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Apr 29, 1989 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 106 107 0 2 L 2
3 Tue, May 2, 1989 Box Score New York Knicks L OT 115 116 0 3 L 3