Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Boston Celtics > 1979-80 Schedule and Results

1979-80 Boston Celtics Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 61-21, Finished 1st in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Bill Fitch (61-21)

PTS/G: 113.5 (5th of 22) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 105.7 (6th of 22)
SRS: 7.37 (1st of 22) ▪ Pace: 102.6 (12th of 22)
Off Rtg: 109.4 (2nd of 22) ▪ Def Rtg: 101.9 (4th of 22)
Expected W-L: 60-22 (1st of 22)

Arena: Boston Garden ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1980 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Conference Finals (4-1) versus Philadelphia 76ers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Semifinals (4-0) versus Houston Rockets  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 12, 1979 Box Score Houston Rockets W 114 106 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Oct 13, 1979 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 139 117 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, Oct 17, 1979 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 127 108 3 0 W 3
4 Fri, Oct 19, 1979 Box Score Washington Bullets W 130 93 4 0 W 4
5 Sat, Oct 20, 1979 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L OT 128 131 4 1 L 1
6 Tue, Oct 23, 1979 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 120 129 4 2 L 2
7 Wed, Oct 24, 1979 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 100 99 5 2 W 1
8 Sat, Oct 27, 1979 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 100 95 6 2 W 2
9 Wed, Oct 31, 1979 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 116 79 7 2 W 3
10 Sat, Nov 3, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 118 97 8 2 W 4
11 Wed, Nov 7, 1979 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 117 105 9 2 W 5
12 Fri, Nov 9, 1979 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 127 119 10 2 W 6
13 Sat, Nov 10, 1979 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 94 95 10 3 L 1
14 Wed, Nov 14, 1979 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 115 111 11 3 W 1
15 Fri, Nov 16, 1979 Box Score Utah Jazz W 113 97 12 3 W 2
16 Sat, Nov 17, 1979 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 109 113 12 4 L 1
17 Wed, Nov 21, 1979 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 111 103 13 4 W 1
18 Fri, Nov 23, 1979 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 118 103 14 4 W 2
19 Sat, Nov 24, 1979 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 106 101 15 4 W 3
20 Wed, Nov 28, 1979 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 119 97 16 4 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Nov 30, 1979 Box Score New York Knicks W 100 97 17 4 W 5
22 Sat, Dec 1, 1979 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W OT 106 102 18 4 W 6
23 Sun, Dec 2, 1979 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 88 94 18 5 L 1
24 Tue, Dec 4, 1979 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W OT 118 114 19 5 W 1
25 Wed, Dec 5, 1979 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 92 120 19 6 L 1
26 Fri, Dec 7, 1979 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 100 92 20 6 W 1
27 Sat, Dec 8, 1979 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 100 116 20 7 L 1
28 Sun, Dec 9, 1979 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 113 108 21 7 W 1
29 Wed, Dec 12, 1979 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 116 102 22 7 W 2
30 Fri, Dec 14, 1979 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 97 94 23 7 W 3
31 Sat, Dec 15, 1979 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 99 96 24 7 W 4
32 Sun, Dec 16, 1979 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W OT 115 112 25 7 W 5
33 Wed, Dec 19, 1979 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 112 89 26 7 W 6
34 Fri, Dec 21, 1979 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 133 114 27 7 W 7
35 Sat, Dec 22, 1979 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 113 126 27 8 L 1
36 Thu, Dec 27, 1979 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 118 97 28 8 W 1
37 Fri, Dec 28, 1979 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 105 123 28 9 L 1
38 Sat, Dec 29, 1979 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 104 88 29 9 W 1
39 Wed, Jan 2, 1980 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 111 103 30 9 W 2
40 Sat, Jan 5, 1980 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 111 119 30 10 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Wed, Jan 9, 1980 Box Score New York Knicks W 112 95 31 10 W 1
42 Fri, Jan 11, 1980 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 108 93 32 10 W 2
43 Sun, Jan 13, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 98 100 32 11 L 1
44 Wed, Jan 16, 1980 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 114 104 33 11 W 1
45 Fri, Jan 18, 1980 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 111 93 34 11 W 2
46 Sun, Jan 20, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 2OT 106 108 34 12 L 1
47 Tue, Jan 22, 1980 Box Score Houston Rockets W 112 106 35 12 W 1
48 Wed, Jan 23, 1980 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 131 104 36 12 W 2
49 Fri, Jan 25, 1980 Box Score Washington Bullets L 107 118 36 13 L 1
50 Sun, Jan 27, 1980 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 131 108 37 13 W 1
51 Tue, Jan 29, 1980 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 103 99 38 13 W 2
52 Wed, Jan 30, 1980 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 110 103 39 13 W 3
53 Thu, Jan 31, 1980 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 119 103 40 13 W 4
54 Wed, Feb 6, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 129 110 41 13 W 5
55 Fri, Feb 8, 1980 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 130 108 42 13 W 6
56 Sun, Feb 10, 1980 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 128 111 43 13 W 7
57 Wed, Feb 13, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 134 135 43 14 L 1
58 Fri, Feb 15, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 106 91 44 14 W 1
59 Sun, Feb 17, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 108 109 44 15 L 1
60 Wed, Feb 20, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 105 98 45 15 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sat, Feb 23, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 124 105 46 15 W 2
62 Tue, Feb 26, 1980 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 108 97 47 15 W 3 at Hartford, CT
63 Wed, Feb 27, 1980 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 130 125 48 15 W 4
64 Fri, Feb 29, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 110 99 49 15 W 5
65 Sun, Mar 2, 1980 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 118 115 50 15 W 6
66 Tue, Mar 4, 1980 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 137 108 51 15 W 7
67 Wed, Mar 5, 1980 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W OT 103 99 52 15 W 8
68 Fri, Mar 7, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 111 92 53 15 W 9
69 Sun, Mar 9, 1980 Box Score Washington Bullets L OT 128 133 53 16 L 1
70 Tue, Mar 11, 1980 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 108 114 53 17 L 2
71 Wed, Mar 12, 1980 Box Score Houston Rockets W 121 105 54 17 W 1
72 Fri, Mar 14, 1980 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 87 88 54 18 L 1
73 Sat, Mar 15, 1980 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 123 120 55 18 W 1
74 Mon, Mar 17, 1980 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 117 92 56 18 W 2
75 Tue, Mar 18, 1980 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 114 102 57 18 W 3 at Hartford, CT
76 Thu, Mar 20, 1980 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 124 106 58 18 W 4
77 Sat, Mar 22, 1980 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 105 109 58 19 L 1
78 Sun, Mar 23, 1980 Box Score New Jersey Nets L 96 101 58 20 L 2
79 Tue, Mar 25, 1980 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 96 95 59 20 W 1
80 Wed, Mar 26, 1980 Box Score New York Knicks W 129 121 60 20 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 28, 1980 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 130 122 61 20 W 3
82 Sun, Mar 30, 1980 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 110 116 61 21 L 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Wed, Apr 9, 1980 Box Score Houston Rockets W 119 101 1 0 W 1
2 Fri, Apr 11, 1980 Box Score Houston Rockets W 95 75 2 0 W 2
3 Sun, Apr 13, 1980 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 100 81 3 0 W 3
4 Mon, Apr 14, 1980 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 138 121 4 0 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
5 Fri, Apr 18, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 93 96 4 1 L 1
6 Sun, Apr 20, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 96 90 5 1 W 1
7 Wed, Apr 23, 1980 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 97 99 5 2 L 1
8 Fri, Apr 25, 1980 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 90 102 5 3 L 2
9 Sun, Apr 27, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 94 105 5 4 L 3