Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Washington Capitols > 1948-49 Schedule and Results

1948-49 Washington Capitols Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 38-22, Finished 1st in BAA Eastern Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Red Auerbach (38-22)

PTS/G: 81.8 (6th of 12) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 79.4 (5th of 12)
SRS: 2.11 (4th of 12)
Expected W-L: 36-24 (4th of 12)

Arena: Uline Arena ▪ Attendance: NA

BAA 1949 Playoffs:
Lost BAA Finals (4-2) versus Minneapolis Lakers
Won BAA Eastern Division Finals (2-1) versus New York Knicks
Won BAA Eastern Division Semifinals (2-0) versus Philadelphia Warriors

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Wed, Nov 3, 1948 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 77 70 1 0 W 1
2 Thu, Nov 4, 1948 Box Score @ Providence Steam Rollers W 3OT 99 95 2 0 W 2
3 Sat, Nov 6, 1948 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W 67 62 3 0 W 3
4 Wed, Nov 10, 1948 Box Score Rochester Royals W 73 66 4 0 W 4
5 Thu, Nov 11, 1948 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 70 68 5 0 W 5
6 Sat, Nov 13, 1948 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 80 71 6 0 W 6
7 Wed, Nov 17, 1948 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 73 62 7 0 W 7
8 Sat, Nov 20, 1948 Box Score Boston Celtics W 90 75 8 0 W 8
9 Sun, Nov 21, 1948 Box Score @ Rochester Royals W 80 77 9 0 W 9
10 Tue, Nov 23, 1948 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 71 68 10 0 W 10
11 Thu, Nov 25, 1948 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 81 73 11 0 W 11
12 Sat, Nov 27, 1948 Box Score Indianapolis Jets W 94 76 12 0 W 12
13 Wed, Dec 1, 1948 Box Score Providence Steam Rollers W 75 63 13 0 W 13
14 Thu, Dec 2, 1948 Box Score @ Providence Steam Rollers W 66 61 14 0 W 14
15 Sat, Dec 4, 1948 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 83 82 15 0 W 15
16 Tue, Dec 7, 1948 Box Score @ Indianapolis Jets L 78 94 15 1 L 1
17 Wed, Dec 8, 1948 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers W 94 83 16 1 W 1
18 Fri, Dec 10, 1948 Box Score N St. Louis Bombers L OT 83 88 16 2 L 1 at Chicago, IL
19 Sat, Dec 11, 1948 Box Score St. Louis Bombers W 87 63 17 2 W 1
20 Wed, Dec 15, 1948 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 92 81 18 2 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sat, Dec 18, 1948 Box Score Boston Celtics W 69 60 19 2 W 3
22 Wed, Dec 22, 1948 Box Score Providence Steam Rollers W 102 77 20 2 W 4
23 Sat, Dec 25, 1948 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 88 74 21 2 W 5
24 Sun, Dec 26, 1948 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons L 73 91 21 3 L 1
25 Wed, Dec 29, 1948 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 68 91 21 4 L 2
26 Thu, Dec 30, 1948 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers W 81 68 22 4 W 1
27 Sat, Jan 1, 1949 Box Score Chicago Stags W 92 90 23 4 W 2
28 Tue, Jan 4, 1949 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 84 78 24 4 W 3
29 Wed, Jan 5, 1949 Box Score Baltimore Bullets L 68 88 24 5 L 1
30 Sat, Jan 8, 1949 Box Score Indianapolis Jets W 89 81 25 5 W 1
31 Mon, Jan 10, 1949 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 94 83 26 5 W 2
32 Wed, Jan 12, 1949 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 92 106 26 6 L 1
33 Sat, Jan 15, 1949 Box Score New York Knicks W 75 73 27 6 W 1
34 Sun, Jan 16, 1949 Box Score @ Chicago Stags L 70 92 27 7 L 1
35 Thu, Jan 20, 1949 Box Score @ Providence Steam Rollers W 88 81 28 7 W 1
36 Sat, Jan 22, 1949 Box Score Boston Celtics W 95 64 29 7 W 2
37 Sun, Jan 23, 1949 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 97 93 30 7 W 3
38 Wed, Jan 26, 1949 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 86 96 30 8 L 1
39 Fri, Jan 28, 1949 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 90 91 30 9 L 2
40 Sun, Jan 30, 1949 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 79 84 30 10 L 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Tue, Feb 1, 1949 Box Score @ Indianapolis Jets L 69 83 30 11 L 4
42 Wed, Feb 2, 1949 Box Score Indianapolis Jets W 83 57 31 11 W 1
43 Thu, Feb 3, 1949 Box Score @ St. Louis Bombers W 74 65 32 11 W 2
44 Sat, Feb 5, 1949 Box Score New York Knicks L 73 83 32 12 L 1
45 Sun, Feb 6, 1949 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons L 72 82 32 13 L 2
46 Wed, Feb 9, 1949 Box Score Rochester Royals W 2OT 99 94 33 13 W 1
47 Sat, Feb 12, 1949 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors L 88 91 33 14 L 1
48 Tue, Feb 15, 1949 Box Score @ Rochester Royals L 79 91 33 15 L 2
49 Sat, Feb 19, 1949 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 92 88 34 15 W 1
50 Wed, Feb 23, 1949 Box Score Providence Steam Rollers W 100 88 35 15 W 2
51 Sat, Feb 26, 1949 Box Score Chicago Stags L 90 103 35 16 L 1
52 Mon, Feb 28, 1949 Box Score @ Chicago Stags W 67 57 36 16 W 1
53 Tue, Mar 1, 1949 Box Score @ Rochester Royals L 64 67 36 17 L 1
54 Wed, Mar 2, 1949 Box Score St. Louis Bombers L 75 82 36 18 L 2
55 Sat, Mar 5, 1949 Box Score Chicago Stags L 95 106 36 19 L 3
56 Wed, Mar 9, 1949 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 74 90 36 20 L 4
57 Sat, Mar 12, 1949 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 87 60 37 20 W 1
58 Wed, Mar 16, 1949 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W 85 72 38 20 W 2
59 Thu, Mar 17, 1949 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors L 81 84 38 21 L 1
60 Sat, Mar 19, 1949 Box Score New York Knicks L 70 82 38 22 L 2

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Wed, Mar 23, 1949 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 92 70 1 0 W 1
2 Thu, Mar 24, 1949 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 80 78 2 0 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
3 Tue, Mar 29, 1949 Box Score New York Knicks W 77 71 3 0 W 3
4 Thu, Mar 31, 1949 Box Score @ New York Knicks L OT 84 86 3 1 L 1
5 Sat, Apr 2, 1949 Box Score New York Knicks W 84 76 4 1 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
6 Mon, Apr 4, 1949 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 84 88 4 2 L 1
7 Wed, Apr 6, 1949 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 62 76 4 3 L 2
8 Fri, Apr 8, 1949 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers L 74 94 4 4 L 3
9 Sat, Apr 9, 1949 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W 83 71 5 4 W 1
10 Mon, Apr 11, 1949 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W 74 65 6 4 W 2
11 Wed, Apr 13, 1949 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 56 77 6 5 L 1 at Saint Paul, MN