Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1984-85 Schedule and Results

1984-85 Utah Jazz Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 41-41, Finished 4th in NBA Midwest Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Frank Layden (41-41)

PTS/G: 109.0 (14th of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 109.1 (8th of 23)
SRS: -0.32 (13th of 23) ▪ Pace: 105.1 (2nd of 23)
Off Rtg: 103.3 (21st of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 103.4 (1st of 23)
Expected W-L: 41-41 (12th of 23)

Arena: Salt Palace ▪ Attendance: 371,829 (17th of 23)

NBA 1985 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference Semifinals (1-4) versus Denver Nuggets  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference First Round (2-3) versus Houston Rockets  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 26, 1984 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 94 102 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Oct 27, 1984 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers L 94 103 0 2 L 2
3 Tue, Oct 30, 1984 Box Score New York Knicks W 117 111 1 2 W 1
4 Fri, Nov 2, 1984 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 107 101 2 2 W 2 at Las Vegas, NV
5 Sat, Nov 3, 1984 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 107 112 2 3 L 1
6 Wed, Nov 7, 1984 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 136 124 3 3 W 1
7 Fri, Nov 9, 1984 Box Score Golden State Warriors W OT 125 117 4 3 W 2
8 Sat, Nov 10, 1984 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 135 147 4 4 L 1
9 Mon, Nov 12, 1984 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 123 97 5 4 W 1
10 Thu, Nov 15, 1984 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 120 129 5 5 L 1
11 Sat, Nov 17, 1984 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 108 94 6 5 W 1
12 Tue, Nov 20, 1984 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 122 129 6 6 L 1
13 Wed, Nov 21, 1984 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 90 122 6 7 L 2 at New Orleans, LA
14 Fri, Nov 23, 1984 Box Score Houston Rockets W 111 98 7 7 W 1
15 Sat, Nov 24, 1984 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 123 117 8 7 W 2
16 Tue, Nov 27, 1984 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 102 115 8 8 L 1
17 Wed, Nov 28, 1984 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 109 114 8 9 L 2
18 Fri, Nov 30, 1984 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 116 97 9 9 W 1
19 Sat, Dec 1, 1984 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 111 118 9 10 L 1
20 Tue, Dec 4, 1984 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 107 105 10 10 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Thu, Dec 6, 1984 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 99 106 10 11 L 1
22 Sun, Dec 9, 1984 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 123 120 11 11 W 1 at Las Vegas, NV
23 Tue, Dec 11, 1984 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 85 82 12 11 W 2
24 Thu, Dec 13, 1984 Box Score @ New York Knicks L OT 115 119 12 12 L 1
25 Fri, Dec 14, 1984 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 106 117 12 13 L 2
26 Sun, Dec 16, 1984 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 102 115 12 14 L 3
27 Tue, Dec 18, 1984 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 81 88 12 15 L 4
28 Thu, Dec 20, 1984 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 117 116 13 15 W 1
29 Sat, Dec 22, 1984 Box Score Dallas Mavericks L 96 113 13 16 L 1
30 Wed, Dec 26, 1984 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 133 122 14 16 W 1
31 Fri, Dec 28, 1984 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 111 114 14 17 L 1
32 Sat, Dec 29, 1984 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 99 97 15 17 W 1
33 Tue, Jan 1, 1985 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 117 119 15 18 L 1
34 Fri, Jan 4, 1985 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 118 108 16 18 W 1
35 Sun, Jan 6, 1985 Box Score Houston Rockets W 121 92 17 18 W 2
36 Mon, Jan 7, 1985 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers L 106 116 17 19 L 1
37 Thu, Jan 10, 1985 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 112 120 17 20 L 2
38 Sat, Jan 12, 1985 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 94 109 17 21 L 3
39 Tue, Jan 15, 1985 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 101 121 17 22 L 4
40 Wed, Jan 16, 1985 Box Score Washington Bullets L 101 103 17 23 L 5
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Fri, Jan 18, 1985 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 127 122 18 23 W 1
42 Sat, Jan 19, 1985 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 95 120 18 24 L 1
43 Tue, Jan 22, 1985 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 102 99 19 24 W 1
44 Thu, Jan 24, 1985 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 109 110 19 25 L 1
45 Sat, Jan 26, 1985 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 96 83 20 25 W 1
46 Mon, Jan 28, 1985 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 100 104 20 26 L 1
47 Fri, Feb 1, 1985 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 121 109 21 26 W 1
48 Sat, Feb 2, 1985 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 105 104 22 26 W 2
49 Tue, Feb 5, 1985 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 106 126 22 27 L 1
50 Thu, Feb 7, 1985 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings W 114 96 23 27 W 1
51 Tue, Feb 12, 1985 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 122 110 24 27 W 2
52 Wed, Feb 13, 1985 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 88 94 24 28 L 1
53 Fri, Feb 15, 1985 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 109 100 25 28 W 1
54 Mon, Feb 18, 1985 Box Score Boston Celtics L 94 110 25 29 L 1
55 Wed, Feb 20, 1985 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W OT 110 104 26 29 W 1
56 Fri, Feb 22, 1985 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 102 98 27 29 W 2
57 Sun, Feb 24, 1985 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 108 117 27 30 L 1
58 Tue, Feb 26, 1985 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 103 96 28 30 W 1
59 Wed, Feb 27, 1985 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 100 119 28 31 L 1
60 Fri, Mar 1, 1985 Box Score Houston Rockets L 115 119 28 32 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sun, Mar 3, 1985 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 93 121 28 33 L 3
62 Wed, Mar 6, 1985 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 94 90 29 33 W 1
63 Thu, Mar 7, 1985 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 122 114 30 33 W 2
64 Sat, Mar 9, 1985 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 111 105 31 33 W 3
65 Tue, Mar 12, 1985 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 108 123 31 34 L 1
66 Wed, Mar 13, 1985 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 105 120 31 35 L 2
67 Fri, Mar 15, 1985 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 115 112 32 35 W 1
68 Sun, Mar 17, 1985 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 101 107 32 36 L 1
69 Mon, Mar 18, 1985 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 136 125 33 36 W 1
70 Wed, Mar 20, 1985 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers L 110 121 33 37 L 1
71 Fri, Mar 22, 1985 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 110 85 34 37 W 1
72 Sun, Mar 24, 1985 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 110 92 35 37 W 2
73 Tue, Mar 26, 1985 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 89 104 35 38 L 1
74 Wed, Mar 27, 1985 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 116 101 36 38 W 1
75 Fri, Mar 29, 1985 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 114 109 37 38 W 2
76 Sat, Mar 30, 1985 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 96 106 37 39 L 1
77 Thu, Apr 4, 1985 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 118 119 37 40 L 2
78 Sat, Apr 6, 1985 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 105 94 38 40 W 1
79 Tue, Apr 9, 1985 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 123 104 39 40 W 2
80 Thu, Apr 11, 1985 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 145 107 40 40 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 12, 1985 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 92 96 40 41 L 1
82 Sun, Apr 14, 1985 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 104 102 41 41 W 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Apr 19, 1985 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 115 101 1 0 W 1
2 Sun, Apr 21, 1985 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 96 122 1 1 L 1
3 Wed, Apr 24, 1985 Box Score Houston Rockets W 112 104 2 1 W 1
4 Fri, Apr 26, 1985 Box Score Houston Rockets L 94 96 2 2 L 1
5 Sun, Apr 28, 1985 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 104 97 3 2 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
6 Tue, Apr 30, 1985 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 113 130 3 3 L 1
7 Thu, May 2, 1985 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L OT 123 131 3 4 L 2
8 Sat, May 4, 1985 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 131 123 4 4 W 1
9 Sun, May 5, 1985 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 118 125 4 5 L 1
10 Tue, May 7, 1985 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 104 116 4 6 L 2