Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Minneapolis Lakers > 1952-53 Schedule and Results

1952-53 Minneapolis Lakers Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 48-22, Finished 1st in NBA Western Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: John Kundla (48-22)

PTS/G: 85.3 (5th of 10) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 79.2 (3rd of 10)
SRS: 5.53 (1st of 10) ▪ Pace: 93.7 (5th of 10)
Off Rtg: 90.1 (4th of 10) ▪ Def Rtg: 83.6 (1st of 10)
Expected W-L: 52-18 (1st of 10)

Arena: Minneapolis Auditorium ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1953 Playoffs:
Won NBA Finals (4-1) versus New York Knicks  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Division Finals (3-2) versus Fort Wayne Pistons  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Division Semifinals (2-0) versus Indianapolis Olympians  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sat, Nov 1, 1952 Box Score Boston Celtics W 94 91 1 0 W 1
2 Sun, Nov 2, 1952 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons W 81 69 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, Nov 5, 1952 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 97 75 3 0 W 3
4 Sat, Nov 8, 1952 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 93 71 4 0 W 4
5 Sun, Nov 9, 1952 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 89 96 4 1 L 1
6 Tue, Nov 11, 1952 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 101 92 5 1 W 1
7 Thu, Nov 13, 1952 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 91 100 5 2 L 1
8 Sat, Nov 15, 1952 Box Score @ Rochester Royals L 89 97 5 3 L 2
9 Sun, Nov 16, 1952 Box Score Milwaukee Hawks W 87 51 6 3 W 1
10 Thu, Nov 20, 1952 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons W 89 81 7 3 W 2
11 Sat, Nov 22, 1952 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 96 89 8 3 W 3
12 Sun, Nov 23, 1952 Box Score @ Milwaukee Hawks W 62 46 9 3 W 4
13 Thu, Nov 27, 1952 Box Score Indianapolis Olympians W 90 69 10 3 W 5
14 Fri, Nov 28, 1952 Box Score @ Indianapolis Olympians W 97 82 11 3 W 6
15 Sat, Nov 29, 1952 Box Score @ Rochester Royals L 71 83 11 4 L 1
16 Sun, Nov 30, 1952 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 91 66 12 4 W 1
17 Mon, Dec 1, 1952 Box Score N Baltimore Bullets W 89 67 13 4 W 2 at Saint Paul, MN
18 Wed, Dec 3, 1952 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W OT 106 102 14 4 W 3
19 Thu, Dec 4, 1952 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 81 71 15 4 W 4
20 Sat, Dec 6, 1952 Box Score New York Knicks W OT 85 78 16 4 W 5
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Mon, Dec 8, 1952 Box Score N Indianapolis Olympians L 76 81 16 5 L 1 at Milwaukee, WI
22 Thu, Dec 11, 1952 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 82 79 17 5 W 1
23 Sun, Dec 14, 1952 Box Score Rochester Royals W 95 77 18 5 W 2
24 Fri, Dec 19, 1952 Box Score @ Indianapolis Olympians W 87 69 19 5 W 3
25 Sat, Dec 20, 1952 Box Score @ Milwaukee Hawks L 75 86 19 6 L 1
26 Thu, Dec 25, 1952 Box Score Indianapolis Olympians W 90 73 20 6 W 1
27 Sat, Dec 27, 1952 Box Score Boston Celtics W 94 71 21 6 W 2
28 Sun, Dec 28, 1952 Box Score Milwaukee Hawks W 86 77 22 6 W 3
29 Tue, Dec 30, 1952 Box Score @ Indianapolis Olympians L 69 74 22 7 L 1
30 Wed, Dec 31, 1952 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 82 56 23 7 W 1
31 Fri, Jan 2, 1953 Box Score N Milwaukee Hawks W 74 66 24 7 W 2 at Chicago, IL
32 Sat, Jan 3, 1953 Box Score N Milwaukee Hawks W 79 75 25 7 W 3 at Hibbing, MN
33 Sun, Jan 4, 1953 Box Score Rochester Royals W OT 83 80 26 7 W 4
34 Tue, Jan 6, 1953 Box Score N Rochester Royals L 69 85 26 8 L 1 at Milwaukee, WI
35 Thu, Jan 8, 1953 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 67 75 26 9 L 2
36 Sat, Jan 10, 1953 Box Score N Fort Wayne Pistons W 84 79 27 9 W 1 at Saint Paul, MN
37 Sun, Jan 11, 1953 Box Score New York Knicks W 85 79 28 9 W 2
38 Wed, Jan 14, 1953 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 2OT 112 104 29 9 W 3
39 Sat, Jan 17, 1953 Box Score @ Rochester Royals L 101 109 29 10 L 1
40 Sun, Jan 18, 1953 Box Score Milwaukee Hawks L 70 83 29 11 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Fri, Jan 23, 1953 Box Score N Milwaukee Hawks L 65 67 29 12 L 3 at Indianapolis, IN
42 Sun, Jan 25, 1953 Box Score Boston Celtics W 87 82 30 12 W 1
43 Tue, Jan 27, 1953 Box Score N Fort Wayne Pistons W 96 76 31 12 W 2 at Grand Forks, ND
44 Thu, Jan 29, 1953 Box Score Syracuse Nationals L 65 83 31 13 L 1
45 Sat, Jan 31, 1953 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 87 80 32 13 W 1
46 Sun, Feb 1, 1953 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons W 92 76 33 13 W 2
47 Tue, Feb 3, 1953 Box Score @ Indianapolis Olympians L 3OT 93 96 33 14 L 1
48 Thu, Feb 5, 1953 Box Score New York Knicks W 81 73 34 14 W 1
49 Sat, Feb 7, 1953 Box Score @ Rochester Royals L 72 87 34 15 L 1
50 Sun, Feb 8, 1953 Box Score Indianapolis Olympians W 71 67 35 15 W 1
51 Thu, Feb 12, 1953 Box Score Syracuse Nationals W 91 81 36 15 W 2
52 Sat, Feb 14, 1953 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 92 84 37 15 W 3
53 Sun, Feb 15, 1953 Box Score @ Milwaukee Hawks W 80 71 38 15 W 4
54 Tue, Feb 17, 1953 Box Score N Baltimore Bullets L 70 74 38 16 L 1 at Saint Paul, MN
55 Thu, Feb 19, 1953 Box Score Rochester Royals W 107 87 39 16 W 1
56 Sat, Feb 21, 1953 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 85 75 40 16 W 2
57 Sun, Feb 22, 1953 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons L 78 90 40 17 L 1
58 Tue, Feb 24, 1953 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 63 79 40 18 L 2
59 Wed, Feb 25, 1953 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 85 72 41 18 W 1
60 Thu, Feb 26, 1953 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 85 73 42 18 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Fri, Feb 27, 1953 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors W 98 75 43 18 W 3 at Cleveland, OH
62 Sun, Mar 1, 1953 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors W 102 80 44 18 W 4 at Saint Paul, MN
63 Tue, Mar 3, 1953 Box Score N Fort Wayne Pistons W 86 68 45 18 W 5 at Milwaukee, WI
64 Thu, Mar 5, 1953 Box Score @ Syracuse Nationals L 91 94 45 19 L 1
65 Fri, Mar 6, 1953 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 85 100 45 20 L 2
66 Sat, Mar 7, 1953 Box Score @ Rochester Royals L 82 84 45 21 L 3
67 Sun, Mar 8, 1953 Box Score Milwaukee Hawks W 100 73 46 21 W 1
68 Mon, Mar 9, 1953 Box Score N Indianapolis Olympians L 83 95 46 22 L 1 at Moorhead, MN
69 Thu, Mar 12, 1953 Box Score Rochester Royals W 89 77 47 22 W 1
70 Tue, Mar 17, 1953 Box Score @ Indianapolis Olympians W 73 71 48 22 W 2

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sun, Mar 22, 1953 Box Score Indianapolis Olympians W 85 69 1 0 W 1
2 Mon, Mar 23, 1953 Box Score @ Indianapolis Olympians W 81 79 2 0 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
3 Thu, Mar 26, 1953 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 83 73 3 0 W 3
4 Sat, Mar 28, 1953 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 82 75 4 0 W 4
5 Mon, Mar 30, 1953 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons L 95 98 4 1 L 1
6 Wed, Apr 1, 1953 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons L 82 85 4 2 L 2
7 Thu, Apr 2, 1953 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 74 58 5 2 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
8 Sat, Apr 4, 1953 Box Score New York Knicks L 88 96 5 3 L 1
9 Sun, Apr 5, 1953 Box Score New York Knicks W 73 71 6 3 W 1
10 Tue, Apr 7, 1953 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 90 75 7 3 W 2
11 Wed, Apr 8, 1953 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 71 69 8 3 W 3
12 Fri, Apr 10, 1953 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 91 84 9 3 W 4