Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978-79 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:WNBA 2014 Stats

1978-79 Portland Trail Blazers Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 45-37, Finished 4th in NBA Pacific Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Jack Ramsay (45-37)

PTS/G: 108.4 (14th of 22) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 107.1 (4th of 22)
SRS: 1.12 (11th of 22) ▪ Pace: 103.4 (17th of 22)
Off Rtg: 104.3 (11th of 22) ▪ Def Rtg: 103.1 (9th of 22)
Expected W-L: 44-38 (10th of 22)

Arena: Memorial Coliseum ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1979 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference First Round (1-2) versus Phoenix Suns  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sun, Oct 15, 1978 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 97 108 0 1 L 1
2 Tue, Oct 17, 1978 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 115 112 1 1 W 1
3 Wed, Oct 18, 1978 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 113 125 1 2 L 1
4 Fri, Oct 20, 1978 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 108 111 1 3 L 2
5 Sun, Oct 22, 1978 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 116 124 1 4 L 3
6 Tue, Oct 24, 1978 Box Score Washington Bullets W 104 102 2 4 W 1
7 Sat, Oct 28, 1978 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 106 95 3 4 W 2
8 Tue, Oct 31, 1978 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 112 96 4 4 W 3
9 Fri, Nov 3, 1978 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 119 98 5 4 W 4
10 Sun, Nov 5, 1978 Box Score New York Knicks W 111 96 6 4 W 5
11 Tue, Nov 7, 1978 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 103 143 6 5 L 1
12 Wed, Nov 8, 1978 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 112 109 7 5 W 1
13 Fri, Nov 10, 1978 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 86 91 7 6 L 1
14 Sun, Nov 12, 1978 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 98 91 8 6 W 1
15 Tue, Nov 14, 1978 Box Score New Orleans Jazz W 123 103 9 6 W 2
16 Sat, Nov 18, 1978 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 123 111 10 6 W 3
17 Sun, Nov 19, 1978 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 85 88 10 7 L 1
18 Tue, Nov 21, 1978 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 93 123 10 8 L 2
19 Wed, Nov 22, 1978 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 96 115 10 9 L 3
20 Fri, Nov 24, 1978 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 99 100 10 10 L 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sat, Nov 25, 1978 Box Score Houston Rockets W 127 105 11 10 W 1
22 Tue, Nov 28, 1978 Box Score Boston Celtics W 102 97 12 10 W 2
23 Thu, Nov 30, 1978 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 98 97 13 10 W 3
24 Sat, Dec 2, 1978 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 77 111 13 11 L 1
25 Wed, Dec 6, 1978 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 109 115 13 12 L 2
26 Fri, Dec 8, 1978 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 99 100 13 13 L 3
27 Sat, Dec 9, 1978 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 110 116 13 14 L 4
28 Tue, Dec 12, 1978 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 117 115 14 14 W 1
29 Fri, Dec 15, 1978 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 116 113 15 14 W 2
30 Sun, Dec 17, 1978 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 123 110 16 14 W 3
31 Sat, Dec 23, 1978 Box Score Washington Bullets W 114 109 17 14 W 4
32 Mon, Dec 25, 1978 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 115 102 18 14 W 5
33 Thu, Dec 28, 1978 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L OT 127 129 18 15 L 1
34 Fri, Dec 29, 1978 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 95 118 18 16 L 2
35 Tue, Jan 2, 1979 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 108 109 18 17 L 3
36 Fri, Jan 5, 1979 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 98 96 19 17 W 1
37 Tue, Jan 9, 1979 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 104 112 19 18 L 1
38 Thu, Jan 11, 1979 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 101 104 19 19 L 2
39 Fri, Jan 12, 1979 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 125 128 19 20 L 3
40 Sun, Jan 14, 1979 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 106 112 19 21 L 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Wed, Jan 17, 1979 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 110 111 19 22 L 5
42 Fri, Jan 19, 1979 Box Score @ New Orleans Jazz L 101 107 19 23 L 6
43 Sat, Jan 20, 1979 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 118 113 20 23 W 1
44 Wed, Jan 24, 1979 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 121 122 20 24 L 1
45 Thu, Jan 25, 1979 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 108 103 21 24 W 1
46 Sun, Jan 28, 1979 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 116 94 22 24 W 2
47 Tue, Jan 30, 1979 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 82 76 23 24 W 3
48 Wed, Jan 31, 1979 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 112 115 23 25 L 1
49 Fri, Feb 2, 1979 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 117 100 24 25 W 1
50 Tue, Feb 6, 1979 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 110 93 25 25 W 2
51 Fri, Feb 9, 1979 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 125 106 26 25 W 3
52 Sun, Feb 11, 1979 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 91 87 27 25 W 4
53 Tue, Feb 13, 1979 Box Score New Orleans Jazz W 120 101 28 25 W 5
54 Thu, Feb 15, 1979 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 116 119 28 26 L 1
55 Fri, Feb 16, 1979 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L OT 120 121 28 27 L 2
56 Sun, Feb 18, 1979 Box Score Boston Celtics W 111 104 29 27 W 1
57 Tue, Feb 20, 1979 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 97 99 29 28 L 1
58 Wed, Feb 21, 1979 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 83 106 29 29 L 2
59 Fri, Feb 23, 1979 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 99 110 29 30 L 3
60 Sun, Feb 25, 1979 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W OT 126 119 30 30 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Tue, Feb 27, 1979 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 118 115 31 30 W 2
62 Fri, Mar 2, 1979 Box Score Houston Rockets L 98 118 31 31 L 1
63 Sun, Mar 4, 1979 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 106 102 32 31 W 1
64 Tue, Mar 6, 1979 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 118 110 33 31 W 2
65 Wed, Mar 7, 1979 Box Score @ New Orleans Jazz W 103 102 34 31 W 3
66 Fri, Mar 9, 1979 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 116 125 34 32 L 1
67 Sun, Mar 11, 1979 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings W 115 100 35 32 W 1
68 Tue, Mar 13, 1979 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 103 82 36 32 W 2
69 Wed, Mar 14, 1979 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 105 110 36 33 L 1
70 Sat, Mar 17, 1979 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 124 113 37 33 W 1
71 Tue, Mar 20, 1979 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 115 109 38 33 W 2
72 Wed, Mar 21, 1979 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 114 110 39 33 W 3
73 Sat, Mar 24, 1979 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 100 98 40 33 W 4
74 Sun, Mar 25, 1979 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L OT 110 122 40 34 L 1
75 Tue, Mar 27, 1979 Box Score New York Knicks W 123 112 41 34 W 1
76 Thu, Mar 29, 1979 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 120 103 42 34 W 2
77 Fri, Mar 30, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 132 104 43 34 W 3
78 Sun, Apr 1, 1979 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 109 107 44 34 W 4
79 Tue, Apr 3, 1979 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 106 102 45 34 W 5
80 Wed, Apr 4, 1979 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 95 106 45 35 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 6, 1979 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 87 91 45 36 L 2
82 Sat, Apr 7, 1979 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 98 99 45 37 L 3

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Apr 10, 1979 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 103 107 0 1 L 1
2 Fri, Apr 13, 1979 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 96 92 1 1 W 1
3 Sun, Apr 15, 1979 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 91 101 1 2 L 1