Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978-79 Schedule and Results

1978-79 San Antonio Spurs Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 48-34, Finished 1st in NBA Central Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Doug Moe (48-34)

PTS/G: 119.3 (1st of 22) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 114.1 (20th of 22)
SRS: 4.97 (1st of 22) ▪ Pace: 110.6 (1st of 22)
Off Rtg: 107.1 (3rd of 22) ▪ Def Rtg: 102.4 (7th of 22)
Expected W-L: 53-29 (1st of 22)

Arena: HemisFair Arena ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1979 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Conference Finals (3-4) versus Washington Bullets  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Semifinals (3-4) versus Philadelphia 76ers  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 13, 1978 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 117 118 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Oct 14, 1978 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 153 111 1 1 W 1
3 Tue, Oct 17, 1978 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 110 107 2 1 W 2
4 Wed, Oct 18, 1978 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 127 125 3 1 W 3
5 Fri, Oct 20, 1978 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 117 133 3 2 L 1
6 Sun, Oct 22, 1978 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 121 134 3 3 L 2
7 Tue, Oct 24, 1978 Box Score Boston Celtics W 132 109 4 3 W 1
8 Sat, Oct 28, 1978 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 150 126 5 3 W 2
9 Tue, Oct 31, 1978 Box Score Golden State Warriors L OT 138 139 5 4 L 1
10 Wed, Nov 1, 1978 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 115 116 5 5 L 2
11 Fri, Nov 3, 1978 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 110 103 6 5 W 1
12 Sat, Nov 4, 1978 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 119 124 6 6 L 1
13 Wed, Nov 8, 1978 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 163 125 7 6 W 1
14 Fri, Nov 10, 1978 Box Score @ New Orleans Jazz L 102 113 7 7 L 1
15 Sat, Nov 11, 1978 Box Score Washington Bullets W 143 124 8 7 W 1
16 Wed, Nov 15, 1978 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 119 125 8 8 L 1
17 Sat, Nov 18, 1978 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 120 126 8 9 L 2
18 Tue, Nov 21, 1978 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 103 108 8 10 L 3
19 Thu, Nov 23, 1978 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 116 114 9 10 W 1
20 Sat, Nov 25, 1978 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 151 110 10 10 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Wed, Nov 29, 1978 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L OT 114 120 10 11 L 1
22 Sat, Dec 2, 1978 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 93 104 10 12 L 2
23 Wed, Dec 6, 1978 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 112 111 11 12 W 1
24 Fri, Dec 8, 1978 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 123 105 12 12 W 2
25 Sun, Dec 10, 1978 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 99 112 12 13 L 1
26 Tue, Dec 12, 1978 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 103 107 12 14 L 2
27 Wed, Dec 13, 1978 Box Score New York Knicks W 139 109 13 14 W 1
28 Fri, Dec 15, 1978 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 125 113 14 14 W 2
29 Sat, Dec 16, 1978 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 104 96 15 14 W 3
30 Tue, Dec 19, 1978 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 113 106 16 14 W 4
31 Wed, Dec 20, 1978 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 131 102 17 14 W 5
32 Fri, Dec 22, 1978 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 103 92 18 14 W 6
33 Sat, Dec 23, 1978 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 130 126 19 14 W 7
34 Tue, Dec 26, 1978 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 124 111 20 14 W 8
35 Wed, Dec 27, 1978 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 107 115 20 15 L 1
36 Thu, Dec 28, 1978 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 112 103 21 15 W 1
37 Sat, Dec 30, 1978 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 100 94 22 15 W 2
38 Wed, Jan 3, 1979 Box Score New Orleans Jazz W 123 97 23 15 W 3
39 Fri, Jan 5, 1979 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 110 104 24 15 W 4
40 Sat, Jan 6, 1979 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 105 108 24 16 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Tue, Jan 9, 1979 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 116 114 25 16 W 1
42 Thu, Jan 11, 1979 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 140 111 26 16 W 2
43 Sat, Jan 13, 1979 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 117 103 27 16 W 3
44 Wed, Jan 17, 1979 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 119 101 28 16 W 4
45 Fri, Jan 19, 1979 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 113 115 28 17 L 1
46 Sat, Jan 20, 1979 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 113 118 28 18 L 2
47 Wed, Jan 24, 1979 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 124 95 29 18 W 1
48 Fri, Jan 26, 1979 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 125 108 30 18 W 2
49 Sat, Jan 27, 1979 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 113 120 30 19 L 1
50 Sun, Jan 28, 1979 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 110 123 30 20 L 2
51 Tue, Jan 30, 1979 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W OT 112 108 31 20 W 1
52 Thu, Feb 1, 1979 Box Score Washington Bullets L 122 123 31 21 L 1
53 Fri, Feb 2, 1979 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 108 133 31 22 L 2
54 Tue, Feb 6, 1979 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L OT 111 119 31 23 L 3
55 Wed, Feb 7, 1979 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 126 113 32 23 W 1
56 Fri, Feb 9, 1979 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 106 125 32 24 L 1
57 Sun, Feb 11, 1979 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 125 107 33 24 W 1
58 Wed, Feb 14, 1979 Box Score Boston Celtics W 149 119 34 24 W 2
59 Fri, Feb 16, 1979 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W OT 121 120 35 24 W 3
60 Sun, Feb 18, 1979 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 104 124 35 25 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Tue, Feb 20, 1979 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 118 102 36 25 W 1
62 Sun, Feb 25, 1979 Box Score Houston Rockets W 127 107 37 25 W 2
63 Wed, Feb 28, 1979 Box Score New York Knicks W 135 112 38 25 W 3
64 Fri, Mar 2, 1979 Box Score Kansas City Kings W OT 129 125 39 25 W 4
65 Sun, Mar 4, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 128 129 39 26 L 1
66 Tue, Mar 6, 1979 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 103 99 40 26 W 1
67 Sat, Mar 10, 1979 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 111 110 41 26 W 2
68 Wed, Mar 14, 1979 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 125 112 42 26 W 3
69 Thu, Mar 15, 1979 Box Score @ New Orleans Jazz L 122 124 42 27 L 1
70 Fri, Mar 16, 1979 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 122 128 42 28 L 2
71 Sun, Mar 18, 1979 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 127 147 42 29 L 3
72 Tue, Mar 20, 1979 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 120 124 42 30 L 4
73 Wed, Mar 21, 1979 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings W 123 116 43 30 W 1
74 Fri, Mar 23, 1979 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 108 115 43 31 L 1
75 Sun, Mar 25, 1979 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 113 121 43 32 L 2
76 Wed, Mar 28, 1979 Box Score New Orleans Jazz W 122 94 44 32 W 1
77 Fri, Mar 30, 1979 Box Score Houston Rockets L 116 117 44 33 L 1
78 Sun, Apr 1, 1979 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 112 110 45 33 W 1
79 Tue, Apr 3, 1979 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 116 112 46 33 W 2
80 Wed, Apr 4, 1979 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 110 103 47 33 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Sat, Apr 7, 1979 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 106 123 47 34 L 1
82 Sun, Apr 8, 1979 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 117 101 48 34 W 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sun, Apr 15, 1979 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 119 106 1 0 W 1
2 Tue, Apr 17, 1979 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 121 120 2 0 W 2
3 Fri, Apr 20, 1979 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 115 123 2 1 L 1
4 Sun, Apr 22, 1979 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 115 112 3 1 W 1
5 Thu, Apr 26, 1979 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 97 120 3 2 L 1
6 Sun, Apr 29, 1979 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 90 92 3 3 L 2
7 Wed, May 2, 1979 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 111 108 4 3 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
8 Fri, May 4, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 118 97 5 3 W 2
9 Sun, May 6, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 95 115 5 4 L 1
10 Wed, May 9, 1979 Box Score Washington Bullets W 116 114 6 4 W 1
11 Fri, May 11, 1979 Box Score Washington Bullets W 118 102 7 4 W 2
12 Sun, May 13, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 103 107 7 5 L 1
13 Wed, May 16, 1979 Box Score Washington Bullets L 100 108 7 6 L 2
14 Fri, May 18, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 105 107 7 7 L 3