Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1996-97 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:Linkable Shot Charts

1996-97 Portland Trail Blazers Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 49-33, Finished 3rd in NBA Pacific Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: P.J. Carlesimo (49-33)

PTS/G: 99.0 (11th of 29) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 94.8 (11th of 29)
SRS: 3.56 (9th of 29) ▪ Pace: 90.9 (12th of 29)
Off Rtg: 107.9 (10th of 29) ▪ Def Rtg: 103.3 (7th of 29)
Expected W-L: 53-29 (9th of 29)

Arena: Rose Garden Arena ▪ Attendance: 852,798 (3rd of 29)

NBA 1997 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference First Round (1-3) versus Los Angeles Lakers  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Nov 1, 1996 Box Score @ Vancouver Grizzlies W 114 85 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Nov 2, 1996 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 93 104 1 1 L 1
3 Mon, Nov 4, 1996 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 76 94 1 2 L 2
4 Tue, Nov 5, 1996 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 111 93 2 2 W 1
5 Thu, Nov 7, 1996 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W OT 95 94 3 2 W 2
6 Sat, Nov 9, 1996 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 102 103 3 3 L 1
7 Sun, Nov 10, 1996 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 94 81 4 3 W 1
8 Tue, Nov 12, 1996 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves L 97 100 4 4 L 1
9 Wed, Nov 13, 1996 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 70 81 4 5 L 2
10 Fri, Nov 15, 1996 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 93 85 5 5 W 1
11 Sun, Nov 17, 1996 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 88 83 6 5 W 2
12 Tue, Nov 19, 1996 Box Score Sacramento Kings W OT 92 90 7 5 W 3
13 Sat, Nov 23, 1996 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 105 65 8 5 W 4
14 Tue, Nov 26, 1996 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L OT 101 102 8 6 L 1
15 Wed, Nov 27, 1996 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 120 109 9 6 W 1
16 Fri, Nov 29, 1996 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 119 93 10 6 W 2
17 Sun, Dec 1, 1996 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 70 98 10 7 L 1
18 Tue, Dec 3, 1996 Box Score Indiana Pacers L OT 93 98 10 8 L 2
19 Thu, Dec 5, 1996 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 115 104 11 8 W 1
20 Fri, Dec 6, 1996 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 97 93 12 8 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Tue, Dec 10, 1996 Box Score Orlando Magic L 93 99 12 9 L 1
22 Thu, Dec 12, 1996 Box Score Vancouver Grizzlies W 99 78 13 9 W 1
23 Fri, Dec 13, 1996 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L OT 119 120 13 10 L 1
24 Sun, Dec 15, 1996 Box Score Houston Rockets L 89 99 13 11 L 2
25 Wed, Dec 18, 1996 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 102 106 13 12 L 3
26 Fri, Dec 20, 1996 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 107 77 14 12 W 1
27 Sat, Dec 21, 1996 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L OT 99 101 14 13 L 1
28 Mon, Dec 23, 1996 Box Score Washington Bullets L 84 106 14 14 L 2
29 Thu, Dec 26, 1996 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 94 99 14 15 L 3
30 Fri, Dec 27, 1996 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 102 98 15 15 W 1
31 Sun, Dec 29, 1996 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 110 86 16 15 W 2
32 Thu, Jan 2, 1997 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 112 96 17 15 W 3
33 Sat, Jan 4, 1997 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 110 104 18 15 W 4
34 Mon, Jan 6, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 88 84 19 15 W 5
35 Wed, Jan 8, 1997 Box Score Miami Heat L 81 85 19 16 L 1
36 Tue, Jan 14, 1997 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 95 86 20 16 W 1
37 Thu, Jan 16, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 102 98 21 16 W 2
38 Fri, Jan 17, 1997 Box Score Toronto Raptors L 92 94 21 17 L 1
39 Sun, Jan 19, 1997 Box Score Utah Jazz W 102 96 22 17 W 1
40 Tue, Jan 21, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 100 82 23 17 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Wed, Jan 22, 1997 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 97 98 23 18 L 1
42 Fri, Jan 24, 1997 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 115 105 24 18 W 1
43 Sat, Jan 25, 1997 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W 101 94 25 18 W 2
44 Tue, Jan 28, 1997 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors L 84 120 25 19 L 1
45 Wed, Jan 29, 1997 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 89 98 25 20 L 2
46 Fri, Jan 31, 1997 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 105 111 25 21 L 3
47 Sun, Feb 2, 1997 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves L 102 103 25 22 L 4
48 Tue, Feb 4, 1997 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 84 88 25 23 L 5
49 Tue, Feb 11, 1997 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 111 108 26 23 W 1
50 Thu, Feb 13, 1997 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 86 110 26 24 L 1
51 Sat, Feb 15, 1997 Box Score Houston Rockets W 109 105 27 24 W 1
52 Sun, Feb 16, 1997 Box Score Boston Celtics W 118 106 28 24 W 2
53 Wed, Feb 19, 1997 Box Score @ Orlando Magic L 84 95 28 25 L 1
54 Fri, Feb 21, 1997 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 114 110 29 25 W 1
55 Sat, Feb 22, 1997 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 80 97 29 26 L 1
56 Mon, Feb 24, 1997 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 89 116 29 27 L 2
57 Wed, Feb 26, 1997 Box Score New York Knicks L OT 95 96 29 28 L 3
58 Fri, Feb 28, 1997 Box Score Utah Jazz W 115 105 30 28 W 1
59 Sun, Mar 2, 1997 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 112 95 31 28 W 2
60 Tue, Mar 4, 1997 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 123 118 32 28 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Wed, Mar 5, 1997 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 121 99 33 28 W 4
62 Fri, Mar 7, 1997 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 80 69 34 28 W 5
63 Sun, Mar 9, 1997 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 103 93 35 28 W 6
64 Tue, Mar 11, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 109 105 36 28 W 7
65 Fri, Mar 14, 1997 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 96 73 37 28 W 8
66 Sun, Mar 16, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 106 94 38 28 W 9
67 Tue, Mar 18, 1997 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 92 87 39 28 W 10
68 Thu, Mar 20, 1997 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 97 78 40 28 W 11
69 Sat, Mar 22, 1997 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 104 108 40 29 L 1
70 Sun, Mar 23, 1997 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 94 88 41 29 W 1
71 Tue, Mar 25, 1997 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 89 96 41 30 L 1
72 Wed, Mar 26, 1997 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets W 88 87 42 30 W 1
73 Fri, Mar 28, 1997 Box Score Vancouver Grizzlies W 115 81 43 30 W 2
74 Tue, Apr 1, 1997 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 82 91 43 31 L 1
75 Fri, Apr 4, 1997 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 108 93 44 31 W 1
76 Sat, Apr 5, 1997 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 90 99 44 32 L 1
77 Mon, Apr 7, 1997 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 110 104 45 32 W 1
78 Tue, Apr 8, 1997 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 82 87 45 33 L 1
79 Thu, Apr 10, 1997 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 98 81 46 33 W 1
80 Wed, Apr 16, 1997 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 107 63 47 33 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Thu, Apr 17, 1997 Box Score @ Vancouver Grizzlies W 105 73 48 33 W 3
82 Sun, Apr 20, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 100 96 49 33 W 4

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Apr 25, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 77 95 0 1 L 1
2 Sun, Apr 27, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 93 107 0 2 L 2
3 Wed, Apr 30, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 98 90 1 2 W 1
4 Fri, May 2, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 91 95 1 3 L 1