Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Dallas Mavericks > 1980-81 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:NCAA Tournament Features

1980-81 Dallas Mavericks Schedule and Results

Next Season

Record: 15-67, Finished 6th in NBA Midwest Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Dick Motta (15-67)

PTS/G: 101.5 (21st of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 109.9 (19th of 23)
SRS: -8.33 (23rd of 23) ▪ Pace: 98.6 (22nd of 23)
Off Rtg: 102.4 (21st of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 110.8 (23rd of 23)
Expected W-L: 20-62 (23rd of 23)

Arena: Reunion Arena ▪ Attendance: 319,347 (18th of 23)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sat, Oct 11, 1980 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 103 92 1 0 W 1
2 Tue, Oct 14, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 83 85 1 1 L 1
3 Wed, Oct 15, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 98 133 1 2 L 2
4 Fri, Oct 17, 1980 Box Score Kansas City Kings L 91 103 1 3 L 3
5 Sat, Oct 18, 1980 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 96 110 1 4 L 4
6 Tue, Oct 21, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 99 111 1 5 L 5
7 Wed, Oct 22, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 107 102 2 5 W 1
8 Fri, Oct 24, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 105 120 2 6 L 1
9 Sat, Oct 25, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 79 86 2 7 L 2
10 Tue, Oct 28, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz L 96 104 2 8 L 3
11 Wed, Oct 29, 1980 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 103 109 2 9 L 4
12 Fri, Oct 31, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 122 144 2 10 L 5
13 Tue, Nov 4, 1980 Box Score San Diego Clippers L 102 116 2 11 L 6
14 Thu, Nov 6, 1980 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 95 116 2 12 L 7
15 Fri, Nov 7, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 102 126 2 13 L 8
16 Sat, Nov 8, 1980 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 73 101 2 14 L 9
17 Tue, Nov 11, 1980 Box Score Houston Rockets L 94 105 2 15 L 10
18 Fri, Nov 14, 1980 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 113 106 3 15 W 1
19 Sun, Nov 16, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 102 110 3 16 L 1
20 Tue, Nov 18, 1980 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 91 102 3 17 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Nov 21, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 91 101 3 18 L 3
22 Sun, Nov 23, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 96 116 3 19 L 4
23 Tue, Nov 25, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 92 108 3 20 L 5
24 Fri, Nov 28, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets L OT 117 119 3 21 L 6
25 Sat, Nov 29, 1980 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 90 115 3 22 L 7
26 Tue, Dec 2, 1980 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 102 109 3 23 L 8
27 Fri, Dec 5, 1980 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 87 97 3 24 L 9
28 Sat, Dec 6, 1980 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 104 110 3 25 L 10
29 Tue, Dec 9, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 92 103 3 26 L 11
30 Wed, Dec 10, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 107 116 3 27 L 12
31 Fri, Dec 12, 1980 Box Score San Diego Clippers W OT 112 109 4 27 W 1
32 Sat, Dec 13, 1980 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 107 114 4 28 L 1
33 Tue, Dec 16, 1980 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 83 89 4 29 L 2
34 Wed, Dec 17, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 102 115 4 30 L 3
35 Thu, Dec 18, 1980 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 92 102 4 31 L 4
36 Sat, Dec 20, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 98 101 4 32 L 5
37 Tue, Dec 23, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz L 96 101 4 33 L 6
38 Fri, Dec 26, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 119 111 5 33 W 1
39 Sat, Dec 27, 1980 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 96 112 5 34 L 1
40 Mon, Dec 29, 1980 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 100 112 5 35 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Tue, Dec 30, 1980 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 98 100 5 36 L 3
42 Fri, Jan 2, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets L OT 120 124 5 37 L 4
43 Mon, Jan 5, 1981 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 89 103 5 38 L 5
44 Wed, Jan 7, 1981 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 111 109 6 38 W 1
45 Thu, Jan 8, 1981 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 97 99 6 39 L 1
46 Sat, Jan 10, 1981 Box Score Washington Bullets L 94 106 6 40 L 2
47 Tue, Jan 13, 1981 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 112 106 7 40 W 1
48 Fri, Jan 16, 1981 Box Score New York Knicks W 118 110 8 40 W 2
49 Sun, Jan 18, 1981 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 109 115 8 41 L 1
50 Tue, Jan 20, 1981 Box Score Kansas City Kings L 91 104 8 42 L 2
51 Fri, Jan 23, 1981 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 98 106 8 43 L 3
52 Sat, Jan 24, 1981 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 89 107 8 44 L 4
53 Tue, Jan 27, 1981 Box Score New Jersey Nets L 100 112 8 45 L 5
54 Tue, Feb 3, 1981 Box Score Kansas City Kings L 100 121 8 46 L 6
55 Wed, Feb 4, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 68 116 8 47 L 7
56 Fri, Feb 6, 1981 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 98 100 8 48 L 8
57 Sun, Feb 8, 1981 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 98 102 8 49 L 9
58 Tue, Feb 10, 1981 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 95 101 8 50 L 10
59 Wed, Feb 11, 1981 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 97 119 8 51 L 11
60 Sat, Feb 14, 1981 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 99 107 8 52 L 12
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sun, Feb 15, 1981 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 99 107 8 53 L 13
62 Tue, Feb 17, 1981 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 106 114 8 54 L 14
63 Fri, Feb 20, 1981 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 109 117 8 55 L 15
64 Sun, Feb 22, 1981 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 132 109 9 55 W 1
65 Tue, Feb 24, 1981 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 84 102 9 56 L 1
66 Thu, Feb 26, 1981 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 102 105 9 57 L 2
67 Fri, Feb 27, 1981 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 111 118 9 58 L 3
68 Sun, Mar 1, 1981 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 99 91 10 58 W 1
69 Tue, Mar 3, 1981 Box Score Boston Celtics L 105 117 10 59 L 1
70 Fri, Mar 6, 1981 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 109 115 10 60 L 2
71 Sun, Mar 8, 1981 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 108 133 10 61 L 3
72 Tue, Mar 10, 1981 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 107 103 11 61 W 1
73 Thu, Mar 12, 1981 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 120 118 12 61 W 2
74 Sun, Mar 15, 1981 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 110 135 12 62 L 1
75 Tue, Mar 17, 1981 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 109 114 12 63 L 2
76 Wed, Mar 18, 1981 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 113 120 12 64 L 3
77 Fri, Mar 20, 1981 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 126 125 13 64 W 1
78 Sat, Mar 21, 1981 Box Score Utah Jazz W 105 95 14 64 W 2
79 Tue, Mar 24, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets L OT 111 114 14 65 L 1
80 Wed, Mar 25, 1981 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 126 115 15 65 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 27, 1981 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 109 123 15 66 L 1
82 Sun, Mar 29, 1981 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 104 113 15 67 L 2