Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1985-86 Schedule and Results

1985-86 Boston Celtics Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 67-15, Finished 1st in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: K.C. Jones (67-15)

PTS/G: 114.1 (8th of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 104.7 (3rd of 23)
SRS: 9.06 (1st of 23) ▪ Pace: 101.2 (16th of 23)
Off Rtg: 111.8 (3rd of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 102.6 (1st of 23)
Expected W-L: 63-19 (1st of 23)

Arena: Boston Garden ▪ Attendance: 610,571 (4th of 23)

NBA 1986 Playoffs:
Won NBA Finals (2-4) versus Houston Rockets  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Finals (0-4) versus Milwaukee Bucks  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Semifinals (1-4) versus Atlanta Hawks  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference First Round (0-3) versus Chicago Bulls  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 25, 1985 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L OT 109 113 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Oct 26, 1985 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 105 100 1 1 W 1
3 Wed, Oct 30, 1985 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 117 106 2 1 W 2
4 Fri, Nov 1, 1985 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 109 105 3 1 W 3
5 Sat, Nov 2, 1985 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 88 73 4 1 W 4
6 Fri, Nov 8, 1985 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 125 101 5 1 W 5
7 Sat, Nov 9, 1985 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 124 105 6 1 W 6
8 Wed, Nov 13, 1985 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 118 114 7 1 W 7
9 Fri, Nov 15, 1985 Box Score Washington Bullets W 118 114 8 1 W 8
10 Sat, Nov 16, 1985 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 109 111 8 2 L 1
11 Wed, Nov 20, 1985 Box Score Utah Jazz W OT 115 106 9 2 W 1
12 Fri, Nov 22, 1985 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 110 103 10 2 W 2
13 Sat, Nov 23, 1985 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 113 104 11 2 W 3
14 Tue, Nov 26, 1985 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 98 91 12 2 W 4
15 Wed, Nov 27, 1985 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 132 124 13 2 W 5
16 Fri, Nov 29, 1985 Box Score New York Knicks W 94 88 14 2 W 6
17 Sat, Nov 30, 1985 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 102 97 15 2 W 7
18 Tue, Dec 3, 1985 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 112 109 16 2 W 8
19 Wed, Dec 4, 1985 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 130 111 17 2 W 9
20 Fri, Dec 6, 1985 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 103 121 17 3 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Tue, Dec 10, 1985 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 114 110 18 3 W 1 at Hartford, CT
22 Wed, Dec 11, 1985 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 118 101 19 3 W 2
23 Sat, Dec 14, 1985 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 99 109 19 4 L 1
24 Sun, Dec 15, 1985 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 109 104 20 4 W 1
25 Tue, Dec 17, 1985 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 108 116 20 5 L 1
26 Wed, Dec 18, 1985 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 137 117 21 5 W 1
27 Sat, Dec 21, 1985 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 102 108 21 6 L 1
28 Wed, Dec 25, 1985 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 2OT 104 113 21 7 L 2
29 Sat, Dec 28, 1985 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 110 108 22 7 W 1
30 Mon, Dec 30, 1985 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 125 103 23 7 W 2
31 Thu, Jan 2, 1986 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 122 104 24 7 W 3
32 Fri, Jan 3, 1986 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 129 117 25 7 W 4
33 Tue, Jan 7, 1986 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 109 113 25 8 L 1
34 Wed, Jan 8, 1986 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 126 95 26 8 W 1
35 Fri, Jan 10, 1986 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 115 108 27 8 W 2
36 Wed, Jan 15, 1986 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 123 100 28 8 W 3
37 Fri, Jan 17, 1986 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 123 105 29 8 W 4
38 Sat, Jan 18, 1986 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W OT 125 122 30 8 W 5
39 Wed, Jan 22, 1986 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 110 95 31 8 W 6
40 Fri, Jan 24, 1986 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 135 114 32 8 W 7
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sun, Jan 26, 1986 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 105 103 33 8 W 8
42 Thu, Jan 30, 1986 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 101 91 34 8 W 9
43 Fri, Jan 31, 1986 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 97 88 35 8 W 10
44 Sun, Feb 2, 1986 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 114 101 36 8 W 11
45 Tue, Feb 4, 1986 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 112 93 37 8 W 12
46 Wed, Feb 5, 1986 Box Score Washington Bullets W 103 88 38 8 W 13
47 Tue, Feb 11, 1986 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 100 105 38 9 L 1
48 Thu, Feb 13, 1986 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 107 98 39 9 W 1
49 Fri, Feb 14, 1986 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W OT 120 119 40 9 W 2
50 Sun, Feb 16, 1986 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 105 99 41 9 W 3
51 Mon, Feb 17, 1986 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 101 108 41 10 L 1
52 Wed, Feb 19, 1986 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 115 100 42 10 W 1
53 Thu, Feb 20, 1986 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 100 102 42 11 L 1
54 Sun, Feb 23, 1986 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 113 98 43 11 W 1 at Hartford, CT
55 Tue, Feb 25, 1986 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 91 74 44 11 W 2
56 Wed, Feb 26, 1986 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 120 100 45 11 W 3
57 Fri, Feb 28, 1986 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 124 108 46 11 W 4
58 Sun, Mar 2, 1986 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 129 109 47 11 W 5
59 Tue, Mar 4, 1986 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 106 94 48 11 W 6
60 Wed, Mar 5, 1986 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 108 97 49 11 W 7
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Fri, Mar 7, 1986 Box Score New York Knicks W 115 108 50 11 W 8
62 Sat, Mar 8, 1986 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L OT 108 110 50 12 L 1
63 Mon, Mar 10, 1986 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 115 116 50 13 L 2
64 Tue, Mar 11, 1986 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 116 104 51 13 W 1
65 Thu, Mar 13, 1986 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 135 119 52 13 W 2
66 Fri, Mar 14, 1986 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 121 114 53 13 W 3
67 Sun, Mar 16, 1986 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 118 101 54 13 W 4
68 Tue, Mar 18, 1986 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 126 96 55 13 W 5 at Hartford, CT
69 Wed, Mar 19, 1986 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 127 108 56 13 W 6
70 Fri, Mar 21, 1986 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 126 105 57 13 W 7
71 Mon, Mar 24, 1986 Box Score Houston Rockets W 114 107 58 13 W 8
72 Wed, Mar 26, 1986 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 121 115 59 13 W 9
73 Fri, Mar 28, 1986 Box Score Washington Bullets W 116 97 60 13 W 10
74 Sun, Mar 30, 1986 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 122 117 61 13 W 11
75 Tue, Apr 1, 1986 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 123 105 62 13 W 12
76 Wed, Apr 2, 1986 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 122 106 63 13 W 13
77 Fri, Apr 4, 1986 Box Score New York Knicks W 119 98 64 13 W 14
78 Sun, Apr 6, 1986 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 94 95 64 14 L 1
79 Tue, Apr 8, 1986 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 126 114 65 14 W 1
80 Wed, Apr 9, 1986 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 98 108 65 15 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 11, 1986 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 117 104 66 15 W 1
82 Sun, Apr 13, 1986 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 135 107 67 15 W 2

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Apr 17, 1986 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 123 104 1 0 W 1
2 Sun, Apr 20, 1986 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 2OT 135 131 2 0 W 2
3 Tue, Apr 22, 1986 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 122 104 3 0 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
4 Sun, Apr 27, 1986 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 103 91 4 0 W 4
5 Tue, Apr 29, 1986 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 119 108 5 0 W 5
6 Fri, May 2, 1986 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 111 107 6 0 W 6
7 Sun, May 4, 1986 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 94 106 6 1 L 1
8 Tue, May 6, 1986 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 132 99 7 1 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
9 Tue, May 13, 1986 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 128 96 8 1 W 2
10 Thu, May 15, 1986 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 122 111 9 1 W 3
11 Sat, May 17, 1986 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 111 107 10 1 W 4
12 Sun, May 18, 1986 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 111 98 11 1 W 5
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
13 Mon, May 26, 1986 Box Score Houston Rockets W 112 100 12 1 W 6
14 Thu, May 29, 1986 Box Score Houston Rockets W 117 95 13 1 W 7
15 Sun, Jun 1, 1986 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 104 106 13 2 L 1
16 Tue, Jun 3, 1986 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 106 103 14 2 W 1
17 Thu, Jun 5, 1986 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 96 111 14 3 L 1
18 Sun, Jun 8, 1986 Box Score Houston Rockets W 114 97 15 3 W 1