Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > New York Knicks > 1986-87 Schedule and Results

1986-87 New York Knicks Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 24-58, Finished 5th in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Hubie Brown (4-12), Bob Hill (20-46)

PTS/G: 103.8 (23rd of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 110.0 (13th of 23)
SRS: -5.42 (22nd of 23) ▪ Pace: 98.5 (20th of 23)
Off Rtg: 104.8 (20th of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 111.1 (20th of 23)
Expected W-L: 25-57 (22nd of 23)

Arena: Madison Square Garden (IV) ▪ Attendance: 538,048 (9th of 23)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 31, 1986 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 97 108 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Nov 1, 1986 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 103 108 0 2 L 2
3 Mon, Nov 3, 1986 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 95 104 0 3 L 3
4 Tue, Nov 4, 1986 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 103 118 0 4 L 4
5 Thu, Nov 6, 1986 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 106 95 1 4 W 1
6 Sat, Nov 8, 1986 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 102 105 1 5 L 1
7 Sun, Nov 9, 1986 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 88 111 1 6 L 2
8 Tue, Nov 11, 1986 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 111 105 2 6 W 1
9 Fri, Nov 14, 1986 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 103 106 2 7 L 1
10 Sat, Nov 15, 1986 Box Score Washington Bullets W 104 97 3 7 W 1
11 Wed, Nov 19, 1986 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 94 98 3 8 L 1
12 Fri, Nov 21, 1986 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 99 101 3 9 L 2
13 Sat, Nov 22, 1986 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 93 97 3 10 L 3
14 Tue, Nov 25, 1986 Box Score Houston Rockets W 102 93 4 10 W 1
15 Wed, Nov 26, 1986 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 90 101 4 11 L 1
16 Sat, Nov 29, 1986 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 88 90 4 12 L 2
17 Tue, Dec 2, 1986 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 100 124 4 13 L 3
18 Thu, Dec 4, 1986 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 95 91 5 13 W 1
19 Fri, Dec 5, 1986 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 96 123 5 14 L 1
20 Sun, Dec 7, 1986 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L OT 104 107 5 15 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Tue, Dec 9, 1986 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 87 113 5 16 L 3
22 Wed, Dec 10, 1986 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 105 106 5 17 L 4
23 Sat, Dec 13, 1986 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 110 122 5 18 L 5
24 Tue, Dec 16, 1986 Box Score Boston Celtics L 96 107 5 19 L 6
25 Thu, Dec 18, 1986 Box Score New Jersey Nets L 93 94 5 20 L 7
26 Sat, Dec 20, 1986 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 99 123 5 21 L 8
27 Mon, Dec 22, 1986 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 103 99 6 21 W 1
28 Thu, Dec 25, 1986 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 86 85 7 21 W 2
29 Sat, Dec 27, 1986 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 114 100 8 21 W 3
30 Tue, Dec 30, 1986 Box Score Washington Bullets W 103 97 9 21 W 4
31 Sat, Jan 3, 1987 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 92 114 9 22 L 1
32 Tue, Jan 6, 1987 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 118 86 10 22 W 1
33 Wed, Jan 7, 1987 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 111 122 10 23 L 1
34 Fri, Jan 9, 1987 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 94 84 11 23 W 1
35 Sat, Jan 10, 1987 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 119 115 12 23 W 2
36 Tue, Jan 13, 1987 Box Score Dallas Mavericks L 103 108 12 24 L 1
37 Sat, Jan 17, 1987 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 110 116 12 25 L 2
38 Mon, Jan 19, 1987 Box Score Boston Celtics W 111 109 13 25 W 1
39 Wed, Jan 21, 1987 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 93 113 13 26 L 1
40 Fri, Jan 23, 1987 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 95 109 13 27 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sat, Jan 24, 1987 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 101 108 13 28 L 3
42 Tue, Jan 27, 1987 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 103 108 13 29 L 4
43 Fri, Jan 30, 1987 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 98 106 13 30 L 5
44 Sat, Jan 31, 1987 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 113 114 13 31 L 6
45 Mon, Feb 2, 1987 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 98 104 13 32 L 7
46 Tue, Feb 3, 1987 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 110 109 14 32 W 1
47 Thu, Feb 5, 1987 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 135 118 15 32 W 2
48 Tue, Feb 10, 1987 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 95 100 15 33 L 1
49 Wed, Feb 11, 1987 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 104 127 15 34 L 2
50 Sat, Feb 14, 1987 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 108 112 15 35 L 3
51 Mon, Feb 16, 1987 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 101 111 15 36 L 4
52 Thu, Feb 19, 1987 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 120 105 16 36 W 1
53 Sat, Feb 21, 1987 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 107 111 16 37 L 1
54 Sun, Feb 22, 1987 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 110 122 16 38 L 2
55 Tue, Feb 24, 1987 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 109 122 16 39 L 3
56 Sat, Feb 28, 1987 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 117 137 16 40 L 4
57 Sun, Mar 1, 1987 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L OT 115 122 16 41 L 5
58 Tue, Mar 3, 1987 Box Score Utah Jazz W 99 86 17 41 W 1
59 Wed, Mar 4, 1987 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 102 99 18 41 W 2
60 Fri, Mar 6, 1987 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 110 109 19 41 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sat, Mar 7, 1987 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 115 93 20 41 W 4
62 Tue, Mar 10, 1987 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 93 116 20 42 L 1
63 Fri, Mar 13, 1987 Box Score New Jersey Nets L 121 126 20 43 L 2
64 Sun, Mar 15, 1987 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 104 113 20 44 L 3
65 Tue, Mar 17, 1987 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 111 133 20 45 L 4
66 Thu, Mar 19, 1987 Box Score Indiana Pacers W OT 111 105 21 45 W 1
67 Sat, Mar 21, 1987 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 85 97 21 46 L 1
68 Mon, Mar 23, 1987 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L OT 121 126 21 47 L 2
69 Tue, Mar 24, 1987 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 96 135 21 48 L 3
70 Fri, Mar 27, 1987 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 91 100 21 49 L 4
71 Sun, Mar 29, 1987 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 96 115 21 50 L 5
72 Tue, Mar 31, 1987 Box Score Boston Celtics W 128 120 22 50 W 1
73 Wed, Apr 1, 1987 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 120 121 22 51 L 1
74 Fri, Apr 3, 1987 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 89 126 22 52 L 2
75 Sat, Apr 4, 1987 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 112 108 23 52 W 1
76 Mon, Apr 6, 1987 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 108 101 24 52 W 2
77 Fri, Apr 10, 1987 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 93 132 24 53 L 1
78 Sun, Apr 12, 1987 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 107 119 24 54 L 2
79 Mon, Apr 13, 1987 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 100 120 24 55 L 3
80 Wed, Apr 15, 1987 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 114 118 24 56 L 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 17, 1987 Box Score Washington Bullets L 110 142 24 57 L 5
82 Sat, Apr 18, 1987 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 113 122 24 58 L 6