Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1979-80 Schedule and Results

1979-80 Los Angeles Lakers Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 60-22, Finished 1st in NBA Pacific Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Jack McKinney (10-4), Paul Westhead (50-18)

PTS/G: 115.1 (2nd of 22) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 109.2 (11th of 22)
SRS: 5.39 (2nd of 22) ▪ Pace: 104.1 (8th of 22)
Off Rtg: 109.5 (1st of 22) ▪ Def Rtg: 103.9 (9th of 22)
Expected W-L: 55-27 (2nd of 22)

Arena: The Forum ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1980 Playoffs:
Won NBA Finals (2-4) versus Philadelphia 76ers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference Finals (1-4) versus Seattle SuperSonics  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference Semifinals (1-4) versus Phoenix Suns  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 12, 1979 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 103 102 1 0 W 1
2 Tue, Oct 16, 1979 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 105 96 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, Oct 17, 1979 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 110 112 2 1 L 1
4 Fri, Oct 19, 1979 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 82 99 2 2 L 2
5 Sun, Oct 21, 1979 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 106 97 3 2 W 1
6 Tue, Oct 23, 1979 Box Score Utah Jazz W 102 87 4 2 W 2
7 Fri, Oct 26, 1979 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 116 104 5 2 W 3
8 Sun, Oct 28, 1979 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 97 90 6 2 W 4
9 Tue, Oct 30, 1979 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 111 105 7 2 W 5
10 Wed, Oct 31, 1979 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 106 110 7 3 L 1
11 Fri, Nov 2, 1979 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 112 110 8 3 W 1
12 Tue, Nov 6, 1979 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 127 112 9 3 W 2
13 Wed, Nov 7, 1979 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 109 126 9 4 L 1
14 Fri, Nov 9, 1979 Box Score Denver Nuggets W OT 126 122 10 4 W 1
15 Sun, Nov 11, 1979 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 140 126 11 4 W 2
16 Tue, Nov 13, 1979 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 137 91 12 4 W 3
17 Thu, Nov 15, 1979 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 108 114 12 5 L 1
18 Fri, Nov 16, 1979 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W OT 135 128 13 5 W 1
19 Sun, Nov 18, 1979 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 127 104 14 5 W 2
20 Tue, Nov 20, 1979 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 99 114 14 6 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Wed, Nov 21, 1979 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 110 119 14 7 L 2
22 Fri, Nov 23, 1979 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 112 126 14 8 L 3
23 Sun, Nov 25, 1979 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 111 110 15 8 W 1
24 Tue, Nov 27, 1979 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 122 118 16 8 W 2
25 Fri, Nov 30, 1979 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 100 107 16 9 L 1
26 Sun, Dec 2, 1979 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 116 103 17 9 W 1
27 Tue, Dec 4, 1979 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 127 121 18 9 W 2
28 Wed, Dec 5, 1979 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 116 114 19 9 W 3
29 Fri, Dec 7, 1979 Box Score San Diego Clippers L 108 116 19 10 L 1
30 Sun, Dec 9, 1979 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 131 118 20 10 W 1
31 Fri, Dec 14, 1979 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 138 122 21 10 W 2
32 Sun, Dec 16, 1979 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 121 119 22 10 W 3
33 Tue, Dec 18, 1979 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 129 118 23 10 W 4
34 Wed, Dec 19, 1979 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 112 119 23 11 L 1
35 Fri, Dec 21, 1979 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 114 108 24 11 W 1
36 Sat, Dec 22, 1979 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 128 130 24 12 L 1
37 Sun, Dec 23, 1979 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 102 97 25 12 W 1
38 Wed, Dec 26, 1979 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 111 118 25 13 L 1
39 Thu, Dec 27, 1979 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 124 116 26 13 W 1
40 Fri, Dec 28, 1979 Box Score Boston Celtics W 123 105 27 13 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sun, Dec 30, 1979 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 113 105 28 13 W 3
42 Wed, Jan 2, 1980 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 127 120 29 13 W 4
43 Sun, Jan 6, 1980 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 103 113 29 14 L 1
44 Wed, Jan 9, 1980 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 101 103 29 15 L 2
45 Fri, Jan 11, 1980 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 123 100 30 15 W 1
46 Sun, Jan 13, 1980 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 100 98 31 15 W 2
47 Tue, Jan 15, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz W 112 99 32 15 W 3
48 Wed, Jan 16, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 97 96 33 15 W 4
49 Fri, Jan 18, 1980 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 108 102 34 15 W 5
50 Mon, Jan 21, 1980 Box Score New York Knicks W 132 114 35 15 W 6
51 Thu, Jan 24, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 103 111 35 16 L 1
52 Fri, Jan 25, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 124 103 36 16 W 1
53 Sun, Jan 27, 1980 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 112 102 37 16 W 2
54 Tue, Jan 29, 1980 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 4OT 153 154 37 17 L 1
55 Thu, Jan 31, 1980 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 107 97 38 17 W 1
56 Tue, Feb 5, 1980 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 116 105 39 17 W 2
57 Fri, Feb 8, 1980 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W OT 125 120 40 17 W 3
58 Sun, Feb 10, 1980 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 104 105 40 18 L 1
59 Wed, Feb 13, 1980 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 129 103 41 18 W 1
60 Fri, Feb 15, 1980 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 114 100 42 18 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sun, Feb 17, 1980 Box Score Washington Bullets W 111 107 43 18 W 3
62 Wed, Feb 20, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 116 103 44 18 W 4
63 Fri, Feb 22, 1980 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 132 110 45 18 W 5
64 Sun, Feb 24, 1980 Box Score Houston Rockets W 112 100 46 18 W 6
65 Tue, Feb 26, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 131 108 47 18 W 7
66 Fri, Feb 29, 1980 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L OT 117 126 47 19 L 1
67 Sun, Mar 2, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 115 123 47 20 L 2
68 Tue, Mar 4, 1980 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 127 124 48 20 W 1
69 Wed, Mar 5, 1980 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings W 117 101 49 20 W 2
70 Fri, Mar 7, 1980 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 101 99 50 20 W 3
71 Sun, Mar 9, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 121 142 50 21 L 1
72 Tue, Mar 11, 1980 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 123 106 51 21 W 1
73 Wed, Mar 12, 1980 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 102 94 52 21 W 2
74 Fri, Mar 14, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 132 126 53 21 W 3
75 Sun, Mar 16, 1980 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 128 106 54 21 W 4
76 Tue, Mar 18, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 113 100 55 21 W 5
77 Wed, Mar 19, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 108 112 55 22 L 1
78 Sat, Mar 22, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 97 92 56 22 W 1
79 Sun, Mar 23, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz W 101 96 57 22 W 2
80 Thu, Mar 27, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 97 95 58 22 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 28, 1980 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 126 88 59 22 W 4
82 Sun, Mar 30, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 95 93 60 22 W 5

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Apr 8, 1980 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 119 110 1 0 W 1
2 Wed, Apr 9, 1980 Box Score Phoenix Suns W OT 131 128 2 0 W 2
3 Fri, Apr 11, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 108 105 3 0 W 3
4 Sun, Apr 13, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 101 127 3 1 L 1
5 Tue, Apr 15, 1980 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 126 101 4 1 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
6 Tue, Apr 22, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 107 108 4 2 L 1
7 Wed, Apr 23, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 108 99 5 2 W 1
8 Fri, Apr 25, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 104 100 6 2 W 2
9 Sun, Apr 27, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 98 93 7 2 W 3
10 Wed, Apr 30, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 111 105 8 2 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
11 Sun, May 4, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 109 102 9 2 W 5
12 Wed, May 7, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 104 107 9 3 L 1
13 Sat, May 10, 1980 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 111 101 10 3 W 1
14 Sun, May 11, 1980 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 102 105 10 4 L 1
15 Wed, May 14, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 108 103 11 4 W 1
16 Fri, May 16, 1980 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 123 107 12 4 W 2