Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1979-80 Schedule and Results

1979-80 Phoenix Suns Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 55-27, Finished 3rd in NBA Pacific Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: John MacLeod (55-27)

PTS/G: 111.1 (7th of 22) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 107.5 (8th of 22)
SRS: 3.25 (6th of 22) ▪ Pace: 104.8 (6th of 22)
Off Rtg: 105.6 (10th of 22) ▪ Def Rtg: 102.2 (5th of 22)
Expected W-L: 50-32 (6th of 22)

Arena: Arizona Veterans Memorial Coliseum ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1980 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference Semifinals (1-4) versus Los Angeles Lakers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference First Round (1-2) versus Kansas City Kings  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 12, 1979 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 97 89 1 0 W 1
2 Sun, Oct 14, 1979 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 112 102 2 0 W 2
3 Tue, Oct 16, 1979 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 102 86 3 0 W 3
4 Fri, Oct 19, 1979 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 94 95 3 1 L 1
5 Sat, Oct 20, 1979 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 104 116 3 2 L 2
6 Sun, Oct 21, 1979 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 85 122 3 3 L 3
7 Tue, Oct 23, 1979 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 108 114 3 4 L 4
8 Wed, Oct 24, 1979 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W OT 110 108 4 4 W 1
9 Fri, Oct 26, 1979 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 92 86 5 4 W 2
10 Sun, Oct 28, 1979 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 89 88 6 4 W 3
11 Tue, Oct 30, 1979 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 142 109 7 4 W 4
12 Fri, Nov 2, 1979 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 110 112 7 5 L 1
13 Tue, Nov 6, 1979 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 120 107 8 5 W 1
14 Wed, Nov 7, 1979 Box Score San Diego Clippers L 102 114 8 6 L 1
15 Fri, Nov 9, 1979 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 110 106 9 6 W 1
16 Sun, Nov 11, 1979 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 116 91 10 6 W 2
17 Wed, Nov 14, 1979 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 104 100 11 6 W 3
18 Fri, Nov 16, 1979 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 98 97 12 6 W 4
19 Sun, Nov 18, 1979 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 95 99 12 7 L 1
20 Tue, Nov 20, 1979 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 110 117 12 8 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Wed, Nov 21, 1979 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 128 120 13 8 W 1
22 Fri, Nov 23, 1979 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 126 112 14 8 W 2
23 Sat, Nov 24, 1979 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 115 101 15 8 W 3
24 Sun, Nov 25, 1979 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 87 86 16 8 W 4
25 Wed, Nov 28, 1979 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 116 127 16 9 L 1
26 Sat, Dec 1, 1979 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 99 86 17 9 W 1
27 Tue, Dec 4, 1979 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 114 118 17 10 L 1
28 Wed, Dec 5, 1979 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 100 115 17 11 L 2
29 Fri, Dec 7, 1979 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 92 100 17 12 L 3
30 Sat, Dec 8, 1979 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 96 117 17 13 L 4
31 Tue, Dec 11, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 123 99 18 13 W 1
32 Thu, Dec 13, 1979 Box Score Houston Rockets W 121 113 19 13 W 2
33 Sat, Dec 15, 1979 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 126 105 20 13 W 3
34 Wed, Dec 19, 1979 Box Score Utah Jazz W 117 99 21 13 W 4
35 Fri, Dec 21, 1979 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 127 117 22 13 W 5
36 Sat, Dec 22, 1979 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings W 115 111 23 13 W 6
37 Sun, Dec 23, 1979 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 106 103 24 13 W 7
38 Wed, Dec 26, 1979 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 119 99 25 13 W 8
39 Fri, Dec 28, 1979 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 118 112 26 13 W 9
40 Sun, Dec 30, 1979 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 105 113 26 14 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Wed, Jan 2, 1980 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 109 118 26 15 L 2
42 Sat, Jan 5, 1980 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 110 111 26 16 L 3
43 Wed, Jan 9, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 113 100 27 16 W 1
44 Sat, Jan 12, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 96 107 27 17 L 1
45 Sun, Jan 13, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz W 106 103 28 17 W 1
46 Tue, Jan 15, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 107 99 29 17 W 2
47 Wed, Jan 16, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 115 108 30 17 W 3
48 Thu, Jan 17, 1980 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 101 99 31 17 W 4
49 Sat, Jan 19, 1980 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 137 123 32 17 W 5
50 Wed, Jan 23, 1980 Box Score New York Knicks L 109 119 32 18 L 1
51 Fri, Jan 25, 1980 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 110 96 33 18 W 1
52 Sun, Jan 27, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 125 118 34 18 W 2
53 Tue, Jan 29, 1980 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 121 133 34 19 L 1
54 Wed, Jan 30, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 122 114 35 19 W 1
55 Wed, Feb 6, 1980 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 97 95 36 19 W 2
56 Fri, Feb 8, 1980 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 113 109 37 19 W 3
57 Sun, Feb 10, 1980 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 107 109 37 20 L 1
58 Wed, Feb 13, 1980 Box Score Boston Celtics W 135 134 38 20 W 1
59 Fri, Feb 15, 1980 Box Score Washington Bullets W 116 104 39 20 W 2
60 Sun, Feb 17, 1980 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 128 98 40 20 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Tue, Feb 19, 1980 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 109 128 40 21 L 1
62 Thu, Feb 21, 1980 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 125 116 41 21 W 1
63 Fri, Feb 22, 1980 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 104 111 41 22 L 1
64 Sun, Feb 24, 1980 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 113 105 42 22 W 1
65 Tue, Feb 26, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 112 121 42 23 L 1
66 Wed, Feb 27, 1980 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L OT 110 119 42 24 L 2
67 Thu, Feb 28, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 111 101 43 24 W 1
68 Sun, Mar 2, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 123 115 44 24 W 2
69 Wed, Mar 5, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 127 111 45 24 W 3
70 Fri, Mar 7, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz W 110 94 46 24 W 4
71 Sun, Mar 9, 1980 Box Score Chicago Bulls W OT 113 103 47 24 W 5
72 Wed, Mar 12, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 122 113 48 24 W 6
73 Sat, Mar 15, 1980 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 109 120 48 25 L 1
74 Sun, Mar 16, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 106 128 48 26 L 2
75 Tue, Mar 18, 1980 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings W 112 109 49 26 W 1
76 Wed, Mar 19, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 112 108 50 26 W 2
77 Fri, Mar 21, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 111 100 51 26 W 3
78 Sun, Mar 23, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 118 102 52 26 W 4
79 Tue, Mar 25, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 95 104 52 27 L 1
80 Wed, Mar 26, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 109 99 53 27 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 28, 1980 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 114 100 54 27 W 2
82 Sun, Mar 30, 1980 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 122 104 55 27 W 3

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Wed, Apr 2, 1980 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 96 93 1 0 W 1
2 Fri, Apr 4, 1980 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 96 106 1 1 L 1
3 Sun, Apr 6, 1980 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 114 99 2 1 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
4 Tue, Apr 8, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 110 119 2 2 L 1
5 Wed, Apr 9, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L OT 128 131 2 3 L 2
6 Fri, Apr 11, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 105 108 2 4 L 3
7 Sun, Apr 13, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 127 101 3 4 W 1
8 Tue, Apr 15, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 101 126 3 5 L 1