Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Virginia Squires > 1972-73 Schedule and Results

1972-73 Virginia Squires Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 42-42, Finished 3rd in ABA Eastern Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Al Bianchi (42-42)

PTS/G: 114.1 (4th of 10) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 114.4 (8th of 10)
SRS: -0.29 (6th of 10) ▪ Pace: 112.5 (2nd of 10)
Off Rtg: 102.4 (5th of 10) ▪ Def Rtg: 102.7 (7th of 10)
Expected W-L: 41-43 (6th of 10)

Arena: Norfolk Scope ▪ Attendance: NA

ABA 1973 Playoffs:
Lost ABA Eastern Division Semifinals (4-1) versus Kentucky Colonels  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Oct 12, 1972 Carolina Cougars L 115 123 0 1 L 1 at Richmond, VA
2 Sat, Oct 14, 1972 @ Kentucky Colonels L 110 130 0 2 L 2
3 Tue, Oct 17, 1972 @ San Diego Conquistadors L 112 117 0 3 L 3
4 Wed, Oct 18, 1972 @ Denver Rockets L 109 115 0 4 L 4
5 Fri, Oct 20, 1972 @ New York Nets W 130 120 1 4 W 1
6 Sat, Oct 21, 1972 Carolina Cougars W 119 110 2 4 W 2 at Norfolk, VA
7 Tue, Oct 24, 1972 @ Memphis Tams W 123 111 3 4 W 3
8 Thu, Oct 26, 1972 Denver Rockets W 2 0 4 4 W 4 at Richmond, VA; forfeit to VIR
9 Fri, Oct 27, 1972 Dallas Chaparrals L 103 108 4 5 L 1 at Hampton, VA
10 Sat, Oct 28, 1972 @ Carolina Cougars L 109 141 4 6 L 2 at Greensboro, NC
11 Tue, Oct 31, 1972 @ Carolina Cougars W 120 114 5 6 W 1 at Greensboro, NC
12 Wed, Nov 1, 1972 @ Indiana Pacers L 109 120 5 7 L 1
13 Fri, Nov 3, 1972 San Diego Conquistadors W 127 123 6 7 W 1 at Richmond, VA
14 Sun, Nov 5, 1972 @ San Diego Conquistadors L 121 132 6 8 L 1
15 Wed, Nov 8, 1972 @ Denver Rockets W 116 111 7 8 W 1
16 Thu, Nov 9, 1972 Indiana Pacers W 134 126 8 8 W 2 at Hampton, VA
17 Fri, Nov 10, 1972 San Diego Conquistadors W 125 97 9 8 W 3 at Norfolk, VA
18 Sat, Nov 11, 1972 @ Carolina Cougars L 128 136 9 9 L 1 at Charlotte, NC
19 Tue, Nov 14, 1972 Carolina Cougars L 118 127 9 10 L 2 at Richmond, VA
20 Thu, Nov 16, 1972 Utah Stars W 131 127 10 10 W 1 at Norfolk, VA
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Nov 17, 1972 Kentucky Colonels W 122 115 11 10 W 2 at Hampton, VA
22 Sun, Nov 19, 1972 @ Memphis Tams L 118 130 11 11 L 1
23 Wed, Nov 22, 1972 @ New York Nets L 105 109 11 12 L 2
24 Thu, Nov 23, 1972 Carolina Cougars W 116 106 12 12 W 1 at Hampton, VA
25 Sat, Nov 25, 1972 Memphis Tams W 122 108 13 12 W 2 at Richmond, VA
26 Tue, Nov 28, 1972 @ Memphis Tams W 120 115 14 12 W 3
27 Wed, Nov 29, 1972 Memphis Tams W 128 117 15 12 W 4 at Norfolk, VA
28 Sat, Dec 2, 1972 San Diego Conquistadors W 111 107 16 12 W 5 at Hampton, VA
29 Sun, Dec 3, 1972 @ Memphis Tams L 115 124 16 13 L 1
30 Wed, Dec 6, 1972 @ Kentucky Colonels L 105 119 16 14 L 2
31 Thu, Dec 7, 1972 Indiana Pacers W 132 129 17 14 W 1 at Richmond, VA
32 Fri, Dec 8, 1972 @ New York Nets L 124 126 17 15 L 1
33 Sat, Dec 9, 1972 Denver Rockets W 101 98 18 15 W 1 at Richmond, VA
34 Tue, Dec 12, 1972 @ Utah Stars L 104 123 18 16 L 1
35 Thu, Dec 14, 1972 @ Denver Rockets L 99 103 18 17 L 2
36 Fri, Dec 15, 1972 Carolina Cougars L 97 113 18 18 L 3 at Norfolk, VA
37 Sat, Dec 16, 1972 New York Nets W 124 107 19 18 W 1 at Hampton, VA
38 Sun, Dec 17, 1972 @ New York Nets L 108 112 19 19 L 1
39 Sat, Dec 23, 1972 Dallas Chaparrals W 112 107 20 19 W 1 at Richmond, VA
40 Tue, Dec 26, 1972 @ Dallas Chaparrals L 126 131 20 20 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Wed, Dec 27, 1972 @ Denver Rockets L 113 115 20 21 L 2
42 Thu, Dec 28, 1972 Dallas Chaparrals W 124 117 21 21 W 1 at Hampton, VA
43 Sat, Dec 30, 1972 Memphis Tams W 120 104 22 21 W 2 at Norfolk, VA
44 Thu, Jan 4, 1973 New York Nets W 128 97 23 21 W 3 at Hampton, VA
45 Fri, Jan 5, 1973 @ Carolina Cougars L 118 135 23 22 L 1 at Greensboro, NC
46 Sat, Jan 6, 1973 Kentucky Colonels W 113 109 24 22 W 1 at Norfolk, VA
47 Tue, Jan 9, 1973 @ Kentucky Colonels L 106 113 24 23 L 1
48 Fri, Jan 12, 1973 @ New York Nets W 103 93 25 23 W 1
49 Tue, Jan 16, 1973 @ Memphis Tams W 127 122 26 23 W 2
50 Thu, Jan 18, 1973 Denver Rockets W 116 110 27 23 W 3 at Norfolk, VA
51 Fri, Jan 19, 1973 Indiana Pacers L 121 129 27 24 L 1 at Richmond, VA
52 Sat, Jan 20, 1973 @ Indiana Pacers L 110 121 27 25 L 2
53 Fri, Jan 26, 1973 Utah Stars L 121 127 27 26 L 3 at Richmond, VA
54 Sat, Jan 27, 1973 Kentucky Colonels L 99 106 27 27 L 4 at Norfolk, VA
55 Mon, Jan 29, 1973 @ Utah Stars W 122 121 28 27 W 1
56 Tue, Jan 30, 1973 @ Dallas Chaparrals L OT 129 135 28 28 L 1
57 Wed, Jan 31, 1973 @ New York Nets W 100 94 29 28 W 1
58 Thu, Feb 1, 1973 Carolina Cougars L 98 113 29 29 L 1 at Norfolk, VA
59 Sat, Feb 3, 1973 Memphis Tams W 142 125 30 29 W 1 at Hampton, VA
60 Thu, Feb 8, 1973 New York Nets W 123 108 31 29 W 2 at Norfolk, VA
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sat, Feb 10, 1973 Kentucky Colonels W 105 100 32 29 W 3 at Richmond, VA
62 Mon, Feb 12, 1973 @ Indiana Pacers L OT 119 127 32 30 L 1
63 Sat, Feb 17, 1973 Kentucky Colonels L 105 112 32 31 L 2 at Hampton, VA
64 Tue, Feb 20, 1973 @ Memphis Tams L 103 107 32 32 L 3
65 Sat, Feb 24, 1973 Indiana Pacers W 126 115 33 32 W 1 at Norfolk, VA
66 Wed, Feb 28, 1973 @ Kentucky Colonels L 97 117 33 33 L 1
67 Thu, Mar 1, 1973 San Diego Conquistadors W 125 124 34 33 W 1 at Norfolk, VA
68 Fri, Mar 2, 1973 Memphis Tams W 112 100 35 33 W 2 at Hampton, VA
69 Sun, Mar 4, 1973 @ San Diego Conquistadors L 110 115 35 34 L 1
70 Mon, Mar 5, 1973 @ Utah Stars L 110 117 35 35 L 2
71 Tue, Mar 6, 1973 Dallas Chaparrals W 121 105 36 35 W 1 at Norfolk, VA
72 Thu, Mar 8, 1973 New York Nets W 130 118 37 35 W 2 at Richmond, VA
73 Fri, Mar 9, 1973 Kentucky Colonels L 113 119 37 36 L 1 at Norfolk, VA
74 Sat, Mar 10, 1973 Denver Rockets W 106 103 38 36 W 1 at Hampton, VA
75 Wed, Mar 14, 1973 @ Dallas Chaparrals W 125 114 39 36 W 2
76 Fri, Mar 16, 1973 @ Carolina Cougars W 123 118 40 36 W 3 at Greensboro, NC
77 Sat, Mar 17, 1973 Utah Stars L 103 112 40 37 L 1 at Norfolk, VA
78 Sun, Mar 18, 1973 @ Indiana Pacers L 105 119 40 38 L 2
79 Tue, Mar 20, 1973 @ Dallas Chaparrals L 120 122 40 39 L 3
80 Wed, Mar 21, 1973 @ Utah Stars L 115 134 40 40 L 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 23, 1973 @ San Diego Conquistadors L 92 104 40 41 L 5
82 Sat, Mar 24, 1973 Utah Stars W 119 104 41 41 W 1 at Hampton, VA
83 Sun, Mar 25, 1973 @ Kentucky Colonels L 95 111 41 42 L 1
84 Wed, Mar 28, 1973 New York Nets W 121 106 42 42 W 1 at Norfolk, VA

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Mar 30, 1973 @ Kentucky Colonels L 101 129 0 1 L 1
2 Sun, Apr 1, 1973 @ Kentucky Colonels W 109 94 1 1 W 1
3 Tue, Apr 3, 1973 Kentucky Colonels L OT 113 115 1 2 L 1
4 Fri, Apr 6, 1973 Kentucky Colonels L 90 108 1 3 L 2
5 Sat, Apr 7, 1973 @ Kentucky Colonels L 103 114 1 4 L 3