Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1971-72 Schedule and Results

1971-72 Phoenix Suns Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 49-33, Finished 3rd in NBA Midwest Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Cotton Fitzsimmons (49-33)

PTS/G: 116.3 (2nd of 17) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 110.8 (8th of 17)
SRS: 5.57 (4th of 17) ▪ Pace: 113.7 (5th of 17)
Off Rtg: 101.3 (4th of 17) ▪ Def Rtg: 96.5 (7th of 17)
Expected W-L: 54-28 (4th of 17)

Arena: Arizona Veterans Memorial Coliseum ▪ Attendance: NA

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Oct 14, 1971 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 97 110 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Oct 16, 1971 Box Score Houston Rockets W 128 108 1 1 W 1
3 Fri, Oct 22, 1971 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 109 116 1 2 L 1
4 Sun, Oct 24, 1971 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 104 105 1 3 L 2
5 Tue, Oct 26, 1971 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 126 99 2 3 W 1
6 Fri, Oct 29, 1971 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 2OT 137 135 3 3 W 2
7 Sat, Oct 30, 1971 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 94 101 3 4 L 1
8 Tue, Nov 2, 1971 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 101 108 3 5 L 2
9 Wed, Nov 3, 1971 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves W 100 98 4 5 W 1
10 Fri, Nov 5, 1971 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 107 87 5 5 W 2
11 Sat, Nov 6, 1971 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 95 110 5 6 L 1
12 Tue, Nov 9, 1971 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 113 118 5 7 L 2
13 Fri, Nov 12, 1971 Box Score Boston Celtics W 128 119 6 7 W 1
14 Sun, Nov 14, 1971 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 119 105 7 7 W 2
15 Tue, Nov 16, 1971 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 111 112 7 8 L 1
16 Wed, Nov 17, 1971 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 121 140 7 9 L 2
17 Thu, Nov 18, 1971 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 126 128 7 10 L 3
18 Sat, Nov 20, 1971 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 109 115 7 11 L 4
19 Tue, Nov 23, 1971 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 128 107 8 11 W 1
20 Thu, Nov 25, 1971 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 122 103 9 11 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sun, Nov 28, 1971 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 116 110 10 11 W 3
22 Tue, Nov 30, 1971 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W OT 121 111 11 11 W 4
23 Wed, Dec 1, 1971 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 139 103 12 11 W 5
24 Sat, Dec 4, 1971 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 128 92 13 11 W 6 at Oakland, CA
25 Sun, Dec 5, 1971 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 120 87 14 11 W 7
26 Thu, Dec 9, 1971 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 135 115 15 11 W 8
27 Fri, Dec 10, 1971 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L OT 117 126 15 12 L 1
28 Sat, Dec 11, 1971 Box Score Houston Rockets L 110 111 15 13 L 2
29 Tue, Dec 14, 1971 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 110 100 16 13 W 1
30 Wed, Dec 15, 1971 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals W 127 108 17 13 W 2
31 Fri, Dec 17, 1971 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 123 102 18 13 W 3
32 Sat, Dec 18, 1971 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 106 132 18 14 L 1
33 Sun, Dec 19, 1971 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L OT 127 130 18 15 L 2
34 Tue, Dec 21, 1971 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 124 119 19 15 W 1
35 Thu, Dec 23, 1971 Box Score Chicago Bulls L OT 108 117 19 16 L 1
36 Sat, Dec 25, 1971 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 116 86 20 16 W 1
37 Wed, Dec 29, 1971 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 124 106 21 16 W 2
38 Thu, Dec 30, 1971 Box Score Buffalo Braves W 123 102 22 16 W 3
39 Sat, Jan 1, 1972 Box Score Boston Celtics W 114 104 23 16 W 4
40 Sun, Jan 2, 1972 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 111 116 23 17 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Tue, Jan 4, 1972 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 112 108 24 17 W 1
42 Fri, Jan 7, 1972 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves W 123 110 25 17 W 2
43 Sat, Jan 8, 1972 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 119 130 25 18 L 1
44 Sun, Jan 9, 1972 Box Score N Baltimore Bullets L 103 109 25 19 L 2 at College Park, MD
45 Tue, Jan 11, 1972 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 115 114 26 19 W 1
46 Fri, Jan 14, 1972 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 117 107 27 19 W 2
47 Sat, Jan 15, 1972 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 110 118 27 20 L 1
48 Sun, Jan 16, 1972 Box Score Baltimore Bullets L 104 107 27 21 L 2
49 Thu, Jan 20, 1972 Box Score New York Knicks W 130 109 28 21 W 1
50 Fri, Jan 21, 1972 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 128 113 29 21 W 2
51 Sat, Jan 22, 1972 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 116 102 30 21 W 3
52 Tue, Jan 25, 1972 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 119 129 30 22 L 1
53 Fri, Jan 28, 1972 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 102 116 30 23 L 2
54 Sat, Jan 29, 1972 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 100 111 30 24 L 3 at Oakland, CA
55 Sun, Jan 30, 1972 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 105 103 31 24 W 1
56 Tue, Feb 1, 1972 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 129 117 32 24 W 2
57 Wed, Feb 2, 1972 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 103 106 32 25 L 1
58 Fri, Feb 4, 1972 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 113 105 33 25 W 1
59 Sat, Feb 5, 1972 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W OT 118 117 34 25 W 2
60 Sun, Feb 6, 1972 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 107 94 35 25 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Tue, Feb 8, 1972 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 120 108 36 25 W 4
62 Thu, Feb 10, 1972 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 131 98 37 25 W 5
63 Sat, Feb 12, 1972 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 117 95 38 25 W 6
64 Wed, Feb 16, 1972 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 110 109 39 25 W 7
65 Fri, Feb 18, 1972 Box Score Boston Celtics W 126 115 40 25 W 8
66 Sun, Feb 20, 1972 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 121 107 41 25 W 9
67 Tue, Feb 22, 1972 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 103 114 41 26 L 1
68 Wed, Feb 23, 1972 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 118 120 41 27 L 2
69 Fri, Feb 25, 1972 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 107 115 41 28 L 3
70 Sat, Feb 26, 1972 Box Score N Milwaukee Bucks L OT 117 119 41 29 L 4 at Madison, WI
71 Sun, Feb 27, 1972 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 127 125 42 29 W 1
72 Wed, Mar 1, 1972 Box Score Baltimore Bullets L 90 95 42 30 L 1
73 Sun, Mar 5, 1972 Box Score Buffalo Braves W 131 103 43 30 W 1
74 Tue, Mar 7, 1972 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 129 121 44 30 W 2
75 Wed, Mar 8, 1972 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 105 122 44 31 L 1
76 Sat, Mar 11, 1972 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 110 106 45 31 W 1
77 Wed, Mar 15, 1972 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 110 106 46 31 W 2
78 Fri, Mar 17, 1972 Box Score New York Knicks W 111 106 47 31 W 3
79 Sat, Mar 18, 1972 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 116 134 47 32 L 1
80 Tue, Mar 21, 1972 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 160 128 48 32 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 24, 1972 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 110 112 48 33 L 1
82 Sat, Mar 25, 1972 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 118 99 49 33 W 1