Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Kansas City Kings > 1980-81 Schedule and Results

1980-81 Kansas City Kings Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 40-42, Finished 2nd in NBA Midwest Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Cotton Fitzsimmons (40-42)

PTS/G: 106.9 (14th of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 106.9 (10th of 23)
SRS: -0.49 (13th of 23) ▪ Pace: 101.3 (10th of 23)
Off Rtg: 104.7 (14th of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 104.7 (9th of 23)
Expected W-L: 41-41 (13th of 23)

Arena: Kemper Arena ▪ Attendance: 336,385 (17th of 23)

NBA 1981 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference Finals (4-1) versus Houston Rockets  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference Semifinals (4-3) versus Phoenix Suns  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference First Round (2-1) versus Portland Trail Blazers  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sat, Oct 11, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz W 98 91 1 0 W 1
2 Sun, Oct 12, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 100 109 1 1 L 1
3 Tue, Oct 14, 1980 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 103 109 1 2 L 2
4 Wed, Oct 15, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L OT 107 112 1 3 L 3
5 Fri, Oct 17, 1980 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 103 91 2 3 W 1
6 Sat, Oct 18, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 122 127 2 4 L 1
7 Tue, Oct 21, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 111 116 2 5 L 2
8 Thu, Oct 23, 1980 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 105 96 3 5 W 1
9 Sat, Oct 25, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 125 122 4 5 W 2
10 Tue, Oct 28, 1980 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 109 119 4 6 L 1
11 Wed, Oct 29, 1980 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 115 98 5 6 W 1
12 Fri, Oct 31, 1980 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 110 115 5 7 L 1
13 Sat, Nov 1, 1980 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 100 127 5 8 L 2
14 Tue, Nov 4, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 104 107 5 9 L 3
15 Wed, Nov 5, 1980 Box Score New York Knicks W 111 102 6 9 W 1
16 Fri, Nov 7, 1980 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 100 117 6 10 L 1
17 Sat, Nov 8, 1980 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 111 106 7 10 W 1
18 Tue, Nov 11, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 102 101 8 10 W 2
19 Wed, Nov 12, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 101 111 8 11 L 1
20 Fri, Nov 14, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 125 127 8 12 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Sat, Nov 15, 1980 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 96 94 9 12 W 1
22 Tue, Nov 18, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 94 107 9 13 L 1
23 Fri, Nov 21, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 121 134 9 14 L 2
24 Wed, Nov 26, 1980 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 118 100 10 14 W 1
25 Fri, Nov 28, 1980 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 94 104 10 15 L 1
26 Sat, Nov 29, 1980 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L 104 106 10 16 L 2
27 Tue, Dec 2, 1980 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 103 107 10 17 L 3
28 Wed, Dec 3, 1980 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 103 100 11 17 W 1
29 Fri, Dec 5, 1980 Box Score Houston Rockets W 108 100 12 17 W 2
30 Sat, Dec 6, 1980 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 88 107 12 18 L 1
31 Wed, Dec 10, 1980 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 112 100 13 18 W 1
32 Thu, Dec 11, 1980 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 104 122 13 19 L 1
33 Sat, Dec 13, 1980 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 114 107 14 19 W 1
34 Tue, Dec 16, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 133 118 15 19 W 2
35 Wed, Dec 17, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 94 101 15 20 L 1
36 Sat, Dec 20, 1980 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 103 107 15 21 L 2
37 Tue, Dec 23, 1980 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 102 100 16 21 W 1
38 Fri, Dec 26, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 103 113 16 22 L 1
39 Sat, Dec 27, 1980 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 99 100 16 23 L 2
40 Sun, Dec 28, 1980 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 102 99 17 23 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Tue, Dec 30, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 104 106 17 24 L 1
42 Fri, Jan 2, 1981 Box Score Utah Jazz W 101 95 18 24 W 1
43 Wed, Jan 7, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 114 108 19 24 W 2
44 Thu, Jan 8, 1981 Box Score Washington Bullets W 136 118 20 24 W 3
45 Sat, Jan 10, 1981 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 99 92 21 24 W 4
46 Sun, Jan 11, 1981 Box Score San Diego Clippers L 105 115 21 25 L 1
47 Wed, Jan 14, 1981 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 91 110 21 26 L 2
48 Fri, Jan 16, 1981 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L OT 112 118 21 27 L 3
49 Sat, Jan 17, 1981 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 122 123 21 28 L 4
50 Tue, Jan 20, 1981 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 104 91 22 28 W 1
51 Wed, Jan 21, 1981 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 115 108 23 28 W 2
52 Fri, Jan 23, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets W 113 107 24 28 W 3
53 Tue, Jan 27, 1981 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 114 119 24 29 L 1
54 Thu, Jan 29, 1981 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 104 118 24 30 L 2
55 Tue, Feb 3, 1981 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 121 100 25 30 W 1
56 Wed, Feb 4, 1981 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 91 90 26 30 W 2
57 Fri, Feb 6, 1981 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 102 92 27 30 W 3
58 Sun, Feb 8, 1981 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L OT 123 129 27 31 L 1
59 Tue, Feb 10, 1981 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 115 116 27 32 L 2
60 Wed, Feb 11, 1981 Box Score Utah Jazz W 99 87 28 32 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Fri, Feb 13, 1981 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 113 106 29 32 W 2
62 Sun, Feb 15, 1981 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 107 105 30 32 W 3
63 Wed, Feb 18, 1981 Box Score Boston Celtics W 114 113 31 32 W 4
64 Fri, Feb 20, 1981 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 112 109 32 32 W 5
65 Sat, Feb 21, 1981 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 109 129 32 33 L 1
66 Sun, Feb 22, 1981 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 96 104 32 34 L 2
67 Thu, Feb 26, 1981 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 105 102 33 34 W 1
68 Sat, Feb 28, 1981 Box Score Golden State Warriors L 101 110 33 35 L 1
69 Tue, Mar 3, 1981 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 98 99 33 36 L 2
70 Wed, Mar 4, 1981 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 111 97 34 36 W 1
71 Thu, Mar 5, 1981 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 106 100 35 36 W 2
72 Sun, Mar 8, 1981 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 105 68 36 36 W 3
73 Tue, Mar 10, 1981 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 107 100 37 36 W 4
74 Fri, Mar 13, 1981 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 101 116 37 37 L 1
75 Sun, Mar 15, 1981 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 87 97 37 38 L 2
76 Wed, Mar 18, 1981 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 2OT 124 126 37 39 L 3
77 Fri, Mar 20, 1981 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L OT 111 114 37 40 L 4
78 Sun, Mar 22, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets L 108 114 37 41 L 5
79 Tue, Mar 24, 1981 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 105 92 38 41 W 1
80 Wed, Mar 25, 1981 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 110 101 39 41 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 27, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 84 91 39 42 L 1
82 Sun, Mar 29, 1981 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 113 104 40 42 W 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Wed, Apr 1, 1981 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W OT 98 97 1 0 W 1
2 Fri, Apr 3, 1981 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L OT 119 124 1 1 L 1
3 Sun, Apr 5, 1981 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 104 95 2 1 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
4 Tue, Apr 7, 1981 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 80 102 2 2 L 1
5 Wed, Apr 8, 1981 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 88 83 3 2 W 1
6 Fri, Apr 10, 1981 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 93 92 4 2 W 2
7 Sun, Apr 12, 1981 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 102 95 5 2 W 3
8 Wed, Apr 15, 1981 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 89 101 5 3 L 1
9 Fri, Apr 17, 1981 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 76 81 5 4 L 2
10 Sun, Apr 19, 1981 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 95 88 6 4 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
11 Tue, Apr 21, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets L 78 97 6 5 L 1
12 Wed, Apr 22, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets W 88 79 7 5 W 1
13 Fri, Apr 24, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 88 92 7 6 L 1
14 Sun, Apr 26, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 89 100 7 7 L 2
15 Wed, Apr 29, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets L 88 97 7 8 L 3