Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1996-97 Schedule and Results

1996-97 Cleveland Cavaliers Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 42-40, Finished 5th in NBA Central Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Mike Fratello (42-40)

PTS/G: 87.5 (29th of 29) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 85.6 (1st of 29)
SRS: 2.32 (11th of 29) ▪ Pace: 82.9 (29th of 29)
Off Rtg: 104.6 (23rd of 29) ▪ Def Rtg: 102.4 (5th of 29)
Expected W-L: 47-35 (11th of 29)

Arena: Gund Arena ▪ Attendance: 692,684 (16th of 29)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Nov 1, 1996 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 90 77 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Nov 2, 1996 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W OT 98 96 2 0 W 2
3 Tue, Nov 5, 1996 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 68 74 2 1 L 1
4 Fri, Nov 8, 1996 Box Score Vancouver Grizzlies W 88 72 3 1 W 1
5 Sun, Nov 10, 1996 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 101 86 4 1 W 2
6 Tue, Nov 12, 1996 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 83 87 4 2 L 1
7 Wed, Nov 13, 1996 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 81 70 5 2 W 1
8 Fri, Nov 15, 1996 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 105 89 6 2 W 2
9 Sat, Nov 16, 1996 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 98 102 6 3 L 1
10 Tue, Nov 19, 1996 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 73 63 7 3 W 1
11 Thu, Nov 21, 1996 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors W 89 81 8 3 W 2
12 Sun, Nov 24, 1996 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 103 74 9 3 W 3
13 Wed, Nov 27, 1996 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 75 92 9 4 L 1
14 Sat, Nov 30, 1996 Box Score Orlando Magic L 82 86 9 5 L 2
15 Tue, Dec 3, 1996 Box Score Toronto Raptors W 93 74 10 5 W 1
16 Wed, Dec 4, 1996 Box Score @ Orlando Magic W 84 57 11 5 W 2
17 Fri, Dec 6, 1996 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 81 93 11 6 L 1
18 Sun, Dec 8, 1996 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 90 69 12 6 W 1
19 Tue, Dec 10, 1996 Box Score Miami Heat L 74 76 12 7 L 1
20 Wed, Dec 11, 1996 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 95 106 12 8 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Dec 13, 1996 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 101 87 13 8 W 1
22 Sat, Dec 14, 1996 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves W 101 93 14 8 W 2
23 Wed, Dec 18, 1996 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 99 81 15 8 W 3
24 Fri, Dec 20, 1996 Box Score Toronto Raptors W 91 82 16 8 W 4
25 Sun, Dec 22, 1996 Box Score Utah Jazz W 100 94 17 8 W 5
26 Mon, Dec 23, 1996 Box Score @ Orlando Magic L 84 89 17 9 L 1
27 Fri, Dec 27, 1996 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 94 86 18 9 W 1
28 Sat, Dec 28, 1996 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 97 102 18 10 L 1
29 Mon, Dec 30, 1996 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W 108 96 19 10 W 1
30 Thu, Jan 2, 1997 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 103 94 20 10 W 2
31 Sat, Jan 4, 1997 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 99 91 21 10 W 3
32 Tue, Jan 7, 1997 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 90 95 21 11 L 1
33 Wed, Jan 8, 1997 Box Score Houston Rockets L 78 81 21 12 L 2
34 Sat, Jan 11, 1997 Box Score Washington Bullets L 85 98 21 13 L 3
35 Mon, Jan 13, 1997 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 79 93 21 14 L 4
36 Thu, Jan 16, 1997 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L OT 87 88 21 15 L 5
37 Fri, Jan 17, 1997 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 84 96 21 16 L 6
38 Sun, Jan 19, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 2OT 107 102 22 16 W 1
39 Mon, Jan 20, 1997 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 74 94 22 17 L 1
40 Thu, Jan 23, 1997 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 71 87 22 18 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sat, Jan 25, 1997 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 106 73 23 18 W 1
42 Tue, Jan 28, 1997 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 84 62 24 18 W 2
43 Wed, Jan 29, 1997 Box Score New York Knicks L 65 75 24 19 L 1
44 Sat, Feb 1, 1997 Box Score Miami Heat L 66 71 24 20 L 2
45 Sun, Feb 2, 1997 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 76 80 24 21 L 3
46 Tue, Feb 4, 1997 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 79 78 25 21 W 1
47 Wed, Feb 5, 1997 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors L 84 89 25 22 L 1
48 Tue, Feb 11, 1997 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 105 94 26 22 W 1
49 Wed, Feb 12, 1997 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 83 75 27 22 W 2
50 Mon, Feb 17, 1997 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 108 101 28 22 W 3
51 Wed, Feb 19, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 103 84 29 22 W 4
52 Fri, Feb 21, 1997 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 88 94 29 23 L 1
53 Sun, Feb 23, 1997 Box Score @ Vancouver Grizzlies W 91 84 30 23 W 1
54 Tue, Feb 25, 1997 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 66 72 30 24 L 1
55 Thu, Feb 27, 1997 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 73 70 31 24 W 1
56 Sat, Mar 1, 1997 Box Score Boston Celtics W 99 81 32 24 W 2
57 Sun, Mar 2, 1997 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 82 90 32 25 L 1
58 Tue, Mar 4, 1997 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 88 93 32 26 L 2
59 Wed, Mar 5, 1997 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 85 78 33 26 W 1
60 Sat, Mar 8, 1997 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 82 90 33 27 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Tue, Mar 11, 1997 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 88 85 34 27 W 1
62 Thu, Mar 13, 1997 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L OT 95 101 34 28 L 1
63 Fri, Mar 14, 1997 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 73 96 34 29 L 2
64 Mon, Mar 17, 1997 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 85 82 35 29 W 1
65 Wed, Mar 19, 1997 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 72 90 35 30 L 1
66 Thu, Mar 20, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 76 89 35 31 L 2
67 Sat, Mar 22, 1997 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 75 72 36 31 W 1
68 Tue, Mar 25, 1997 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 59 64 36 32 L 1
69 Thu, Mar 27, 1997 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 89 107 36 33 L 2
70 Fri, Mar 28, 1997 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 79 83 36 34 L 3
71 Sun, Mar 30, 1997 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 84 80 37 34 W 1
72 Tue, Apr 1, 1997 Box Score New York Knicks L 88 94 37 35 L 1
73 Wed, Apr 2, 1997 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 96 87 38 35 W 1
74 Fri, Apr 4, 1997 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 71 84 38 36 L 1
75 Mon, Apr 7, 1997 Box Score Charlotte Hornets L OT 105 110 38 37 L 2
76 Tue, Apr 8, 1997 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 93 73 39 37 W 1
77 Fri, Apr 11, 1997 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L OT 101 103 39 38 L 1
78 Sat, Apr 12, 1997 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 125 118 40 38 W 1
79 Mon, Apr 14, 1997 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 82 94 40 39 L 1
80 Wed, Apr 16, 1997 Box Score Orlando Magic W 78 63 41 39 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 18, 1997 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 82 75 42 39 W 2
82 Sun, Apr 20, 1997 Box Score Washington Bullets L 81 85 42 40 L 1