Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1982-83 Schedule and Results

1982-83 Philadelphia 76ers Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 65-17, Finished 1st in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Billy Cunningham (65-17)

PTS/G: 112.1 (7th of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 104.4 (7th of 23)
SRS: 7.53 (1st of 23) ▪ Pace: 102.7 (15th of 23)
Off Rtg: 108.3 (5th of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 100.9 (5th of 23)
Expected W-L: 60-22 (1st of 23)

Arena: The Spectrum ▪ Attendance: 612,203 (2nd of 23)

NBA 1983 Playoffs:
Won NBA Finals (0-4) versus Los Angeles Lakers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Finals (1-4) versus Milwaukee Bucks  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Eastern Conference Semifinals (0-4) versus New York Knicks  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 29, 1982 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 104 89 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Oct 30, 1982 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 110 99 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, Nov 3, 1982 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 130 111 3 0 W 3
4 Fri, Nov 5, 1982 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 120 109 4 0 W 4
5 Sat, Nov 6, 1982 Box Score Boston Celtics W 2OT 119 115 5 0 W 5
6 Wed, Nov 10, 1982 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 145 108 6 0 W 6
7 Fri, Nov 12, 1982 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 108 117 6 1 L 1
8 Sat, Nov 13, 1982 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 110 100 7 1 W 1
9 Sun, Nov 14, 1982 Box Score Washington Bullets W 102 93 8 1 W 2
10 Wed, Nov 17, 1982 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 120 103 9 1 W 3
11 Fri, Nov 19, 1982 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 121 109 10 1 W 4
12 Tue, Nov 23, 1982 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 103 106 10 2 L 1
13 Wed, Nov 24, 1982 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 121 106 11 2 W 1
14 Fri, Nov 26, 1982 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 120 102 12 2 W 2
15 Sat, Nov 27, 1982 Box Score Utah Jazz W 126 113 13 2 W 3
16 Tue, Nov 30, 1982 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 97 111 13 3 L 1
17 Thu, Dec 2, 1982 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 116 108 14 3 W 1
18 Fri, Dec 3, 1982 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 127 110 15 3 W 2
19 Sun, Dec 5, 1982 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 114 104 16 3 W 3
20 Wed, Dec 8, 1982 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 132 85 17 3 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Dec 10, 1982 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 97 123 17 4 L 1
22 Sat, Dec 11, 1982 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 128 111 18 4 W 1
23 Wed, Dec 15, 1982 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 99 93 19 4 W 2
24 Fri, Dec 17, 1982 Box Score New York Knicks W 109 95 20 4 W 3
25 Sat, Dec 18, 1982 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 97 100 20 5 L 1
26 Tue, Dec 21, 1982 Box Score Boston Celtics W 122 105 21 5 W 1
27 Sun, Dec 26, 1982 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 124 122 22 5 W 2
28 Tue, Dec 28, 1982 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 104 93 23 5 W 3
29 Wed, Dec 29, 1982 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W OT 126 116 24 5 W 4
30 Wed, Jan 5, 1983 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W OT 122 120 25 5 W 5
31 Fri, Jan 7, 1983 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 106 89 26 5 W 6
32 Sat, Jan 8, 1983 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 125 113 27 5 W 7
33 Tue, Jan 11, 1983 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 109 99 28 5 W 8
34 Wed, Jan 12, 1983 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 122 121 29 5 W 9
35 Fri, Jan 14, 1983 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 115 105 30 5 W 10
36 Sat, Jan 15, 1983 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 114 105 31 5 W 11
37 Tue, Jan 18, 1983 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 98 90 32 5 W 12
38 Wed, Jan 19, 1983 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 126 106 33 5 W 13
39 Fri, Jan 21, 1983 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 130 117 34 5 W 14
40 Sun, Jan 23, 1983 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 96 107 34 6 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Tue, Jan 25, 1983 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 116 99 35 6 W 1
42 Wed, Jan 26, 1983 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 113 102 36 6 W 2
43 Fri, Jan 28, 1983 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings W 114 99 37 6 W 3
44 Sat, Jan 29, 1983 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 126 109 38 6 W 4
45 Tue, Feb 1, 1983 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 133 124 39 6 W 5
46 Thu, Feb 3, 1983 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 117 111 40 6 W 6
47 Fri, Feb 4, 1983 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 109 115 40 7 L 1
48 Sun, Feb 6, 1983 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 97 96 41 7 W 1
49 Wed, Feb 9, 1983 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 106 93 42 7 W 2
50 Thu, Feb 10, 1983 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 116 110 43 7 W 3
51 Wed, Feb 16, 1983 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 116 95 44 7 W 4
52 Fri, Feb 18, 1983 Box Score Houston Rockets W 127 98 45 7 W 5
53 Sun, Feb 20, 1983 Box Score New York Knicks W 104 89 46 7 W 6
54 Wed, Feb 23, 1983 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 133 101 47 7 W 7
55 Fri, Feb 25, 1983 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 116 111 48 7 W 8
56 Sun, Feb 27, 1983 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 115 104 49 7 W 9
57 Tue, Mar 1, 1983 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 106 94 50 7 W 10
58 Fri, Mar 4, 1983 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 110 115 50 8 L 1
59 Sun, Mar 6, 1983 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 106 112 50 9 L 2
60 Mon, Mar 7, 1983 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 123 114 51 9 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sat, Mar 12, 1983 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 95 86 52 9 W 2
62 Sun, Mar 13, 1983 Box Score Washington Bullets W 97 93 53 9 W 3
63 Tue, Mar 15, 1983 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 132 128 54 9 W 4
64 Wed, Mar 16, 1983 Box Score Boston Celtics W 105 100 55 9 W 5
65 Sat, Mar 19, 1983 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 105 97 56 9 W 6
66 Sun, Mar 20, 1983 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 121 119 57 9 W 7
67 Tue, Mar 22, 1983 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 76 89 57 10 L 1
68 Wed, Mar 23, 1983 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W OT 104 101 58 10 W 1
69 Fri, Mar 25, 1983 Box Score New Jersey Nets L 92 101 58 11 L 1
70 Sun, Mar 27, 1983 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 94 80 59 11 W 1
71 Tue, Mar 29, 1983 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 95 97 59 12 L 1
72 Wed, Mar 30, 1983 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 120 113 60 12 W 1
73 Fri, Apr 1, 1983 Box Score New Jersey Nets L 104 111 60 13 L 1
74 Sun, Apr 3, 1983 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 96 84 61 13 W 1
75 Tue, Apr 5, 1983 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 116 108 62 13 W 2
76 Wed, Apr 6, 1983 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 109 112 62 14 L 1
77 Fri, Apr 8, 1983 Box Score Indiana Pacers W OT 126 118 63 14 W 1
78 Sun, Apr 10, 1983 Box Score New York Knicks W 113 97 64 14 W 2
79 Tue, Apr 12, 1983 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 97 102 64 15 L 1
80 Wed, Apr 13, 1983 Box Score Washington Bullets L 76 95 64 16 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 15, 1983 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 100 98 65 16 W 1
82 Sun, Apr 17, 1983 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 101 114 65 17 L 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sun, Apr 24, 1983 Box Score New York Knicks W 112 102 1 0 W 1
2 Wed, Apr 27, 1983 Box Score New York Knicks W 98 91 2 0 W 2
3 Sat, Apr 30, 1983 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 107 105 3 0 W 3
4 Sun, May 1, 1983 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 105 102 4 0 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
5 Sun, May 8, 1983 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W OT 111 109 5 0 W 5
6 Wed, May 11, 1983 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 87 81 6 0 W 6
7 Sat, May 14, 1983 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 104 96 7 0 W 7
8 Sun, May 15, 1983 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 94 100 7 1 L 1
9 Wed, May 18, 1983 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 115 103 8 1 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
10 Sun, May 22, 1983 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 113 107 9 1 W 2
11 Thu, May 26, 1983 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 103 93 10 1 W 3
12 Sun, May 29, 1983 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 111 94 11 1 W 4
13 Tue, May 31, 1983 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 115 108 12 1 W 5