Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1979-80 Schedule and Results

1979-80 Kansas City Kings Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 47-35, Finished 2nd in NBA Midwest Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Cotton Fitzsimmons (47-35)

PTS/G: 108.0 (15th of 22) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 104.9 (5th of 22)
SRS: 2.81 (8th of 22) ▪ Pace: 103.2 (10th of 22)
Off Rtg: 104.0 (16th of 22) ▪ Def Rtg: 101.0 (2nd of 22)
Expected W-L: 49-33 (7th of 22)

Arena: Kemper Arena ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1980 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference First Round (1-2) versus Phoenix Suns  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 12, 1979 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 105 103 1 0 W 1
2 Wed, Oct 17, 1979 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 94 107 1 1 L 1
3 Fri, Oct 19, 1979 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 107 84 2 1 W 1
4 Sun, Oct 21, 1979 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 122 85 3 1 W 2
5 Tue, Oct 23, 1979 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 88 90 3 2 L 1
6 Wed, Oct 24, 1979 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 92 105 3 3 L 2
7 Fri, Oct 26, 1979 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 104 116 3 4 L 3
8 Sat, Oct 27, 1979 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 95 101 3 5 L 4
9 Sun, Oct 28, 1979 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 106 101 4 5 W 1
10 Wed, Oct 31, 1979 Box Score Utah Jazz W 125 108 5 5 W 2
11 Fri, Nov 2, 1979 Box Score New York Knicks L 111 112 5 6 L 1
12 Sat, Nov 3, 1979 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 110 123 5 7 L 2
13 Sun, Nov 4, 1979 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 98 101 5 8 L 3
14 Wed, Nov 7, 1979 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 102 110 5 9 L 4
15 Fri, Nov 9, 1979 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 119 127 5 10 L 5
16 Sun, Nov 11, 1979 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 109 112 5 11 L 6
17 Tue, Nov 13, 1979 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 110 103 6 11 W 1
18 Thu, Nov 15, 1979 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 114 108 7 11 W 2
19 Fri, Nov 16, 1979 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 103 97 8 11 W 3 at St. Louis, MO
20 Sun, Nov 18, 1979 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 109 92 9 11 W 4
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Tue, Nov 20, 1979 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 112 109 10 11 W 5
22 Wed, Nov 21, 1979 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 120 128 10 12 L 1
23 Fri, Nov 23, 1979 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 107 91 11 12 W 1
24 Sun, Nov 25, 1979 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 110 111 11 13 L 1
25 Tue, Nov 27, 1979 Box Score Houston Rockets W 117 115 12 13 W 1
26 Thu, Nov 29, 1979 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 105 95 13 13 W 2
27 Fri, Nov 30, 1979 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L OT 102 107 13 14 L 1
28 Sun, Dec 2, 1979 Box Score Boston Celtics W 94 88 14 14 W 1
29 Wed, Dec 5, 1979 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 109 93 15 14 W 2
30 Sat, Dec 8, 1979 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 145 129 16 14 W 3
31 Wed, Dec 12, 1979 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 124 85 17 14 W 4
32 Fri, Dec 14, 1979 Box Score Utah Jazz W 103 87 18 14 W 5
33 Sun, Dec 16, 1979 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 107 105 19 14 W 6
34 Tue, Dec 18, 1979 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 110 96 20 14 W 7
35 Wed, Dec 19, 1979 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 107 97 21 14 W 8
36 Thu, Dec 20, 1979 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 109 120 21 15 L 1
37 Sat, Dec 22, 1979 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 111 115 21 16 L 2
38 Wed, Dec 26, 1979 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 118 111 22 16 W 1
39 Fri, Dec 28, 1979 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 112 118 22 17 L 1
40 Sat, Dec 29, 1979 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L OT 125 127 22 18 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Wed, Jan 2, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W OT 128 121 23 18 W 1
42 Fri, Jan 4, 1980 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 115 106 24 18 W 2
43 Sat, Jan 5, 1980 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 112 107 25 18 W 3
44 Sun, Jan 6, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 120 101 26 18 W 4
45 Tue, Jan 8, 1980 Box Score San Diego Clippers L 116 124 26 19 L 1
46 Thu, Jan 10, 1980 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 104 83 27 19 W 1
47 Fri, Jan 11, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 112 99 28 19 W 2 at St. Louis, MO
48 Sun, Jan 13, 1980 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 120 101 29 19 W 3
49 Tue, Jan 15, 1980 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 109 111 29 20 L 1
50 Wed, Jan 16, 1980 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 112 108 30 20 W 1
51 Sat, Jan 19, 1980 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 103 108 30 21 L 1
52 Tue, Jan 22, 1980 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 101 89 31 21 W 1
53 Thu, Jan 24, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 110 88 32 21 W 2
54 Fri, Jan 25, 1980 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L OT 107 113 32 22 L 1
55 Sat, Jan 26, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz W 112 107 33 22 W 1
56 Tue, Jan 29, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 121 111 34 22 W 2
57 Wed, Jan 30, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 99 97 35 22 W 3
58 Thu, Jan 31, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 93 94 35 23 L 1
59 Tue, Feb 5, 1980 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 99 105 35 24 L 2
60 Wed, Feb 6, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 95 97 35 25 L 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Fri, Feb 8, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 107 100 36 25 W 1
62 Sun, Feb 10, 1980 Box Score Washington Bullets W OT 108 106 37 25 W 2
63 Fri, Feb 15, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 100 114 37 26 L 1
64 Sun, Feb 17, 1980 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 108 107 38 26 W 1
65 Wed, Feb 20, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 107 105 39 26 W 2
66 Sun, Feb 24, 1980 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 72 94 39 27 L 1
67 Tue, Feb 26, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 117 99 40 27 W 1
68 Fri, Feb 29, 1980 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 98 93 41 27 W 2 at St. Louis, MO
69 Sun, Mar 2, 1980 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 94 91 42 27 W 3
70 Wed, Mar 5, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 101 117 42 28 L 1
71 Fri, Mar 7, 1980 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 104 111 42 29 L 2
72 Sun, Mar 9, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 113 93 43 29 W 1
73 Tue, Mar 11, 1980 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 98 100 43 30 L 1
74 Sun, Mar 16, 1980 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 121 128 43 31 L 2
75 Tue, Mar 18, 1980 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 109 112 43 32 L 3
76 Thu, Mar 20, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 121 105 44 32 W 1
77 Fri, Mar 21, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 102 98 45 32 W 2
78 Sun, Mar 23, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 90 112 45 33 L 1
79 Tue, Mar 25, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 102 106 45 34 L 2
80 Wed, Mar 26, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 100 106 45 35 L 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 28, 1980 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 116 114 46 35 W 1 at St. Louis, MO
82 Sun, Mar 30, 1980 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 114 110 47 35 W 2

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Wed, Apr 2, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 93 96 0 1 L 1
2 Fri, Apr 4, 1980 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 106 96 1 1 W 1
3 Sun, Apr 6, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 99 114 1 2 L 1