Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Philadelphia 76ers > 1979-80 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:NCAA Tournament Features

1979-80 Philadelphia 76ers Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 59-23, Finished 2nd in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Billy Cunningham (59-23)

PTS/G: 109.1 (10th of 22) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 104.9 (4th of 22)
SRS: 4.04 (4th of 22) ▪ Pace: 103.0 (11th of 22)
Off Rtg: 105.0 (13th of 22) ▪ Def Rtg: 101.0 (1st of 22)
Expected W-L: 52-30 (4th of 22)

Arena: The Spectrum ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1980 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Finals (4-2) versus Los Angeles Lakers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Finals (4-1) versus Boston Celtics  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Semifinals (4-1) versus Atlanta Hawks  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference First Round (2-0) versus Washington Bullets  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 12, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 93 92 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Oct 13, 1979 Box Score Houston Rockets W 113 105 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, Oct 17, 1979 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 113 88 3 0 W 3
4 Fri, Oct 19, 1979 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 112 104 4 0 W 4
5 Sat, Oct 20, 1979 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 136 111 5 0 W 5
6 Wed, Oct 24, 1979 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 132 110 6 0 W 6
7 Fri, Oct 26, 1979 Box Score New York Knicks W 127 116 7 0 W 7
8 Sat, Oct 27, 1979 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 112 106 8 0 W 8
9 Wed, Oct 31, 1979 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 97 102 8 1 L 1
10 Fri, Nov 2, 1979 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 81 85 8 2 L 2
11 Sat, Nov 3, 1979 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 2OT 120 114 9 2 W 1
12 Tue, Nov 6, 1979 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W OT 118 117 10 2 W 2
13 Wed, Nov 7, 1979 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 110 102 11 2 W 3
14 Fri, Nov 9, 1979 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 98 106 11 3 L 1
15 Sat, Nov 10, 1979 Box Score Boston Celtics W 95 94 12 3 W 1
16 Tue, Nov 13, 1979 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 103 110 12 4 L 1
17 Fri, Nov 16, 1979 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 105 106 12 5 L 2
18 Sat, Nov 17, 1979 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L OT 103 106 12 6 L 3
19 Tue, Nov 20, 1979 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 118 114 13 6 W 1
20 Wed, Nov 21, 1979 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 94 97 13 7 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Nov 23, 1979 Box Score Houston Rockets W 113 102 14 7 W 1
22 Sat, Nov 24, 1979 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 91 82 15 7 W 2
23 Mon, Nov 26, 1979 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 113 112 16 7 W 3
24 Wed, Nov 28, 1979 Box Score Washington Bullets W 120 102 17 7 W 4
25 Fri, Nov 30, 1979 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 104 101 18 7 W 5
26 Sat, Dec 1, 1979 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 117 105 19 7 W 6
27 Wed, Dec 5, 1979 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 132 120 20 7 W 7
28 Sat, Dec 8, 1979 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 117 96 21 7 W 8
29 Wed, Dec 12, 1979 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 112 91 22 7 W 9
30 Fri, Dec 14, 1979 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 98 103 22 8 L 1
31 Sat, Dec 15, 1979 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 96 112 22 9 L 2
32 Tue, Dec 18, 1979 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 114 102 23 9 W 1
33 Wed, Dec 19, 1979 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 89 112 23 10 L 1
34 Fri, Dec 21, 1979 Box Score Houston Rockets W 117 106 24 10 W 1
35 Sat, Dec 22, 1979 Box Score Boston Celtics W 126 113 25 10 W 2
36 Tue, Dec 25, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 95 92 26 10 W 3
37 Thu, Dec 27, 1979 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 118 114 27 10 W 4
38 Sat, Dec 29, 1979 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 100 104 27 11 L 1
39 Thu, Jan 3, 1980 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 109 108 28 11 W 1
40 Tue, Jan 8, 1980 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 111 108 29 11 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Wed, Jan 9, 1980 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 108 105 30 11 W 3
42 Fri, Jan 11, 1980 Box Score Washington Bullets W 119 106 31 11 W 4
43 Sun, Jan 13, 1980 Box Score New York Knicks W 126 112 32 11 W 5
44 Wed, Jan 16, 1980 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 121 110 33 11 W 6
45 Fri, Jan 18, 1980 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 112 105 34 11 W 7
46 Sat, Jan 19, 1980 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 111 107 35 11 W 8
47 Wed, Jan 23, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 118 93 36 11 W 9
48 Fri, Jan 25, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 103 124 36 12 L 1
49 Sun, Jan 27, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 118 125 36 13 L 2
50 Mon, Jan 28, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 101 107 36 14 L 3
51 Wed, Jan 30, 1980 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 121 108 37 14 W 1
52 Thu, Jan 31, 1980 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 110 105 38 14 W 2
53 Tue, Feb 5, 1980 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 109 108 39 14 W 3
54 Wed, Feb 6, 1980 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 110 129 39 15 L 1
55 Fri, Feb 8, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 94 109 39 16 L 2
56 Sun, Feb 10, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 105 104 40 16 W 1
57 Wed, Feb 13, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz W 107 85 41 16 W 2
58 Fri, Feb 15, 1980 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 114 104 42 16 W 3
59 Sat, Feb 16, 1980 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 100 92 43 16 W 4
60 Sun, Feb 17, 1980 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 115 100 44 16 W 5
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Thu, Feb 21, 1980 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 99 104 44 17 L 1
62 Sun, Feb 24, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 103 100 45 17 W 1
63 Tue, Feb 26, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 98 96 46 17 W 2
64 Wed, Feb 27, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W OT 101 98 47 17 W 3
65 Fri, Feb 29, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 104 103 48 17 W 4
66 Sun, Mar 2, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 144 99 49 17 W 5
67 Wed, Mar 5, 1980 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 120 113 50 17 W 6
68 Fri, Mar 7, 1980 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 92 111 50 18 L 1
69 Sun, Mar 9, 1980 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 134 118 51 18 W 1
70 Tue, Mar 11, 1980 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W OT 102 97 52 18 W 2
71 Wed, Mar 12, 1980 Box Score Washington Bullets W 105 98 53 18 W 3
72 Fri, Mar 14, 1980 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 94 104 53 19 L 1
73 Sun, Mar 16, 1980 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 109 123 53 20 L 2
74 Mon, Mar 17, 1980 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 123 109 54 20 W 1
75 Wed, Mar 19, 1980 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 99 105 54 21 L 1
76 Thu, Mar 20, 1980 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L OT 113 119 54 22 L 2
77 Fri, Mar 21, 1980 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 108 99 55 22 W 1
78 Sun, Mar 23, 1980 Box Score New York Knicks W 112 108 56 22 W 2
79 Wed, Mar 26, 1980 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 84 81 57 22 W 3
80 Thu, Mar 27, 1980 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 103 101 58 22 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 28, 1980 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 92 99 58 23 L 1
82 Sun, Mar 30, 1980 Box Score Boston Celtics W 116 110 59 23 W 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Wed, Apr 2, 1980 Box Score Washington Bullets W 111 96 1 0 W 1
2 Fri, Apr 4, 1980 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 112 104 2 0 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
3 Sun, Apr 6, 1980 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 107 104 3 0 W 3
4 Wed, Apr 9, 1980 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 99 92 4 0 W 4
5 Thu, Apr 10, 1980 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 93 105 4 1 L 1
6 Sun, Apr 13, 1980 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 107 83 5 1 W 1
7 Tue, Apr 15, 1980 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 105 100 6 1 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
8 Fri, Apr 18, 1980 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 96 93 7 1 W 3
9 Sun, Apr 20, 1980 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 90 96 7 2 L 1
10 Wed, Apr 23, 1980 Box Score Boston Celtics W 99 97 8 2 W 1
11 Fri, Apr 25, 1980 Box Score Boston Celtics W 102 90 9 2 W 2
12 Sun, Apr 27, 1980 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 105 94 10 2 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
13 Sun, May 4, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 102 109 10 3 L 1
14 Wed, May 7, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 107 104 11 3 W 1
15 Sat, May 10, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 101 111 11 4 L 1
16 Sun, May 11, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 105 102 12 4 W 1
17 Wed, May 14, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 103 108 12 5 L 1
18 Fri, May 16, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 107 123 12 6 L 2