Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Phoenix Suns > 1988-89 Schedule and Results

1988-89 Phoenix Suns Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 55-27, Finished 2nd in NBA Pacific Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Cotton Fitzsimmons (55-27)

PTS/G: 118.6 (1st of 25) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 110.9 (16th of 25)
SRS: 6.84 (2nd of 25) ▪ Pace: 104.5 (3rd of 25)
Off Rtg: 113.1 (2nd of 25) ▪ Def Rtg: 105.7 (5th of 25)
Expected W-L: 59-23 (2nd of 25)

Arena: Arizona Veterans Memorial Coliseum ▪ Attendance: 447,061 (20th of 25)

NBA 1989 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference Finals (4-0) versus Los Angeles Lakers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference Semifinals (4-1) versus Golden State Warriors  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference First Round (3-0) versus Denver Nuggets  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Nov 4, 1988 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 105 120 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Nov 5, 1988 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 104 117 0 2 L 2
3 Wed, Nov 9, 1988 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 111 103 1 2 W 1
4 Fri, Nov 11, 1988 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 141 103 2 2 W 2
5 Sat, Nov 12, 1988 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers L OT 127 138 2 3 L 1
6 Tue, Nov 15, 1988 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 119 89 3 3 W 1
7 Wed, Nov 16, 1988 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 123 104 4 3 W 2
8 Fri, Nov 18, 1988 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 105 121 4 4 L 1
9 Sat, Nov 19, 1988 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 121 134 4 5 L 2
10 Wed, Nov 23, 1988 Box Score New Jersey Nets L 129 133 4 6 L 3
11 Fri, Nov 25, 1988 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 110 105 5 6 W 1
12 Sat, Nov 26, 1988 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 104 117 5 7 L 1
13 Tue, Nov 29, 1988 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 124 107 6 7 W 1
14 Fri, Dec 2, 1988 Box Score Houston Rockets W 110 95 7 7 W 2
15 Sat, Dec 3, 1988 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W OT 114 106 8 7 W 3
16 Tue, Dec 6, 1988 Box Score Washington Bullets W 130 92 9 7 W 4
17 Wed, Dec 7, 1988 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 111 125 9 8 L 1
18 Fri, Dec 9, 1988 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 110 105 10 8 W 1
19 Tue, Dec 13, 1988 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 116 126 10 9 L 1
20 Fri, Dec 16, 1988 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 132 125 11 9 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sat, Dec 17, 1988 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 97 115 11 10 L 1
22 Tue, Dec 20, 1988 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 128 110 12 10 W 1
23 Thu, Dec 22, 1988 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 126 118 13 10 W 2
24 Fri, Dec 23, 1988 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 119 107 14 10 W 3
25 Mon, Dec 26, 1988 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 111 96 15 10 W 4
26 Wed, Dec 28, 1988 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 100 106 15 11 L 1
27 Fri, Dec 30, 1988 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 116 109 16 11 W 1
28 Mon, Jan 2, 1989 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 125 122 17 11 W 2
29 Wed, Jan 4, 1989 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 106 104 18 11 W 3
30 Fri, Jan 6, 1989 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 120 111 19 11 W 4
31 Sat, Jan 7, 1989 Box Score Miami Heat W 107 99 20 11 W 5
32 Mon, Jan 9, 1989 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 124 130 20 12 L 1
33 Wed, Jan 11, 1989 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 121 124 20 13 L 2
34 Fri, Jan 13, 1989 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 111 90 21 13 W 1
35 Mon, Jan 16, 1989 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 110 126 21 14 L 1
36 Thu, Jan 19, 1989 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets W 126 112 22 14 W 1
37 Sat, Jan 21, 1989 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 116 107 23 14 W 2
38 Tue, Jan 24, 1989 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 106 103 24 14 W 3
39 Fri, Jan 27, 1989 Box Score New York Knicks W 132 130 25 14 W 4
40 Sat, Jan 28, 1989 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 138 142 25 15 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Mon, Jan 30, 1989 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 126 100 26 15 W 1
42 Wed, Feb 1, 1989 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 114 97 27 15 W 2
43 Fri, Feb 3, 1989 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 117 121 27 16 L 1
44 Sat, Feb 4, 1989 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L OT 116 118 27 17 L 2
45 Mon, Feb 6, 1989 Box Score Utah Jazz W 104 87 28 17 W 1
46 Thu, Feb 9, 1989 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 120 113 29 17 W 2
47 Wed, Feb 15, 1989 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 135 112 30 17 W 3
48 Fri, Feb 17, 1989 Box Score Boston Celtics W 135 126 31 17 W 4
49 Sat, Feb 18, 1989 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 120 101 32 17 W 5
50 Mon, Feb 20, 1989 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 92 118 32 18 L 1
51 Tue, Feb 21, 1989 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 139 121 33 18 W 1
52 Fri, Feb 24, 1989 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 120 95 34 18 W 2
53 Sun, Feb 26, 1989 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 122 134 34 19 L 1
54 Tue, Feb 28, 1989 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 134 139 34 20 L 2
55 Thu, Mar 2, 1989 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 110 90 35 20 W 1
56 Sat, Mar 4, 1989 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 133 91 36 20 W 2
57 Mon, Mar 6, 1989 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 110 106 37 20 W 3
58 Tue, Mar 7, 1989 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 119 124 37 21 L 1
59 Fri, Mar 10, 1989 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 116 121 37 22 L 2
60 Sat, Mar 11, 1989 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 93 100 37 23 L 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Mon, Mar 13, 1989 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 112 104 38 23 W 1
62 Tue, Mar 14, 1989 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 114 112 39 23 W 2
63 Fri, Mar 17, 1989 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 129 124 40 23 W 3
64 Sat, Mar 18, 1989 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 122 104 41 23 W 4
65 Mon, Mar 20, 1989 Box Score Miami Heat W 115 97 42 23 W 5
66 Wed, Mar 22, 1989 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 111 112 42 24 L 1
67 Thu, Mar 23, 1989 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 154 124 43 24 W 1
68 Sat, Mar 25, 1989 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 123 103 44 24 W 2
69 Sun, Mar 26, 1989 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 116 118 44 25 L 1
70 Tue, Mar 28, 1989 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 127 104 45 25 W 1
71 Thu, Mar 30, 1989 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 123 135 45 26 L 1
72 Fri, Mar 31, 1989 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 122 104 46 26 W 1
73 Wed, Apr 5, 1989 Box Score Utah Jazz W 114 104 47 26 W 2
74 Thu, Apr 6, 1989 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 126 119 48 26 W 3
75 Sat, Apr 8, 1989 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 115 97 49 26 W 4
76 Wed, Apr 12, 1989 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 109 94 50 26 W 5
77 Thu, Apr 13, 1989 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 119 111 51 26 W 6
78 Sat, Apr 15, 1989 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 137 91 52 26 W 7
79 Mon, Apr 17, 1989 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 140 85 53 26 W 8
80 Wed, Apr 19, 1989 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 117 91 54 26 W 9
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 21, 1989 Box Score Houston Rockets L 101 112 54 27 L 1
82 Sat, Apr 22, 1989 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 121 111 55 27 W 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Apr 28, 1989 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 104 103 1 0 W 1
2 Sun, Apr 30, 1989 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 132 114 2 0 W 2
3 Tue, May 2, 1989 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 130 121 3 0 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
4 Sat, May 6, 1989 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 130 103 4 0 W 4
5 Tue, May 9, 1989 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 122 127 4 1 L 1
6 Thu, May 11, 1989 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 113 104 5 1 W 1
7 Sat, May 13, 1989 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 135 99 6 1 W 2
8 Tue, May 16, 1989 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 116 104 7 1 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
9 Sat, May 20, 1989 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 119 127 7 2 L 1
10 Tue, May 23, 1989 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 95 101 7 3 L 2
11 Fri, May 26, 1989 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 107 110 7 4 L 3
12 Sun, May 28, 1989 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 117 122 7 5 L 4