Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1947-48 Schedule and Results

1947-48 Philadelphia Warriors Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 27-21, Finished 1st in BAA Eastern Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Edward Gottlieb (27-21)

PTS/G: 73.4 (5th of 8) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 72.1 (5th of 8)
SRS: 0.69 (6th of 8)
Expected W-L: 27-21 (6th of 8)

Arena: Philadelphia Arena ▪ Attendance: NA

BAA 1948 Playoffs:
Lost BAA Finals (2-4) versus Baltimore Bullets
Won BAA Semifinals (3-4) versus St. Louis Bombers

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Nov 13, 1947 Box Score Providence Steam Rollers W 79 64 1 0 W 1
2 Fri, Nov 14, 1947 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 79 74 2 0 W 2
3 Sat, Nov 15, 1947 Box Score @ Providence Steam Rollers W 80 78 3 0 W 3
4 Wed, Nov 19, 1947 Box Score @ Washington Capitols L 67 74 3 1 L 1
5 Thu, Nov 20, 1947 Box Score Boston Celtics L 57 67 3 2 L 2
6 Sat, Nov 22, 1947 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 83 78 4 2 W 1
7 Thu, Nov 27, 1947 Box Score New York Knicks L 59 81 4 3 L 1
8 Fri, Nov 28, 1947 Box Score @ Chicago Stags L 71 75 4 4 L 2
9 Wed, Dec 3, 1947 Box Score Baltimore Bullets L 58 73 4 5 L 3
10 Tue, Dec 9, 1947 Box Score Providence Steam Rollers W OT 78 74 5 5 W 1
11 Thu, Dec 11, 1947 Box Score St. Louis Bombers L 69 74 5 6 L 1
12 Fri, Dec 12, 1947 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 67 69 5 7 L 2
13 Mon, Dec 15, 1947 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 74 71 6 7 W 1
14 Thu, Dec 18, 1947 Box Score New York Knicks L 71 99 6 8 L 1
15 Sat, Dec 20, 1947 Box Score @ Providence Steam Rollers W 80 74 7 8 W 1
16 Fri, Dec 26, 1947 Box Score Providence Steam Rollers W 89 61 8 8 W 2
17 Sat, Dec 27, 1947 Box Score @ Washington Capitols L 70 72 8 9 L 1
18 Tue, Dec 30, 1947 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 64 70 8 10 L 2
19 Thu, Jan 1, 1948 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 72 60 9 10 W 1
20 Fri, Jan 2, 1948 Box Score Washington Capitols W 69 60 10 10 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sun, Jan 4, 1948 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers L 66 80 10 11 L 1
22 Fri, Jan 9, 1948 Box Score Chicago Stags L 60 77 10 12 L 2
23 Sat, Jan 10, 1948 Box Score @ Washington Capitols L OT 99 106 10 13 L 3
24 Fri, Jan 16, 1948 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 72 63 11 13 W 1
25 Sat, Jan 17, 1948 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 79 77 12 13 W 2
26 Mon, Jan 19, 1948 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 63 57 13 13 W 3
27 Tue, Jan 20, 1948 Box Score St. Louis Bombers W 82 59 14 13 W 4
28 Thu, Jan 22, 1948 Box Score Boston Celtics L 54 61 14 14 L 1
29 Tue, Jan 27, 1948 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 77 68 15 14 W 1
30 Thu, Jan 29, 1948 Box Score New York Knicks L 60 66 15 15 L 1
31 Sat, Jan 31, 1948 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers W 66 60 16 15 W 1
32 Sun, Feb 1, 1948 Box Score @ Chicago Stags W 85 78 17 15 W 2
33 Thu, Feb 5, 1948 Box Score Washington Capitols L 60 72 17 16 L 1
34 Sat, Feb 7, 1948 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers L 54 67 17 17 L 2
35 Sun, Feb 8, 1948 Box Score @ Chicago Stags L 2OT 74 80 17 18 L 3
36 Thu, Feb 12, 1948 Box Score Boston Celtics W 69 60 18 18 W 1
37 Sat, Feb 14, 1948 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 47 78 18 19 L 1
38 Thu, Feb 19, 1948 Box Score Washington Capitols W 84 76 19 19 W 1
39 Tue, Feb 24, 1948 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 83 71 20 19 W 2
40 Thu, Feb 26, 1948 Box Score Chicago Stags W 89 80 21 19 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sat, Feb 28, 1948 Box Score @ Providence Steam Rollers W 83 82 22 19 W 4
42 Tue, Mar 2, 1948 Box Score New York Knicks W 76 66 23 19 W 5
43 Thu, Mar 4, 1948 Box Score Boston Celtics W 82 62 24 19 W 6
44 Tue, Mar 9, 1948 Box Score Chicago Stags L 79 93 24 20 L 1
45 Thu, Mar 11, 1948 Box Score St. Louis Bombers W 92 74 25 20 W 1
46 Sat, Mar 13, 1948 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 62 64 25 21 L 1
47 Tue, Mar 16, 1948 Box Score @ Providence Steam Rollers W 100 78 26 21 W 1
48 Thu, Mar 18, 1948 Box Score Providence Steam Rollers W 88 57 27 21 W 2

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Mar 23, 1948 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers L 58 60 0 1 L 1
2 Thu, Mar 25, 1948 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers W 65 64 1 1 W 1
3 Sat, Mar 27, 1948 Box Score St. Louis Bombers W 84 56 2 1 W 2
4 Tue, Mar 30, 1948 Box Score St. Louis Bombers L 51 56 2 2 L 1
5 Thu, Apr 1, 1948 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers L 62 69 2 3 L 2
6 Sat, Apr 3, 1948 Box Score St. Louis Bombers W 84 61 3 3 W 1
7 Tue, Apr 6, 1948 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers W 85 46 4 3 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
8 Sat, Apr 10, 1948 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 71 60 5 3 W 3
9 Tue, Apr 13, 1948 Box Score Baltimore Bullets L 63 66 5 4 L 1
10 Thu, Apr 15, 1948 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 70 72 5 5 L 2
11 Sat, Apr 17, 1948 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 75 78 5 6 L 3
12 Tue, Apr 20, 1948 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 91 82 6 6 W 1
13 Wed, Apr 21, 1948 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 73 88 6 7 L 1