Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1977-78 Schedule and Results

1977-78 Detroit Pistons Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 38-44, Finished 4th in NBA Midwest Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Herb Brown (9-15), Bob Kauffman (29-29)

PTS/G: 109.0 (10th of 22) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 110.2 (15th of 22)
SRS: -1.22 (15th of 22) ▪ Pace: 107.7 (12th of 22)
Off Rtg: 100.3 (12th of 22) ▪ Def Rtg: 101.5 (14th of 22)
Expected W-L: 38-44 (15th of 22)

Arena: Cobo Arena ▪ Attendance: NA

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Oct 18, 1977 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 110 93 1 0 W 1
2 Wed, Oct 19, 1977 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 96 113 1 1 L 1
3 Fri, Oct 21, 1977 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 109 117 1 2 L 2
4 Sat, Oct 22, 1977 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 126 106 2 2 W 1
5 Mon, Oct 24, 1977 Box Score Boston Celtics W 100 85 3 2 W 2
6 Wed, Oct 26, 1977 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 123 107 4 2 W 3
7 Sat, Oct 29, 1977 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 117 124 4 3 L 1
8 Wed, Nov 2, 1977 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 89 102 4 4 L 2
9 Wed, Nov 9, 1977 Box Score Houston Rockets W 127 107 5 4 W 1
10 Fri, Nov 11, 1977 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 104 107 5 5 L 1
11 Sun, Nov 13, 1977 Box Score Washington Bullets W 104 102 6 5 W 1
12 Tue, Nov 15, 1977 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 113 123 6 6 L 1
13 Fri, Nov 18, 1977 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 83 116 6 7 L 2
14 Sat, Nov 19, 1977 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 96 128 6 8 L 3
15 Sun, Nov 20, 1977 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 101 118 6 9 L 4
16 Wed, Nov 23, 1977 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 105 106 6 10 L 5
17 Sat, Nov 26, 1977 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 87 105 6 11 L 6
18 Tue, Nov 29, 1977 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 100 99 7 11 W 1
19 Wed, Nov 30, 1977 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 104 98 8 11 W 2
20 Fri, Dec 2, 1977 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 97 108 8 12 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sat, Dec 3, 1977 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 89 103 8 13 L 2
22 Wed, Dec 7, 1977 Box Score Phoenix Suns L OT 107 113 8 14 L 3
23 Sat, Dec 10, 1977 Box Score New Orleans Jazz W 104 86 9 14 W 1
24 Wed, Dec 14, 1977 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 92 102 9 15 L 1
25 Fri, Dec 16, 1977 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L OT 106 114 9 16 L 2
26 Sat, Dec 17, 1977 Box Score Buffalo Braves L 2OT 122 126 9 17 L 3
27 Sun, Dec 18, 1977 Box Score @ New Orleans Jazz W 117 108 10 17 W 1
28 Tue, Dec 20, 1977 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 118 117 11 17 W 2
29 Thu, Dec 22, 1977 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 118 102 12 17 W 3
30 Fri, Dec 23, 1977 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 108 107 13 17 W 4
31 Mon, Dec 26, 1977 Box Score Boston Celtics W 122 100 14 17 W 5
32 Wed, Dec 28, 1977 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 106 111 14 18 L 1
33 Fri, Dec 30, 1977 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves W 103 87 15 18 W 1
34 Tue, Jan 3, 1978 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 106 103 16 18 W 2
35 Wed, Jan 4, 1978 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 111 97 17 18 W 3
36 Fri, Jan 6, 1978 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 106 107 17 19 L 1
37 Sat, Jan 7, 1978 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 105 109 17 20 L 2
38 Wed, Jan 11, 1978 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 100 106 17 21 L 3
39 Fri, Jan 13, 1978 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 100 111 17 22 L 4
40 Sun, Jan 15, 1978 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 101 107 17 23 L 5
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Wed, Jan 18, 1978 Box Score Buffalo Braves W 113 100 18 23 W 1
42 Fri, Jan 20, 1978 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 108 118 18 24 L 1
43 Sun, Jan 22, 1978 Box Score @ New Orleans Jazz L 97 100 18 25 L 2
44 Tue, Jan 24, 1978 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 104 101 19 25 W 1
45 Wed, Jan 25, 1978 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 99 95 20 25 W 2
46 Sat, Jan 28, 1978 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 115 105 21 25 W 3
47 Sun, Jan 29, 1978 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W OT 120 116 22 25 W 4
48 Wed, Feb 1, 1978 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 127 120 23 25 W 5
49 Thu, Feb 2, 1978 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 101 113 23 26 L 1
50 Fri, Feb 3, 1978 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 102 115 23 27 L 2
51 Wed, Feb 8, 1978 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 95 105 23 28 L 3
52 Fri, Feb 10, 1978 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 112 117 23 29 L 4
53 Sat, Feb 11, 1978 Box Score New Orleans Jazz W 106 96 24 29 W 1
54 Mon, Feb 13, 1978 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 125 115 25 29 W 2
55 Wed, Feb 15, 1978 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 113 116 25 30 L 1
56 Fri, Feb 17, 1978 Box Score New York Knicks L 108 128 25 31 L 2
57 Sun, Feb 19, 1978 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 110 107 26 31 W 1
58 Wed, Feb 22, 1978 Box Score Houston Rockets W 119 108 27 31 W 2
59 Sat, Feb 25, 1978 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 104 118 27 32 L 1
60 Sun, Feb 26, 1978 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 127 124 28 32 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Wed, Mar 1, 1978 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 115 102 29 32 W 2
62 Fri, Mar 3, 1978 Box Score Washington Bullets L 108 124 29 33 L 1
63 Sun, Mar 5, 1978 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 122 110 30 33 W 1
64 Tue, Mar 7, 1978 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 109 123 30 34 L 1
65 Thu, Mar 9, 1978 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 105 112 30 35 L 2
66 Sun, Mar 12, 1978 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 130 125 31 35 W 1
67 Tue, Mar 14, 1978 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 98 105 31 36 L 1
68 Wed, Mar 15, 1978 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 106 135 31 37 L 2
69 Thu, Mar 16, 1978 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 106 98 32 37 W 1
70 Sun, Mar 19, 1978 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 112 92 33 37 W 2
71 Tue, Mar 21, 1978 Box Score Kansas City Kings L 111 116 33 38 L 1
72 Fri, Mar 24, 1978 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 107 95 34 38 W 1
73 Sun, Mar 26, 1978 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L OT 109 110 34 39 L 1
74 Tue, Mar 28, 1978 Box Score @ Buffalo Braves W 123 118 35 39 W 1
75 Wed, Mar 29, 1978 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 121 116 36 39 W 2
76 Fri, Mar 31, 1978 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 107 117 36 40 L 1
77 Sat, Apr 1, 1978 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 99 113 36 41 L 2
78 Sun, Apr 2, 1978 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 121 129 36 42 L 3
79 Wed, Apr 5, 1978 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 115 126 36 43 L 4
80 Thu, Apr 6, 1978 Box Score @ New York Knicks L OT 125 129 36 44 L 5
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 7, 1978 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 111 109 37 44 W 1
82 Sun, Apr 9, 1978 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 139 137 38 44 W 2