Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1952-53 Schedule and Results

1952-53 Syracuse Nationals Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 47-24, Finished 2nd in NBA Eastern Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Al Cervi (47-24)

PTS/G: 85.6 (3rd of 10) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 81.3 (6th of 10)
SRS: 3.62 (3rd of 10) ▪ Pace: 92.8 (7th of 10)
Off Rtg: 90.6 (2nd of 10) ▪ Def Rtg: 86.0 (4th of 10)
Expected W-L: 48-23 (3rd of 10)

Arena: Onondaga War Memorial ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1953 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Division Semifinals (0-2) versus Boston Celtics  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Sat, Nov 1, 1952 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors L OT 84 86 0 1 L 1
2 Sun, Nov 2, 1952 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 117 91 1 1 W 1
3 Sat, Nov 8, 1952 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 83 106 1 2 L 1
4 Sun, Nov 9, 1952 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W 96 89 2 2 W 1
5 Thu, Nov 13, 1952 Box Score Boston Celtics W 96 81 3 2 W 2
6 Sat, Nov 15, 1952 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L OT 91 97 3 3 L 1
7 Sun, Nov 16, 1952 Box Score Indianapolis Olympians W 84 78 4 3 W 1
8 Thu, Nov 20, 1952 Box Score Milwaukee Hawks W 92 73 5 3 W 2
9 Sat, Nov 22, 1952 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 68 98 5 4 L 1
10 Sun, Nov 23, 1952 Box Score New York Knicks W 76 73 6 4 W 1
11 Thu, Nov 27, 1952 Box Score Rochester Royals W 86 79 7 4 W 2
12 Sat, Nov 29, 1952 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W 87 74 8 4 W 3
13 Sun, Nov 30, 1952 Box Score Boston Celtics W 78 66 9 4 W 4
14 Thu, Dec 4, 1952 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons W 78 70 10 4 W 5
15 Sat, Dec 6, 1952 Box Score @ Philadelphia Warriors W 82 74 11 4 W 6
16 Sun, Dec 7, 1952 Box Score Milwaukee Hawks W 71 67 12 4 W 7
17 Mon, Dec 8, 1952 Box Score @ Milwaukee Hawks L 89 101 12 5 L 1
18 Tue, Dec 9, 1952 Box Score @ Indianapolis Olympians W 87 70 13 5 W 1
19 Thu, Dec 11, 1952 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 79 82 13 6 L 1
20 Sun, Dec 14, 1952 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 102 83 14 6 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Tue, Dec 16, 1952 Box Score @ New York Knicks L OT 93 98 14 7 L 1
22 Thu, Dec 18, 1952 Box Score N Boston Celtics L 83 88 14 8 L 2 at Philadelphia, PA
23 Sat, Dec 20, 1952 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 77 91 14 9 L 3
24 Sun, Dec 21, 1952 Box Score Boston Celtics W 90 86 15 9 W 1
25 Thu, Dec 25, 1952 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 102 92 16 9 W 2
26 Sat, Dec 27, 1952 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W OT 81 76 17 9 W 3
27 Sun, Dec 28, 1952 Box Score Indianapolis Olympians W 84 73 18 9 W 4
28 Tue, Dec 30, 1952 Box Score @ Rochester Royals L 93 106 18 10 L 1
29 Wed, Dec 31, 1952 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 87 97 18 11 L 2
30 Thu, Jan 1, 1953 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 92 78 19 11 W 1
31 Sat, Jan 3, 1953 Box Score @ New York Knicks L OT 77 85 19 12 L 1
32 Sun, Jan 4, 1953 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 93 68 20 12 W 1
33 Wed, Jan 7, 1953 Box Score N New York Knicks W 114 93 21 12 W 2 at Philadelphia, PA
34 Thu, Jan 8, 1953 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W 75 67 22 12 W 3
35 Sat, Jan 10, 1953 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors W 87 77 23 12 W 4 at Baltimore, MD
36 Sun, Jan 11, 1953 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 76 72 24 12 W 5
37 Thu, Jan 15, 1953 Box Score Rochester Royals W 109 85 25 12 W 6
38 Sun, Jan 18, 1953 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 103 84 26 12 W 7
39 Thu, Jan 22, 1953 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 87 75 27 12 W 8
40 Sat, Jan 24, 1953 Box Score @ Rochester Royals W 107 82 28 12 W 9
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sun, Jan 25, 1953 Box Score New York Knicks L 62 97 28 13 L 1
42 Tue, Jan 27, 1953 Box Score @ Indianapolis Olympians L 72 76 28 14 L 2
43 Thu, Jan 29, 1953 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers W 83 65 29 14 W 1
44 Fri, Jan 30, 1953 Box Score @ Milwaukee Hawks L 68 84 29 15 L 1
45 Sun, Feb 1, 1953 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 94 79 30 15 W 1
46 Mon, Feb 2, 1953 Box Score N Baltimore Bullets W 98 77 31 15 W 2 at Buffalo, NY
47 Wed, Feb 4, 1953 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 92 105 31 16 L 1
48 Thu, Feb 5, 1953 Box Score Rochester Royals W OT 83 79 32 16 W 1
49 Sun, Feb 8, 1953 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 98 89 33 16 W 2
50 Wed, Feb 11, 1953 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons L 78 96 33 17 L 1
51 Thu, Feb 12, 1953 Box Score @ Minneapolis Lakers L 81 91 33 18 L 2
52 Fri, Feb 13, 1953 Box Score @ Indianapolis Olympians W 2OT 89 86 34 18 W 1
53 Sun, Feb 15, 1953 Box Score New York Knicks L 81 85 34 19 L 1
54 Tue, Feb 17, 1953 Box Score N Boston Celtics W 84 65 35 19 W 1 at New York, NY
55 Thu, Feb 19, 1953 Box Score Milwaukee Hawks W 82 72 36 19 W 2
56 Sat, Feb 21, 1953 Box Score @ Rochester Royals L 73 84 36 20 L 1
57 Sun, Feb 22, 1953 Box Score Philadelphia Warriors W 86 73 37 20 W 1
58 Tue, Feb 24, 1953 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors W 74 63 38 20 W 2 at New York, NY
59 Thu, Feb 26, 1953 Box Score Fort Wayne Pistons W 89 77 39 20 W 3
60 Sat, Feb 28, 1953 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 74 77 39 21 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sun, Mar 1, 1953 Box Score New York Knicks W 79 64 40 21 W 1
62 Tue, Mar 3, 1953 Box Score @ Milwaukee Hawks L 70 75 40 22 L 1
63 Wed, Mar 4, 1953 Box Score @ Fort Wayne Pistons W 2OT 75 73 41 22 W 1
64 Thu, Mar 5, 1953 Box Score Minneapolis Lakers W 94 91 42 22 W 2
65 Fri, Mar 6, 1953 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 66 75 42 23 L 1
66 Sat, Mar 7, 1953 Box Score N Philadelphia Warriors L 87 88 42 24 L 2 at Baltimore, MD
67 Sun, Mar 8, 1953 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 98 91 43 24 W 1
68 Thu, Mar 12, 1953 Box Score Boston Celtics W 84 70 44 24 W 2
69 Sat, Mar 14, 1953 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 95 81 45 24 W 3
70 Sun, Mar 15, 1953 Box Score Indianapolis Olympians W 84 68 46 24 W 4
71 Tue, Mar 17, 1953 Box Score Boston Celtics W 72 68 47 24 W 5

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Mar 19, 1953 Box Score Boston Celtics L 81 87 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Mar 21, 1953 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 4OT 105 111 0 2 L 2