Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1983-84 Schedule and Results

1983-84 Utah Jazz Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 45-37, Finished 1st in NBA Midwest Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Frank Layden (45-37)

PTS/G: 115.0 (5th of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 113.8 (20th of 23)
SRS: 0.81 (9th of 23) ▪ Pace: 104.9 (3rd of 23)
Off Rtg: 109.0 (9th of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 108.0 (12th of 23)
Expected W-L: 44-38 (9th of 23)

Arena: Salt Palace ▪ Attendance: 400,065 (14th of 23)

NBA 1984 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference Semifinals (2-4) versus Phoenix Suns  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference First Round (2-3) versus Denver Nuggets  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 28, 1983 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 125 139 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Oct 29, 1983 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 115 120 0 2 L 2
3 Thu, Nov 3, 1983 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 129 112 1 2 W 1
4 Sat, Nov 5, 1983 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 124 118 2 2 W 2
5 Wed, Nov 9, 1983 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 99 105 2 3 L 1
6 Thu, Nov 10, 1983 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 118 109 3 3 W 1
7 Sat, Nov 12, 1983 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 136 122 4 3 W 2
8 Sun, Nov 13, 1983 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 118 124 4 4 L 1
9 Tue, Nov 15, 1983 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 112 114 4 5 L 2
10 Wed, Nov 16, 1983 Box Score Boston Celtics W 122 109 5 5 W 1
11 Fri, Nov 18, 1983 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 120 128 5 6 L 1
12 Sat, Nov 19, 1983 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 113 126 5 7 L 2
13 Tue, Nov 22, 1983 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W OT 130 126 6 7 W 1
14 Wed, Nov 23, 1983 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 117 128 6 8 L 1 at Las Vegas, NV
15 Fri, Nov 25, 1983 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 126 124 7 8 W 1
16 Sat, Nov 26, 1983 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 116 117 7 9 L 1
17 Tue, Nov 29, 1983 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 114 110 8 9 W 1 at Las Vegas, NV
18 Wed, Nov 30, 1983 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 117 115 9 9 W 2
19 Fri, Dec 2, 1983 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 116 113 10 9 W 3
20 Sat, Dec 3, 1983 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 112 107 11 9 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Wed, Dec 7, 1983 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 116 111 12 9 W 5
22 Fri, Dec 9, 1983 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 117 126 12 10 L 1 at Las Vegas, NV
23 Sat, Dec 10, 1983 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 128 121 13 10 W 1
24 Tue, Dec 13, 1983 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 107 105 14 10 W 2
25 Thu, Dec 15, 1983 Box Score Houston Rockets W 138 111 15 10 W 3
26 Sat, Dec 17, 1983 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 127 111 16 10 W 4
27 Wed, Dec 21, 1983 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 133 115 17 10 W 5
28 Fri, Dec 23, 1983 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 118 116 18 10 W 6
29 Tue, Dec 27, 1983 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 111 102 19 10 W 7
30 Wed, Dec 28, 1983 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 113 105 20 10 W 8
31 Fri, Dec 30, 1983 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 130 135 20 11 L 1
32 Tue, Jan 3, 1984 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 124 137 20 12 L 2
33 Wed, Jan 4, 1984 Box Score Houston Rockets W 116 111 21 12 W 1 at Las Vegas, NV
34 Fri, Jan 6, 1984 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 130 110 22 12 W 2
35 Tue, Jan 10, 1984 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 107 98 23 12 W 3
36 Wed, Jan 11, 1984 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 102 117 23 13 L 1
37 Fri, Jan 13, 1984 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 122 119 24 13 W 1
38 Sat, Jan 14, 1984 Box Score Washington Bullets W 121 96 25 13 W 2
39 Tue, Jan 17, 1984 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 106 112 25 14 L 1
40 Fri, Jan 20, 1984 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 120 113 26 14 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sat, Jan 21, 1984 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 105 115 26 15 L 1
42 Tue, Jan 24, 1984 Box Score Dallas Mavericks L 115 123 26 16 L 2 at Las Vegas, NV
43 Thu, Jan 26, 1984 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 125 115 27 16 W 1
44 Tue, Jan 31, 1984 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W OT 98 94 28 16 W 2 at Las Vegas, NV
45 Thu, Feb 2, 1984 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 116 95 29 16 W 3
46 Fri, Feb 3, 1984 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 105 109 29 17 L 1
47 Sat, Feb 4, 1984 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 116 102 30 17 W 1
48 Tue, Feb 7, 1984 Box Score San Diego Clippers L 103 109 30 18 L 1 at Las Vegas, NV
49 Fri, Feb 10, 1984 Box Score New York Knicks L 111 121 30 19 L 2
50 Sun, Feb 12, 1984 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 114 112 31 19 W 1
51 Tue, Feb 14, 1984 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 100 98 32 19 W 2
52 Thu, Feb 16, 1984 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 99 121 32 20 L 1
53 Fri, Feb 17, 1984 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 91 105 32 21 L 2
54 Sun, Feb 19, 1984 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 104 106 32 22 L 3
55 Tue, Feb 21, 1984 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 117 95 33 22 W 1
56 Thu, Feb 23, 1984 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 2OT 143 142 34 22 W 2
57 Fri, Feb 24, 1984 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 81 112 34 23 L 1
58 Sat, Feb 25, 1984 Box Score Dallas Mavericks L 95 97 34 24 L 2
59 Tue, Feb 28, 1984 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 100 113 34 25 L 3
60 Wed, Feb 29, 1984 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 97 103 34 26 L 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Fri, Mar 2, 1984 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 110 104 35 26 W 1
62 Sat, Mar 3, 1984 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 122 131 35 27 L 1
63 Mon, Mar 5, 1984 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 116 120 35 28 L 2
64 Wed, Mar 7, 1984 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 106 117 35 29 L 3
65 Sat, Mar 10, 1984 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 105 114 35 30 L 4
66 Sun, Mar 11, 1984 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 97 120 35 31 L 5
67 Tue, Mar 13, 1984 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 124 119 36 31 W 1 at Las Vegas, NV
68 Thu, Mar 15, 1984 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 115 111 37 31 W 2
69 Sat, Mar 17, 1984 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 118 103 38 31 W 3
70 Mon, Mar 19, 1984 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 143 125 39 31 W 4
71 Thu, Mar 22, 1984 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 126 129 39 32 L 1
72 Fri, Mar 23, 1984 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 104 115 39 33 L 2 at Las Vegas, NV
73 Sun, Mar 25, 1984 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 121 98 40 33 W 1 at Tacoma, WA
74 Tue, Mar 27, 1984 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 110 106 41 33 W 2
75 Thu, Mar 29, 1984 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 106 96 42 33 W 3
76 Sat, Mar 31, 1984 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 103 105 42 34 L 1
77 Mon, Apr 2, 1984 Box Score Houston Rockets W 111 100 43 34 W 1
78 Thu, Apr 5, 1984 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 115 129 43 35 L 1 at Las Vegas, NV
79 Sat, Apr 7, 1984 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 100 109 43 36 L 2
80 Tue, Apr 10, 1984 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 135 120 44 36 W 1 at Las Vegas, NV
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Thu, Apr 12, 1984 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 113 94 45 36 W 2
82 Sat, Apr 14, 1984 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 128 146 45 37 L 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Apr 17, 1984 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 123 121 1 0 W 1
2 Thu, Apr 19, 1984 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 116 132 1 1 L 1
3 Sun, Apr 22, 1984 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 117 121 1 2 L 2
4 Tue, Apr 24, 1984 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 129 124 2 2 W 1
5 Thu, Apr 26, 1984 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 127 111 3 2 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
6 Sun, Apr 29, 1984 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 105 95 4 2 W 3
7 Wed, May 2, 1984 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 97 102 4 3 L 1
8 Fri, May 4, 1984 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 94 106 4 4 L 2
9 Sun, May 6, 1984 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L OT 110 111 4 5 L 3
10 Tue, May 8, 1984 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 118 106 5 5 W 1
11 Thu, May 10, 1984 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 82 102 5 6 L 1